about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: dacop  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dacop to your Buddy List
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp at 2.0 and up. Great colors.
Cons:
1.4 to 2.0 should only be used if speed is what you are looking for. Don't expect sharp images in that range.

Consider the 1.4 to 2.0 range to be used for its speed rather then its sharpness. The lens will produce sharper images at 2.0 and higher.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! Outstanding color.
Cons:
None

A very sharp lens at ALL apertures. I use this as my all purpose 50mm most of the time. I also own the popular 1.4 and while this lens is not as fast, it makes up for it with its outstanding sharpness and color output. The 1.4 does not start to get sharp IMO until you reach 2.0 and beyond, but this lens is sharper overall at all f/'s.

If you are debating on this lens vs. the 1.4 as I did, go for this one if you really don't need the speed. You will love the color and sharpness of this lens.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP, SHARP and SHARP!
Cons:
None

One of the sharpest lenes I own. Fast, excellent colors and contrast, the 100mm offers a good range for macro use and more.

I highly recommend this lens.



 
Sigma 28-300 f3.5-6.3 Macro

28_300_macro
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: None
Cons:
Horible color and sharpness. Very dull pictures.

ok, so I gave this lens a try looking to pick up a non-Canon lens at a cheaper price with a 300mm range, plain and simple...it was a mistake. Colors and sharpness were horrible!!! The pictures just looked very dull compared to Canon glass. Tough to get a clean shot at 200 to 300mm, expect a lot of shake, you will need a tripod. But again, the final output this lens will produce is not worth the hassle in my opinion. I returned this lens the next day and will never stray from Canon glass again.

I understand the price is great for a 300mm range lens, but what good is it if the pictures look as bad as they did.

I do not recommend this lens.


 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Nov 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Colors, Sharpness, Contrast, Light Weight, Great Range
Cons:
None

I gave this lens a try after selling my 28-105mm and I couldn't be happier. It offers a great range and most of all, I liked the overall colors and sharpness this lens produces. I find myself doing very little (or none at all) color adjusting on photos right from the camera. Sharpness and contrast output was much more then I expected and better then the 28-105mm.

I highly recommend this lens.


 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

ef75_300_1_
Review Date: Jul 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great lens for the price. Good image quality. IS is great.
Cons:
Images are not as sharp when fully extended. Slow focus.

Image quality is good except for softness at full range. The IS works great and I know this because I owned a similar lens without IS and I saw the difference...blur. If you can afford a better lens go for it, but this lens will get the job done for the most part.

 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Jul 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: EXCELLENT image qaulity. Easy to use controls.
Cons:
None. Because if you want more options or a medal body, they are available on the 10D. So why complain about something that is available from Canon for more money?

Excellent Camera...period! Can't beat the price for a digital SLR with lens. If you are looking for more options, get the 10D, but the DigReb is all I need at this point. I will probably upgrade one day to the 10D, but with the results I am getting from this camera right now, I find no need to right now. One thing I noticed after using this camera and trying to use my Nikon 5700 afterwards...the 5700 (or any other conventional fixed lens digital camera) will not cut it anymore. They are toys compared to this camera.

 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Jul 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $209.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp images, Well constructed, Light weight, Fast AF, Inexpensive, Good overall range makes for a nice walk around lens.
Cons:
None

Great price, great lens, perfect combo. I use it on a Canon Digital Rebel and the images are great. The 28-105mm range is perfect for a walk around lens in my opinion. It's small, light, but still well constructed. I picked up a hood for it also. I highly recommend this lens.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Jun 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely excellent photo quility; Sharp images even at 400mm; Very strong build...too many to list!
Cons:
None

I purchased this lens about a month ago and finally got to seriously use it at an NHRA drag racing event. Until then, I was just taking some sample photos here and there. I didn't know what to expect and I was afraid that some of the negative postings I have seen here would come up, but that was not the case. To sum it up, this lens performed excellently...period. I got sharp quality images even when fully extended. Yes it is heavy, but that is because it is built to last and of quality. If it were light and made of plastic, people would have listed that as a negative. And yes the push/pull zoom takes some getting used to, but that was not a big deal to me. It is expensive but so is everything that offers this type of performance. I use this lens on a Canon Digital Rebel and it is the perfect match. I am sure it will be just as great on any other Canon camera. When I got home from the event, I was amazed at the results I saw on my monitor. My fellow employees did not believe I took these pictures. All I can say to sum this up is buy this lens, you will not be disappointed!

Here are the photos I took that day.
http://www.pbase.com/daxop/nhra