about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: aestiva  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aestiva to your Buddy List
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp Bokeh Fast AF Build
Cons:
non

This should be the kitlens of every full frame camera! I also own a 35 1.4L but this one has a little bit better AF but more sharpness, less CA and feels like a Carl Zeiss lens. Also the bokeh is very nice! A lot of pictures on my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this lens!

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, bokeh, Amazing AF
Cons:
Lenshood is terrible

The build quality of this lens is outstanding!

Only poor thing is the lenshood, it's ugly and fells of every time. This lens is sharper than mij 35 1.4L, 35 Art, 50 1.2 and even mij 85 1.2L II and 70-200 2.8L II! Only my macro 2.8L II can beat this one!
So the sharpness it better than primes!

The 35 art is my favourite lens and I only use this one on 24mm. Most pictures of my latest wedding on my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this lens.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp fast colors contrast bokeh IS Weight Size
Cons:
non

There's no better zoomlens than this one. This one even beats my amazing 70-200 2.8L IS II.

The sharpness is amazing. Most of the pictures on http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie (on the Costa Rica wildlife section) is made with this lens!

Only buy the 2.8 if you have to! Otherwise buy this one!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast AF
Cons:
soft at 2.8

Don't buy this lens if you want a sharp lens at 2.8. The 100mm 2.8L IS and f135 2.0 are better options. I onwned this lens at 2011 - 2012 (see http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie for samples at that year) and than I upgraded by the version 2. This one is a lot better!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharpness, even on 2.8 Fast AF Build like a tank Color and contrast
Cons:
Weight It's expensive but worth the price

One of the best zoomlenses Canon ever made. It's one of my favourite lenses for details at Hindu and Chinese weddings and some times at receptions.

I also own a 2.0III extender and this lens is even with the extender the sharpnes is amazing! I don't see much difference with the 100-400 L. Almost every outdoor zoomed weddingpicture on my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie is made with this piece of art!

Only buy this lens if you need the hole range! Otherwise go for the 100mm 2.8L IS Macro (it's even sharper than the 70-200) of for the 135 2.0 for the bokeh en weight.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: amazing build fast af weathersealing color and contrast
Cons:
a little soft compared to other Canon lenses bokeh isn't as nice as the 24-70 2.8L II ugly lenshood, but needed to protect the front of the lens

Only buy this lens if you have to. The 24 1.4L II of 24-70 2.8L II is a better choice! Those are a lot sharper.

I didn't use this lens a lot. A few pictures in my 2012 file on my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this lens.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: build quality, fast focus, beautiful lenshood
Cons:
soft at 2.8

This lens has an amazing quality! But beware, it seems like only 10% of all this lenses is sharp at 2.8. I owned 3 of this lensen and al three lenses were very soft at 2.8.
The new 24.70 is far better than this one.

I didn't use this lens a lot in the past. All wideangle pictures from 2013 - 2014 on my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this lens. After 2014 the wideange pictures were made with my new 24-70


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

ef10028lmisu_586x225
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Razorblade sharp, bokeh, fast AF for a macro, image stabilizer
Cons:
non

Amazing lens! I use this as a macro, close up and portrait lens!
Just figure out which of the three macro stands you have to use and it's almost fast enough for everything. Even sport. Only the closest focus range is slow. All macro pictures on http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie are made with this amazing lens.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp, amazing bokeh, nice colors, hard contrast
Cons:
Slow af, strange lenshood, expensive

I own this lens and the Sigma 85 1.4.

I would recommend the Sigma above the 85 1.2L II because the price and the quality.
But this lens you have the budget and if bokeh and weather sealing is important. Otherwise GO for the Sigma. The AF is a lot slower than the sigma but for my feeling more accurate.
The Sigma has a little less bokeh, not a well build like the L, but beats a lot of other professional lensen and has a fast AF!

On my page http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie al zoomed pictures from september are made with this piece of art!

This lens costs too much, is too heavy, too slow but the quality makes it one of my favourite lenses!


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Sharp after f1.6 amazing built Beautifull bokeh, almost as good as the 85 1.2L II
Cons:
Price slow AF but fast enough for sport very soft at 1.2 - 1.4 Cheap lenshood

This lens is one of my favourite lenses. This lens has an amazing built and feels solid en professional.
Don't buy this lens if you want to use it on 1.2 of 1.4! Then the Sigma 50 1.4 art is a better choice. The Sigma has a better sharpness on open diafragmas and a fast AF.

