about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: carlsbadbum  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add carlsbadbum to your Buddy List
Canon Speedlite 580EX II

580exii
Review Date: Sep 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $315.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast and powerfull, easier to mount than the Mk I.
Cons:
None I can think of.

Many improvements over the Mk I like the battery door, and quick lock. For some reason the cheapen the LCD back lighting. The Mk I has Indigo and the Mk II is not.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Sep 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full Frame, all my L lenses love it.
Cons:
Size and weight. It would be perfect if it was the size & weight of the EOS 1V.

This is my first DSLR, and I love it.
I wanted this back in 2004 but it was way out of my price range, now it is more affordable to own a 1 series FF DSLR.

I got this one last week with less then 10K clicks, come with box and most acc. still in plastic wrap. The guy said it was mint but to me it looks like I bought it new in 2004.

Since I don't have any CF cards I upgraded the firmware to the latest release so now it'll take SDHC memory cards. I can't think of any negative issue on the camera, so get one and you'll be glad when you did.



 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jun 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best L for the price. Sharp, light wt., compact and the lens doesn't extent when zooming.
Cons:
Hood. I'll have to switch to EW-83J.

For the price of $500, I have no complaint. The only thing I wish Canon to fix is switch out the current hood, otherwise I have to spend $50 for a EW-83J hood. Some may ask for IS, but is it necessary? It's a wide angle, and I don't want to pay more for something I don't use.

 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: You can make people and pets look funny without trying.
Cons:
Noisy motor, and the lens cap is a joke live everyone said.

My only complaint is the lens cap fell and rolls away. Canon should redesign it like the new 14L II that has pinch tap locking cap, the current version uses friction to keep it in place. Overall is not too bad for the price, you get what you pay for.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Oct 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Well build, IS, zoom ring is nice & tight, it doesn't creep like other cheap zoom.
Cons:
Soft wide open, any focal length... and it's pricey for an F4.

Finally I got a zoom added to my collection, it's an upgrade from 28-135IS I use to own. Since I've been shooting with 35L and 135L, this one just can't match the sharpness. I guess I'm asking too much, but overall I'm ok with the results. This lens is worth about $750-$850 on my book, I'm glad I waited and didn't paid $1250 when it first release in 2005.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, from center to corners.
Cons:
None.

One of Canon's best L, no wonder it's sold out most of the time.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Dec 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $485.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very fast and sharp, much better build than the FD 200/2.8.
Cons:
No IS. Tripod ring is an optional item.

This is my favorite telephoto lens, it's razor sharp and fast.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Dec 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp at f/1.4L and no hunting around when focus in low light.
Cons:
Hood is too tight.

This is a great lens to use when flash photography is not allowed.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Dec 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp & Fast
Cons:
Best with IS

I can't add what is already said about this lens, so this is the best of the best in my L series collection.