about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: abqnmusa  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add abqnmusa to your Buddy List
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Nov 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp wide open at F1.4 & stopped down, quick and reliable focus, good color and contrast in the images.
Cons:
a bit heavy, but not really a negative. The image quality is worth the extra weight.

I was never happy with the Canon EF 50mm F1.4. I found it next to useless from F1.4 to F2.2 due to lack of sharpness due to ghosting and flare.

The Sigma 50mm is quite a bit bigger and heavier but very well made. It is built like an L lens.

The image quality is excellent. The lens is sharp from F1.4 and stopped down. I do not have the problems with ghosting & flare the Canon 50 had. The focus has been fast and reliable.

Overall this has been an excellent purchase. I would recommend to others looking for a fast 50mm that support full frame.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Aug 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness wide open is excellent, nice small size compared to 70-200 zoom, bright viewfinder image due to F2, excellent bokeh
Cons:
focus seems slightly slower then 70-200 F4L IS, but not a big deal I do not miss shots with the 135L

I was not sure I would find this lens worth the cost. But wanted a good portrait lens, as the portraits with my 70-200 @ F4 were not what I was looking for.

I find the size of the 135L much nicer to work with then the size of the 70-200 F4L IS.

It is a great portrait lens as one would expect.

What surprised me is it is also great for photographing flowers & insects. I just put on a 25mm extension tube and the magnification is enough for flows & insects. This weekend I took some excellent shots of flower and bees.

sharpenss at F2 is excellent, and lens is sharp stopped down

I find myself reaching for the 135mm F2L now and leaving the 70-200 zoom at home. I do not find the difference between 70 & 135, or 135 & 200 to be a big difference.



 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Aug 20, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent sharpness even at F1.4, quick focus on the 5D, bokeh is excellent
Cons:
it was expensive, but most high quality L lenses are. I do not regret the purchase when I see the beautiful images it produces.

This lens lives up to the reviews I have read.

Using a 5D I am very happy with the lens and the beautiful images it produces.

I find it is sharp wide open at F1.4. The sharpness at F2 is superb. The ability to isolate the subject with fine creamy bokeh is what this lens is all about.

Focus is quick on a 5D, and the images just have to be seen to be believed. You cannot produce those images with a 24-70 F2.8L or 24-105 F4L lens. There is a big advantage in isolating the subject at F1.4, 1.8, 2, 2.2 that just cannot be done with the zoom.

I only use 24-105 F4L zoom now for some sports photography where I need multiple focal lengths quickly.



 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Feb 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: low distortion, very sharp when stopped down, best at F8-F11
Cons:
not sharp accross the full frame wide open, but there are not any ulta-wide lenses that can do that.

I find the 20mm F2.8 to be sharper and provide better images then my 17-40 F4L is real world shooting.

As is normal with any ultra-wide angle you must stop it down for edge to edge sharpness on full-frame (5D).

I use this lens for lancscape work stopped down to F8 - F11 where the lens is sharpest.

It is easy to improve saturation and contrast to match the L look.

I also like the very mild distortion of the lens. It does not even require correction.

The lens is even better on the 1.6 crop XTI as the sensor is so small it does not use the edges of the lens. So you can get edge to edge sharpness at F4 - F11.

I am very satisfied with the detailed images I get for landscape shots. It was the solution to the inconsistent sharpness of the 17-40 lens I was using.


 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Feb 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great image quality at ISO 100, 200, and good quality at 400; lightweight, good focusing ability, sensor cleaning option does help with dust, back LCD display of preview better then other 1.6 crop camera displays,
Cons:
too much noise in image at 800 & 1600 ISO to use those settings (same as 20D/30D); size is a bit small but you get used to it

When I first bought this camera it seems too small & grip was not big enough. But I have become accustomed to it now. I prefer the size and grip of the 5D when using larger lenses.

The image quality at 100 & 200 is great. The image quality at 400 is good but noise can be noticable in the shadows and background of images. This is not much different then I saw with the 20D, or have seen in 30D mages. I feel the noise at 800 is a bit too much, and 1600 is noisy to the point of being unusable.

I use the camera as a teleconverter most of the time with the 70-200 F4L IS for a 112-320 equivalent, or with the 300mm F4L IS for a 480mm equivalent.

The buttons are well places and it is faster to make changes on this camera then on a 20D/30D. The LCD instantly confirms your settings, and the LCD can be shutoff with the display button.

Overall I have enjoed the camera and get great image quality at 100/200 and good quality at 400.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Feb 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,104.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent image quality, mode 1 IS works well for handheld shots, mode 2 IS works well for panning shots (birds, race cars), focusing is fast & reliable on my 5D & XTI bodies, close focusing marcro works well with good working distance.
Cons:
price is a bit high, wish it had the new 4 stop IS like the 70-200 F4L IS. I struggle to find negatives as I am very happy with this lens.

I find it easy to take sharp images with this lens. Image quality is fantastic.

I like the built in lens hood. Its always attached and does not get knocked off like the plastic lens hoods. I like to take this lens when hiking and the IS is fantastic for this. Often I am not able to carry, or do not desire to carry a tripod. So the IS of this lens is great.

purchased new at B&H


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: Aug 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lens sharp at all focal lengths settings including 300mm, both mode 1 & mode 2 IS work very well, focusing is fast and accurate on my 5D. The size & weight of this lens make it handle quickly in the field. It is easy to locate & follow fast subjects with this lens.
Cons:
If lens is unloced and you point it straight down it will telescope to full extension. A bit expensive.

I am amazed by the performance of this lens on my 5D. It makes car racing photos much easier to achieve then my 70-200 F4L.

The sharpness, color, and contrast of the 70-300 DO IS images are easily the equal to my 70-200 F4L.

It may have a green stripe, but I am getting red strip L quality images from the 70-300 DO IS.

The focusing is very quick and accurate on the 5D.

Mode 1 & 2 IS work well and make 300mm handhelp shots easy. The mode 2 IS makes panning fast moving race cars much easier than with the 70-200 F4L lens.

I would recommend this lens to anyone needing a top quality telephoto lens.



 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Jul 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Using 28-105 F3.5-4.5 with a Canon EOS 5D. The lens is light weight, handles quickly, zoom ring easy to operate, takes sharp images with good color and contrast. I sold my Canon EF 24-70 F2.8L heavy brick lens and bought this. The 24-70 was too heavy for hiking, slow handling due to weight, and just not pleasant to use for long periods of time. I have no regrets as the 28-105 is perfect for hiking, and handles so much quicker.
Cons:
The hood is extra cost. You have to stop it down a bit more that L lens to get the same sharp images.

This is a very good consumer film lens that also works very well on the Canon EOS 5D.