about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: aVOLanche  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add aVOLanche to your Buddy List
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X 116 PRO DX SD

atx116
Review Date: Oct 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, very well made, relatively inexpensive, fast.
Cons:
None, so far

I'd been using the Sigma 10-20mm UWA and it was only fair (decentering, as seen on many of them). This Tokina just mops the floor with that Sigma........MUCH better and a not much more $$. It's a best buy among UWA lenses. Buy one!

 
Canon Rebel T2i DSLR

Canon_EOS_Rebel_T2i_01
Review Date: Jan 20, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $799.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality Improved ergonomics small and light,but sturdy
Cons:
cost fps

Best small body available.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Dec 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp,sharp,sharp! Lightweight Outstanding build Great IS
Cons:
None I can think of......well,wish it came in black.

Simply is the best zoom lens I have tried.Very sharp wide open at all FLs.Not much heavier than the 70-300 IS.Takes teleconverters well (f/5.6 @ 280mm is still sharp).

Typically great "L" build.Internal focus.Great image stabilisation.

Is great on the higher mp bodies (7D,5DII,etc.).

Can't recommend it more highly!


 
Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) AF

18_250mm
Review Date: Dec 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Range Price
Cons:
Soft at longer FLs Slow AF No IS

I bought this after owning a Tamron 28-200 LD years ago...partly on the basis of a couple of reviews.I was disappointed in it.The AF was not very good(main problem).In decent light it was adequate.In anything approaching low light,it hunted a LOT.

I also felt the lens was too soft,especially at FLs over about 135mm.

I ended up selling it and getting the Tamron 18-270mm VC.It's a better lens and the VC is outstanding.It's AF is better and the optics are improved from the "250".


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

70-300_isusm
Review Date: Nov 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp Inexpensive Lightweight Good build
Cons:
Older IS,but still works very well

A real hidden gem of a lens.Much,much beter than it has any right to be.

Sharper than the new "best in class" Tamron 70-300mm VC.


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Jul 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bets UWA for the price VERY wide compared to 12mm on 1.6 crop Excellent build
Cons:
none

This is the only non-Canon lens that I currently own.It's fantastic,especially at it's price.

I'd love to have the wider 8-16mm Sigma,but the price prevents that.

This lens is sharp,contrasty,great color,comes with a lens hood at a bargain basement price.

To be fair,I have seen some copies with decenterin issues(have seen 8-16mm Sigmas with the same).My advice is to buy from a dealer with a good return policy.When you get a good copy,you will be amazed!


 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Jan 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Range is excellent...especially on FF.Good IS.Well built compared to the new plastic lenses.Good color/contrast and sharp.Excellent lens for $300!
Cons:
Size/weight

Excellent value in a nice walk-around lens.

 
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: Jan 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp cheap VERY light
Cons:
none at this price!

Canon finally is buiding worthy consumer lenses at bargain basement prices.This lens is terrific.

 
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

EFS18-55_35-56IS
Review Date: Jan 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: WAY better than old non-IS Excellent IS sharp(shockingly good).
Cons:
plastic build feels cheap(but is very adequate).

Just a terrific lens for a "kit" lens.A best buy.It is a huge improvement over the older kit lens.The IS is superb.I think it's a best buy and Canon finally has built an very good,inexpensive consumer lens.

 
Canon EOS Rebel XSi (450D)

Canon450D
Review Date: Jan 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: small size price is dropping....now a reasonable buy good image quality 12mp...good for cropping 18-55 IS is a nice kit lens
Cons:
noise at 800,1600 needs a real auto iso

I bought this camera to supplement my 40D and let my wife have a small dslr.Overall,the camera is better than the 400D it replaces.But the noise was much worse than I expected.And the gain in resolution from 10mp is less than I anticipated.Canon continues to produce cams with excellent IQ....at the expense of some very important features.The lack of a decent auto iso is baffling.

My 40D is enough better than the 450D,that I was not using the smaller body cam.And that tells it all(the 40D was $700 used....the 450D was $500 used).The 40D has better PQ,lower noise,better ergonomics(esp. the 2 wheels).


 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Nov 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Operating speed Image quality Ergonomics Value....best in dslr market!
Cons:
Would love to have the newer style lcd as on 50D,but it's still got a great 3" lcd(a very minor neg.)

I traded my 30D for this camera(+$175).I didn't expect much of an upgrade.Was I ever wrong.It's IQ is better than the 30D with no added noise at iso 800 and up.The menu system is better,the custom modes are a great addition as is the iso in the viewfinder and lcds.The shutter is much quieter.The camera feels better in hand.

I thought LiveView was a gimmic,but I'm enjoying it.This is a well-made,user-friendly,inexpensive camera that is WAYYY better than the 30D.I'm so glad I went ahead and got it and passed on the 50D.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Feb 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp IS is great One of the best lenses $$ can buy!
Cons:
weight(but no heavier than comparables)

One of the truly great lenses available.It's PQ,build,etc are all state-of-the-art.I had the f4 and went to the 2.8IS-a great move up.Shooting anything from sports to weddings to portraits on a 30D is superb.Highest recommendation.

 
Nikon D300

d300
Review Date: Jan 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great feature set Very well built
Cons:
Still sacrifices detail with Nikon's heavy-handed noise reduction.Price is too high for a crop cam with this IQ(It's not bad,but still not to Canon standard at is 800 and up).

I bought this camera with great expectations.I liked it except for the IQ.Nikon has opted to use heavy noise reduction at the cost of resolution(esp.in jpeg-which I shoot a lot of).The AF is not up to pro standards as was suggested.
The lens adjustment is great...all dslrs need this.Frankly,I was disappointed and went back to a used Canon 30D which produces better images.I prefer Canon ergonomics,too.
I'll wait until the next round of crop cameras come out to upgrade.If this cam was $1400,it would be easier to justify.


 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Jan 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ Great ergonomics Good price
Cons:
None

Best entry level dslr on the market and I tried ALL the major players.Plus you use the Canon lens system.Really nice camera.

 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Jan 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great ergonomics Well constucted-good"feel" Excellent high ISO performance Excellent image quality Great dslr for the $$$
Cons:
lcd slightly off in color ISO not visible "full time" in lcd

Went from a Panasonic FZ20 to a Canon 350D to a Canon 400D to this 30D.The 30D is a lot more camera than the others.Much more of a "Pro" quality build and feel.Excellent performer and competes well with any crop camera on the market.The 2-wheel system is simple and efficient.I love it!Definitely a best buy.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Dec 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,002.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Typical "L" lens attributes: Beautiful color Sharp IS is wonderful
Cons:
none yet


This is my most used lens.I have a 70-200 F2.8 IS L,and think IS is the only way to go.I'm so glad I got this lens instead of the 24-70 f2.8 L.It seemed a little heavy at first,but I'm accustomed to the weight already.I'll not repeat all the stuff everyone else has written.Suffice it to say that I'm in love with this lens.Very highly recommended!


 

Page:  1 · 2  next