about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: afred  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add afred to your Buddy List
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $540.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, size, sharp, price
Cons:
f/4, build

Well, i've got to say, this is a very sharp lens. It might be my sharpest lens. I think i got really lucky with this one, because i dont see a difference between f/4 and f/8, and they're both tack. Then lens is pretty light, i was expecting it to be a little heavier. The build seems OK, but not great.

 
Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG Super

EF_500_DG_Super_Flash
Review Date: Jun 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $179.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, power, settings
Cons:
Wireless master mode malfunctions... on my camera (20D) at least.

I have 3 of these flash units and i really do like using them. Mainly using a master with the slaves in manual. When i use the ETTL wireless master mode, the images are way overexposed, but this isnt much of a problem to me, because i really don't need that mode.

 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $545.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 12mm, full frame capable. nice focus motor, built in hood
Cons:
heavy and large.

This lens is great at creating images that you must have EVERYTHING in. But it's slow, and large. Not to mention how heavy it seems to get. The lens is sharp at all f stops, i generally shoot it wide open when shooting people, and is hand holdable at 1/10th. The range is nice, but i find myself using 12-16 most on this lens. If you're using this on a full frame, the edges get rather soft and i dont really recommend it for that.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $565.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, and range. fast and rather silent focusing motor.
Cons:
f/4, but it's not that much of a negative.

The 70-200 f/4 is a great lens, I tended using it on the 200 end mostly, but it works well for sports and portrature where you want a mixed amounts of shots. Fast and dead on focusing. This lens is vert light for being a 70-200. I commend canon for that, nice lens with a nice price.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: PRICE!! f/1.8
Cons:
plastic mount...

For a couple bucks, there is not a body out there that shouldn't be matched with this lens. Unless you have the 1.4 or L, or even MK I. I shoot this lens only when i need to use that f/1.8-2.8 range. Social gatherings are where this shines. Low light areas, where you otherwise would have to flash your subjects, or hope you have a hand with a built in tripod. The lens is rather weak and light, but that doesnt bother me much. Get it, if you're in the market for anything even near the 50mm range.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $605.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: f/2.8, sharp at 2.8, fast focus, and look at the beautiful bokeh!
Cons:
it's not a zoom...

First off, I own the MK I version of this lens, and i've got to say, this is the sharpest lens i've ever shot with. This thing blew me away when i was testing it out at f/2.8. There is no holding back with this lens. Fast focus, built in hood! For all the MK I owners. This is currently my favorite lens. But that changes often... Great lens, focal length is not the greatist, but one learns to deal with that.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: F/1.8, fast and quiet focus.
Cons:
Soft at 1.8.

The 85mm f/1.8 would have to be one of my favored lenses. The focal length makes for great portraits on a 1.6x body. My lens is a bit soft at 1.8, but stopping down to 2.5 or 2.8 and this thing is like a tack. I use this lens indoors and outdoors, as the aperture is wide enough to let all that light suck right in. The autofocus on this lens works great. IT'S SILENT TOO! As far as i can tell anyway. Great lens, like the manual focus ring. One can't have canon gear without the 85mm f/1.8 somewhere in their collection.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Jun 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $232.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, wide aperture. Sharp lens, even at f/2
Cons:
Loud focus, hunts sometimes...

The 35mm f/2 lens from canon is a great lens to ad to anyone's collection. The focal length works well on 1.6x cameras. This lens has a few drawbacks though. The focus ring is somewhat high pitched, and the focus may be a little slow in low contrast areas. But shooting at f/2 and f/2.8 are where this lens shines. It makes a great lens to bring to the neighborhood BBQ party, and just an overall nice focal length to use. The build on this lens is quite decent as well.