about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: barmaley  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add barmaley to your Buddy List
Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS

35f2is
Review Date: Apr 12, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good IQ
Cons:
relatively large, price

I've tried this lens for a few days and I really like it.
It is well built. It delivered excellent IQ: it is sharp across the frame, CA a barely noticable, it has nice bokeh. Carl Zeiss Distagon 35mm f/2.0 ZE is superior optically, but the difference is not big...
Af is very accurate and Image Stabilizations works fine. Very attractive lens.
here is my experience with this lens and sample images:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF35-f20-IS-USM_en.shtml


 
Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo

mp_e65_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 8, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great opportunities, excellent image quality and built
Cons:
not very easy to use

Canon MP-E65mm f/2.8 1-5X Macro is an amazing lens. It gives you opportunities that no other lens can. It is absolutely unique, as it gives you ability to look at a common things in a very different and sometimes surprising way.
You can read about my experience and see some samples here:

http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-MP-E65-f28-1-5x-macro_en.shtml


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Mar 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality, very sharp, good colors, exceptionally compact and very good price.
Cons:
may be slightly slow focus.

This small lens surprised me with its excellent image quality. Optically its just great, new Canon 28 2.8 IS USM and 35 2.0 IS USM are not anywhere better but costs 3-4 times more. And this lens is very small. My experience with this baby lens and sample images here:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF40-f28-STM_en.shtml


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Mar 7, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, very impressive AF performance, build quality
Cons:
MFD at wide angle

Very high image quality that rivals primes. Very sharp, excelelnt color and tonal rendition, superior AF. I wish it can focus closer at the wide end of the zoom, otherwise no weaknesses. It is expensive, but to get similar performance you need a bag of primes, that will cost and weight even more.

My small review with sample images here:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF24-70-f28-L-II-USM_en.shtml


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Mar 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, very impressive AF performance, build quality
Cons:
MFD at wide angle



 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Feb 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, excellent image quality, silent operation, accurate AF, efficient IS
Cons:
price

I've tried this lens for a few days and I really like it.
It is small and light, very well built. It delivered excellent IQ: it is sharp across the frame, CA a barely noticable, it has nice bokeh. Carl Zeiss Distagon 28mm f/2.0 ZE is superior optically, but the difference is not big, and the Zeiss lens is bigger, heavier, lacks IS and AF and it costs more...
Af is very accurate and Image Stabilizations works fine. Very attractive lens.
here is my experience with this lens and sample images:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF28-f28-IS-USM_en.shtml


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Aug 20, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding image quality, excellent build, very fast AF, effective IS
Cons:
Heavy, big, white

I borrowed this lens from a friend, and I was greately impressed with it. It even beats my 200 2.8L II USM prime!
This is a lens with outstanding performance. It is very sharp wide open, has wonderful color and tonal rendition, virtually none CA and very fast AF. It is weather sealed and build to last.
But it is big and heavy, and attracts too much attention.
You can read a small review with sample images here:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF70-200-f28-L-IS-USM_en.shtml


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Oct 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, excellent contrast and color reproduction, very fast AF even for non macro lens, effective IS, weather sealing, good bokeh.
Cons:
Price compared to original Macro USM

I've upgraded from original Canon 100mm f/2.8 macro USM, and never regret about this desicion. Although a bit pricey, L IS lens give more creative opportunities, than original version.
In terms of image quality old lens is excellent, but new one is even better. It is sharper, especially wide open, have slightly better contrast and color reproduction, and smoother bokeh.
AF performance is much better, old lens AF is very good for macro lens, but this one is comparable with good general purporse lenses like 200 f2.8L II. It has better range limiter, that can lock lens inside macro range, it is very helpful for shooting handhold macro. IS is very effective and gives new possibilities for handhel macro work. Excellent lens.

Here is my field review with sample images:
http://www.alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF100f28-L-IS-USM_en.html


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jan 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This is one of my favorite lenses.
I use it since 2004 and I still brings a lot of fun.
It is very sharp, have excellent colors and microcontrast,
have virtually none CA. Overall image quality is excellent.
It has fast AF speed for a macro lens, I have even made some action shots with it on 40D and 7D.
It is well built, not actually as good as L lenses, but it works fine for 5 years.
It is not only wonderful macro lens, that is handholdable and has good working distance, It works nicely as a generic telephoto lens, and makes very good portraits.
Even with the crop of new macro lenses, I'll choose this one over anything for the price. New L version is better but the price is much higher.
You can read my review with sample images here:
http://www.alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF100f28-USM_en.html


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Nov 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, Very fast AF, nearly flawless IQ, good build, built in hood.
Cons:
none for the price, may be want close minimal focusing distance.

This is my favorite lens.
I wanted long telephoto primary for birding, and chosen this lens over a number of competitors.
It is insanely sharp, have excellent colors and microcontrast,
have virtually none CA (they are pronounced only in very high contrast lighting). Overall image quality is excellent.
It has the fastest AF speed among anything with comparable price, and balances very nicely on medium sized body like 40D or 7D.
On full frame camera 3.5m minimum focus distance may be annoying, but on crop camera sparrow sized bird fills the frame.
I like built in hood, very nice feature.
Lack of IS may be drawback for somebody, but I successfuly use it handhold.
You can read my review with sample images here:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF400f56-L-USM_en.html


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, rugged weather sealed construction, AF speed, good optical quality.
Cons:

I'm using EF 17-40 f/4.0L USM lens for a long time, since the year of 2005.
I'm generally happy with the results and want to share my experience.

I like very good build of this lens, I never hesitate to take it anywhere. It withstanded rainy and humid environments without a single problem. AF speed is exceptionally fast, it seems that focus is nearly instant. It has good sharpness, relatively low distortion and flare. CA is not an issue as I shoot raw and convert with DPP so they are corrected without a trace of sharpness degradation.
The only negative is that it is hard to isolate your subject from the background, but its common for UWA lens

Here is my review with sample images:

http://www.alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF17-40f4-L-USM_en.html