about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: aestiva  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aestiva to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM

Screen_Shot_2013-11-16_at_5_30_13_PM
Review Date: Jun 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, clean bokeh, fast AF, build quality
Cons:
filter size, rough zoom

This lens is a revolution. After doing a lot of wedding photography in Holland with mij 24 1.4, 35 1.4, 50 1.2 and 85 1.8, I bought this lens.

This lens is as sharp as my primes (maybe sharper). Even the bokeh is almost the same as my primes (on 2.8).

The only negative aspect is the rough zoom. This lens doesn't have the smooth zoom's like the 70-200, but it's still oke.

The price?
Believe it or not, but this lens is to cheap for the quality it delivers. In Holland we have a Canon Cashback till 31 july. My last two weddings I made a lot of pictures with this lens. You can see some on http://totaalfotografie.nl and a lot of other pictures on my facebook http://facebook.com/totaalfotografie

I already sold my 24 1.4 and now I'm also going to sell my 35 1.4 Smile


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Apr 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast AF, bokehlicous, small, light
Cons:
Noting

Amazing lens. When I compare this with the new 24-70 2.8L II, this lens is almost the same (color and sharpness), but the bokeh is more beautiful of the 24 1.4 II. Almost all the wide-ange pictures of http://www.totaalfotografie.nl are made with the 24 1.4L II

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrast, colour, AF speed
Cons:
Weight, Even the high price is worth it

The best lens I've ever had. Very good sharpness at 2.8. I even can't see the difference in sharpness between 2.8 and 5.6
The most beautifull closeups on my site are made with this lens.
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice range, good quality, fast AF
Cons:
Big dissortion wide open and less contrast wide open, price

Nice lens, great colors, but big dissortion wide open. Especially on full frame camera's.
Some of the pictures on my site are made with this lens
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, build quality, bokeh, fast AF
Cons:
Soft wide open

Great lens for the price. Only a bit soft wide open. The elder series on my site are made with this lens.
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, fast AF
Cons:
Price, bokeh

I like this lens. It's sharp en has a very fast AF.
On 2.8 a little bit soft sometimes, but most of the time usefull.

The bokeh isn't as nice as the 24-70 2.8.

This lens is a very good upgrade from a 17-40. A lot sharper.

Most of the wideangle pictures on my site are made with this lens.
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, small, light, cheap, fast AF
Cons:
CA

A great lens. Very fast AF, but also very sharp.
One of the sharpest lens I ever used.

I put some samples on my site www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: beautifull bokeh, nice colors
Cons:
soft wide open, slow af

Nice lens. Good build quality. But slow af.
From 1.8 - 2.8 al lot better than my Canon 85 1.8, after that, you can't see the difference anymore.
I put some samples on my site www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp and cheap
Cons:
Wide open poor quality, ugly bokeh

One of my first lenses.

Very sharp for the price, but poor build quality.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, fast, sharp
Cons:
AF quality

Very good lens for the price. De AF quality is poor. It brokes two times.

This lens is also a little bit sharper than my 50 1.2L, but the bokeh is a lot better of my 50 1.2.

This lens is a very good upgrade for the 1.8

Look at my site for a few samples
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, bokeh, smoothness, sharpness, fast AF
Cons:
Price and wide open a little bit soft

Very good lens. Also de AF is accurate, even on 1.2. A lot better bokeh and color than the Canon 50mm 1.4.

A lot of pictures of my site are made with this lens.
www.totaalfotografie.nl


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: May 15, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great lens, small, light, very fast focus, extremely sharp and a good build
Cons:
A littlebit CA wide open and the price.

Very good lens. One of the best lens I've ever bought.

Most pictures of my site are made with this lens:
www.totaalfotografie.nl