Buy this lens if you also want to use it in the rain en if bokeh is important. I prefer this lens above the Sigma art because of the bokeh. It's far smoother! Almost as good as the 85 1.2L

See my page for a lot of samples http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,400.00

 
Pros: Very sharp after f2.0 Nice bokeh Nice build even it's an old lens Very fast AF
Cons:
Quality beneath f2.0 is poor, I use this one from 2.2 to hide the CA A lot of CA Price isn't worth it. My Sigma 35 1.4 art beats this one! and it's 2 times cheaper

When I compared this lens with my Sigma art, you see this is an old lens. This lens is sharp but only from 2.0. Beneath 2.0 this lens is quite soft and has a lot of CA.

Since I upgraded this lens to the 35 art, I don't use it anymore.

Most of the pictures till july 2014 on my page, I made with this lens. http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie

After july 2014, most of the pictures are made with the Sigma Art


 
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: Nov 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: As a full time wedding photographer in the Netherland, I use this lens a lot. The difference between my 85 1.2L II is that this lens doesn't has the same amazing bokeh as de outstanding 85 1.2L II, but! It's cheaper Bokeh is still impressive and beats a lot of other lenses Does't has de CA that the 85 1.8 has Has a lot faster focus than my 85 1.2L II but a little slower than the 85 1.8. I only use de 85 1.2L II when it has to otherwise I only use this amazing lens And this one has a nice weight and filter size. After f2.0 this lens is very sharp
Cons:
Doesn't feel as solid as the L of art lenses. Almost every lens I owned needed an AF correction Don't use this lens in the rain!

I recommend this lens more than my 85 1.2L II! Even when my L has a nicer bokeh. This doesn't mean the bokeh isn't good! It still beats a lot of other lenses. The AF is very fast.

Only buy the 1.2L when you need it in rain or for the amazing bokeh. Otherwise this Sigma.

Look for some previews my page: http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie


 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Jun 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness after calibration | Bokeh | Color | Fast AF
Cons:
Nice build but scratches quick | Sigma hasn't the quality control as Canon | No service for professionals like CPS from Canon |

The first time I used this lens, I was a bit dissapointed. I could find the sharpness like my 35 1.4L. The reason was that my art had e terrible backfocus of +18 on my 5D MK3's. After Sigma calibrated my lens, I had a nother lens!

MUCH sharper (beneath 2.5) than my 1.4L, beatiful color and bokeh and a very good AF.

I'm a professional wedding photographer in the Netherlands and most of this pictures are made with the 35 art and 85 1.4 from Sigma

http://totaalfotografie.nl/bruidsfotograaf-krishna-mandir-luxury-utrecht/


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Jun 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, clean bokeh, fast AF, build quality
Cons:
filter size, rough zoom

This lens is a revolution. After doing a lot of wedding photography in Holland with mij 24 1.4, 35 1.4, 50 1.2 and 85 1.8, I bought this lens.

This lens is as sharp as my primes (maybe sharper). Even the bokeh is almost the same as my primes (on 2.8).

The only negative aspect is the rough zoom. This lens doesn't have the smooth zoom's like the 70-200, but it's still oke.

The price?
Believe it or not, but this lens is to cheap for the quality it delivers. In Holland we have a Canon Cashback till 31 july. My last two weddings I made a lot of pictures with this lens. You can see some on http://totaalfotografie.nl and a lot of other pictures on my facebook http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie

I already sold my 24 1.4 and now I'm also going to sell my 35 1.4 Smile


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Apr 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast AF, bokehlicous, small, light
Cons:
Noting

Amazing lens. When I compare this with the new 24-70 2.8L II, this lens is almost the same (color and sharpness), but the bokeh is more beautiful of the 24 1.4 II. Almost all the wide-ange pictures of http://www.totaalfotografie.nl are made with the 24 1.4L II

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrast, colour, AF speed
Cons:
Weight, Even the high price is worth it

The best lens I've ever had. Very good sharpness at 2.8. I even can't see the difference in sharpness between 2.8 and 5.6
The most beautifull closeups on my site are made with this lens.
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 

Page:  1 · 2  next