about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: aladyforty  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aladyforty to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Mar 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: speed, focus, solid build, built in grip, beautiful files, easy to post process RAW shots, Battery lasts for ages
Cons:
noise of shutter is a bit loud, 10 megapixels although I'm not sure its that much of a con really

I decided to get this camera after struggling with the 7D focus and RAW images being so noisy. Picked mine up on eBay cheap with three batteries and it was in pretty good condition. I've used it in tandem with my 5DII at two weddings now and cant really pick which images come from which camera unless I look really close. The files are so easy to process and have a beautiful look similar to my old 5D classic. I cant really complain about anything with this camera, its become my go to over my 5DII

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Apr 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Full frame, beautiful files
Cons:
clunky shutter, sensor gather dirt fast

I got the 5D "used" a couple of years ago and was amazed at the beautiful files, they have a creamy look about them and I prefer the look of them to my 5DII files. I only upgraded to the mark 2 for the bigger LCD and more mega-pixels. I have since sold the 5D but regret it. It is well built in my opinion. As a first time full frame I don't think you can go wrong. If you don't need video and just want to get into full frame cheaply, go for it

 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Apr 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: speed auto focus build
Cons:
noise in low light, cloudy days

I got the 7D as an upgrade to my 50D and was amazed at the speed and accuracy. The only problem I had was my images initially seemed soft. I took a lot of photos and did a lot of reading and eventually began to get results. after the most recent firmware update I noted much of an improvement in some areas. I usually use this camera mainly for wildlife or where reach is needed. Its not as good IQ wise as a full frame but with today's software noise can be removed. If you get a great shot with this camera it really is great but it is a camera that can frustrate at times. I don't take it out when the light is bad but it shines in sunny conditions or late afternoon light. In that lighting its hard to pic the 7D shots from the full frame shots. I'm hoping its successor will improve some of the irritating issues

these were all shot with the 7D

https://www.flickr.com/photos/julieholland/sets/72157635000275621/


 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Feb 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: 15 megapixel solid build, fast enough FPS, LCD is great miro adjustment well controlled noise
Cons:
None that I can think of

I upgraded to the 50D in September 2010 from my 40D which I handed to my husband. I had put off getting the 50D due to poor reviews but when the price dropped I thought why not. I have not looked back, its been awesome for my wildlife, better than the 40D and that was a great camera. I have used it to shoot a wedding with nice results. I use L lenses and they shine on this camera, also the 10-22 performs well on the 50D too. I was thinking of going FF but right now this camera is giving me wonder results so Im concentrating on the glass. If you can still pick up a new 50D it is a steal and used would be a bargain.

my 50D images can be seen here
http://www.flickr.com/photos/julieholland/sets/72157625917331216/


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Sep 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Good Build, AF tracking, 6.5 fps, IQ, good high ISO performance, automatic ISO, DiG!C III, Live View, self-cleaning sensor
Cons:
Nothing I can think of

I purchased my 40D in march 2009 as an upgrade to my 30D. It has been an awesome camera. I think Ive had it round the dial too many times to count now and have passed it on to my husband who does not do as much photography (I'm upgrading to the 50D) and already he loves it as well. Used with the battery grip and L lenses this camera is a beautiful piece of equipment I would recommend to anyone who can pick one up in good condition

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Aug 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, great focal range, build quality, IS
Cons:
Heavy, Hood is a pain

I have only had this lens about three weeks but already have grown to love it. I had the 400 F5.6 L and that was a great lens but I felt restricted which is the reason I sold it and purchased this lens. The IS seems to work quite well. I actually like the push pull zoom and find it very easy to use. The images seem very sharp at 400 if stopped down to 6.3 and reasonably sharp wide open. The lens is very versatile. The only things I find annoying are the hood, its hard to get on and off and the lens is heavy. After about 25 minutes I need to rest my arm. But overall I'm glad I got it.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Aug 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp, IS, beautiful all round lens if you dont need the F2.8
Cons:
I wish it was black

Ive had this lens a very short time but love it already. I sold my 70-200 F2.8 (non IS) and replaced it with this due to the weight as I have a shoulder problem. I have owned the F4 non IS version and that too is a wonderful lens but felt that giving up the F2.8 version meant I needed IS to at least have a chance to get some of the lower light shots I just would not get without IS.

