about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: bluefox9er  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bluefox9er to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Nov 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: f-a-s-t, robust and the battery that lasts for ever..
Cons:
the lcd screen is cruddy, only good for checking histogram

wow...p-h-e-m-o-n-e-n-a-l

this is the mother of all cameras. this isn't a jack of all trades, instead it's a master of ALL.

don't listen to those morons who say that the 1dmkIII is for sports and wildlife only..it's also canon endorsed for weddings, and can take landscapes of such quality it will leave you gasping for breath.

this really is a seriously FAST camera..it focuses instantly and has so many,many,may customisable functions.

I am stunned that anyone would consider a camera that isn't the 1dmkIII...simplythe most versatile DSLR in the world.

buy one and you will become a convert, too.

my only gripe is that the rear lcd quality is poor, but IQ is the best I have ever seen, and usable at iso32000.



seriously. buy one.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Oct 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: all of it is good!
Cons:
cost..but the cost of all lenses is way too high

This is the ultimate zoom lens in canon's line up...and sorry to all those 70-200 f4 IS owners, but it is in fact the 2.8 IS L thats the sharpest zoom money can buy. can an F4 be an f2.8 nope..the prosecution rests, your honour.

people whine on about weight etc, but i never ever use mine on a tripod and if you are man enough to carry this lens be assured you are shooting with one of the very finest lenses money can buy...sharpness, colours,contrast,build quality, mode1&mode2 IS for panning and humongeous wide open f2.8 all the WAY to 200 mm with no image quality compromise on my copy.

I'm amazed folks expect this to weigh a few ounces...get over it..youre getting what you pay for.

sure if you dont shoot indoors or in low light you have very nice alternatives...but buy this one and open up an entirley new level of shooting options and styles...and if you stick this on a 1dmkIII or a 5d series, then yu wil never,ever, ever look back...


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Oct 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: it's razor sharp and has the most dreamiest bokeh , churns out superb images..
Cons:
NONE about the lens it's self

theres no more to add...this is one of the best lenses i have ever used..it is razor sharp right form the get-go at f2, colours, contrast and clarity are mind blowing.

I have used it at a recent wedding ( as a guest,not the pro) ad at Toronto zoo and look forward to developing my skills more, wth the safety net of knowing that I now own one of Canon's finest lenses.

I find the 135 mm focal length to be very odd , though..but this is defeciency of my skills and not a short coming of the lens in any way.

If you are thinking of buying this lens..then quit agonising and buy it, it is fantastic.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Oct 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp,sharp,sharp and low light dream come true
Cons:
price..it's DISGUSTINGLY over priced

I stand by the many, many, many positve virtues of this lens..it's incredibly sharp wide open and renders the most amazing shots my camera has ever taken.

the *only* negative is the price. for some stupid reason canon hae otally over priced this lens..I am certain the pricing is set because it's a lens that a pro shooter would have and usually rite off on expenses, much like hiltons/sherratons etc charging $100 fo lunch etc.

phenomenal lens , but at price that makes you wonder how crazy this world has become


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Aug 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: size,weight,build quality
Cons:
nothing really

don't be mislead by the post before mine, this is a WIDE lens, even if you use it on a x1.3 sensor or a x1.6

the IQ is absloutley nothing to write home about, this is not a lens where you can use images straght out of the camera and will need to post process to get reasonable results.

i do beleive,however, it isn't that great optically and suspect it's 'L' designation comes from it's robust build and construction rather than it's remarkably unremarkable IQ.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Aug 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great image quality, super bokeh
Cons:
none...seriously...none.

This is a cracking lens that should be in everyones kit bag...in my opinion, the very best bang for the canon buck.

Granted, I tend not to use this lens very offten as I have a 400d and with the crop factor i makes it effectivly a 135 mm lens, but the images I have managed tog et with it have been absloutley amazing, and I simply cannot wait to use it on a FF camera soon.

I have tried it indoors and had excellent results, but had to crank up the ISO to get a deceent shutter speed. thank goodness for canon's excellent noise reduction, but PP in noise ninja,neat image etc will do the trick very nicely.

ok, its not 'L' build quality, but it certianly is very well made and really...buy this lens.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Feb 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, build, great hood,
Cons:
Cost..all lenses are way to overpriced if you ask me!

Ok, I have watched the ratings on this lens dip recently on this forum. I remember when it was a 9.5, but as a pre-emptive purchase of a canon eos 5d MKII( if it is ever released), I was torn between the 24-70 F2.8 and the 24-105 mm F4 IS.

I already have the 70-200 mm F4 and felt that the 24-70 might be a better fit for me.

I brought this lens for 600 from an ebayer, it is literally brand new and it had a filter..bargain.

Took some test shots with it this morning, and whilst it can be a teeny bit soft at 2.8, I found the images absloutley stunning at around 5.6.

I'm sure it gives awsome images at 2.8, but I have never used a lens like this before,so maybe i'll learn as I go.

Took some indoor shots in my kitchen, they were fantastic and even with ISO 400 the noise was hardly noticable.

Yes this lens is heavy, and no it hasn't got IS, but what it does provide to me are images that are absloutley fantastic, well in line with my 70-200 mm F4 (non IS).

IS is a great feature, but at the focal lengths of this lens, perhaps it isnt that important,esp with f2.8 available at all focal lengths.

I know from the pianstaking research I did prior to buying this lens that a lot of people cant decide between this and the 24-105 mm F4 IS..I was one of them, but I am so pleased that I have chosen the 24-70 2.8 L. I am using it on a canon 400d, but I am also making my purchases knowing one day i will switch to a Full sensor canon, so the 17-55 mm IS wasn't in my list, even if it does have wonderful reviews.

I was also mindful that on FM reviews a lot of people had managed to get 'bad' copies of this lens, so I am relieved that mine seems ok, esp as it was an ebay purchase, which would have been an absloute nightmare to resolve if i wasn't happy with it.If you are thinking of buying this from ebay, it might be an idea to make sure the seller feedback is not less than 99% on at least 1000 transactions and they are willing to accept returns, but you are going to have to pay for return shipping both ways :-(

If you are really torn , please try this lens out..in the Uk we dont have a culture of try before you buy and renting a lens is more expensive sometimes than actually buying it ( not to mention that when we do buy it we usually pay anywhere from 30 to 50% more than people in other countries), so do protect your purchase if you need to return a 'bad' coppy.

otherwise, put it on your camera and go out and have the most fun you can with this lens...it really is a terriffic piece of kit.!!!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Jan 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lightweight (relativley), awsome picture quality..
Cons:
none..apart from ugly colour!!

well, this lens..what more to say? Absloutley pin sharp on my canon 400d, and really does make the most of the crop sensor with good results..

the gallery here http://www.flickr.com/photos/dipak49ers/sets/72157602470636767/
was shot using this lens 90% of the time.

Despite the crop sensor, this remains on my camera 99% of the time...it is simply fantastic on so many many levels. I was torn between this and the 70-300 mm IS as I wanted IS and a longer reach, but decided to pay more for this one as the image quality for me is so much better..and after cropping, well...it works for me :-)

buy this lens if you are in 2 minds...maybe someday I might be able to afford the 2.8 IS version..but for now,this is the most fun I have had with my canon 400d .

The only negative for me is that being in the Uk we pay so much more than the rest of the world for gear like this...be assured next time I buy gear i'll do so when I am in the states!