This lens is seriously sharp, the colors are beautiful, very contrasty and the bokeh is not too bad either. The lens works very well with the EF 1X4 TC and shows very little degradation if any at all. Its an all round great lens


 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Jul 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: small light fairly sharp
Cons:
non for the price

I got this as a stop gap lens while I made my mind up over two different L lenses. It does produce some reasonably sharp images, I stop it down a little if possible. Its not L quality but there have been a few shots Ive taken that would rival my F4 L photos. The IS on this is VERY good, Ive shot images at 1/5s handheld. I have passed it on to my husband as he is more of a casual photographer and he is really impressed with it

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great detail, great build, fast focus in low light very sharp images, price
Cons:
No hood included

This lens is a real gem and has saved me in low light a few times. The images are sharp even wide open. It compares favourably with my L lenses. There is not much to dislike about this lens. For the price it canít be beaten.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: May 31, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharp contrasty, great DOF beautiful images
Cons:
My hood is a pain but I gather its just this lens

I have had this lens just two weeks but I have to say I love it already. I thought my F4 version was great until I used this lens. I got mine used but its only 6 months old so may as well be new.
I donít miss IS at all. On my 30D this lens seems so well balanced Iím handholding at quite low shutter speeds without much problem. It does start to get heavy after a while but when I see the images I forget that,
The only negative I have is that the hood is a pain, probably just this lens but I find it so hard to get on and off. I had to cut a small piece out of the plastic just to get the thing on and I worry each time I put it on I am going to break it.
I canít seem to handhold it well with the 1X4 TC on, itís as if it is unbalanced on the camera but I doubt that I will matter as I wonít need the TC often anyway.
I still give the lens a 10 as you just canít beat to image quality it produces for a zoom lens.
If you can do without IS this is the lens to get. I have no regrets at all


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: very sharp images and best bang for bucks, A great little lens to have in your kit
Cons:
hunts a little in low light



 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: light, super sharp, cheap for an L lens. Very little degradation with the 1X4 TC attached.
Cons:
none

Love this lens, my most used lens. I dont miss IS at all as Ive never had it. I get wonderful sharp images from it. Worth every cent

 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Oct 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp and fast focusing lens, light enought to handhold, Built in hood
Cons:
No IS but I have never had an IS lens so not an issue for me

Iíve had this lens a couple of weeks now and Iím finding it producing beautiful shots, very contrasty and sharp. I had spent a lot of time researching the lens and was torn between this and the 100-400 L. Was told by many that I need IS but Iíve never used it so wont miss it. Handholding is not that hard, but keep the shutter speed up. I shoot mainly at higher ISOs when handholding and that negates the need of a tripod or monopod. It sits well on the monopod when I use it and I like that the tripod mount can be removed while attached to the camera. The built in hood is great and offers great protection to the glass. I have not found the F 5.6 of any disadvantage at all.

If you mainly shoot at 400m as I do for birds it is a great lens to add to your collection. Iím still yet to shoot many birds in flight but Iím told it is tops for that job.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Jun 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros:
Cons:

I find all the reviews here very helpful (apart from a few that it seems they have to realise that if one buys this lens they should deal with its light limitations)

It has swayed me towards the 400 prime as opposed to the 100-400. I look forward to any more reviews leading up to me purchasing it


 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Feb 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: wonderful, little reduction in photo quality
Cons:
none so far

Ive only had this for 3 days but so far Im impressed. Ive done a bit of testing attaching this to my 70-200 F4 L lens and its quite sharp.

heres a few of my first test shots

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/511119

If you cant afford another lens, get one of these.


 
Canon EF 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM

ef100_300f45_56_1_
Review Date: Nov 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: lightweight reasonably sharp
Cons:
zoom creep

I have used this lens for many forms of photography and have no problems with it. Images a fairly sharp and Ive won quite a few competitions with photos I used this lens to take them with. Im often asked what lens Im using so I guess it can be compared to better lenses in the right conditions. Mine was secondhand off of Ebay and I think I got a good copy somehow.

here are a few quick snapshots with Ive taken with it, very little PP work apart from crops

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v176/aladyforty/


 

Page:  1 · 2  next