about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: William Austin  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add William Austin to your Buddy List
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Sep 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very fast focusing, sharp, compact
Cons:
none

I got this lens and the Canon 10-22mm for documentary and street photography, I wanted something light and compact but sharp and fast focusing, the 50mm f1.4 fits that bill dead on, the 10-22mm and 50mm combo works very well for me.

IQ from the 50mm f1.4 is pin sharp at f2.2 and up but I've not really use it at wider than f2.2 so I don't know what it's like at 1.4, but I didn't buy it for that anyway.

I've had both the Canon 50mm f1.8 MK1 and the Canon 50mm f2.5 macro as well, out of all 3 the 50mm f2.5 macro was the sharpest but it was too bulky and very slow at focusing.

If your in the market for a good cheap 50mm lens then this might just be the one for you

used on Canon 30D & 40D


 
Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

15_30f35_45_1_
Review Date: Aug 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp as a tac across the frame
Cons:
QC at sigma, 4th copy of this lens

This was my 4th copy of this lens, I had to return 3 before I got a good copy

The copy I have is so sharp, it's sharper than both the Canon 16-35mm and 17-40m that I used to have

used on a 5D FF


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Aug 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

Pros: second copy was sharp
Cons:
QC is so very bad at Sigma, bad lens cap, unable to turn polarizing filter when hood is fitted

I gave this lens an overall rating of 7, it would have had a 10 had my first copy not been soft round the left side at all zoom ranges and f-stops.

I returned my first copy and the replacement seemed to be fine however i later found that when the lens hood it fitted it doesn't leave enough room to rotate a polarizing filter.

I returned this lens and bought the Canon 10-22mm

I also have the Sigma 15-30mm which I use on my 5D, I had to swap this lens out 3 times before I got a sharp copy, however the copy I now have is so sharp, it's much sharper than the Canon 16-35L and the 17-40L that I used to have.
before I got the 15-30 I tried the Sigma 12-24mm, again I tried 3 copies, the first was soft the second had it's ap blades lock after 3 shots and the 3rd was soft on the right side, I gave up and got the 15-30mm.

QC at Sigma is so bad


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Aug 14, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Sharp, IS
Cons:
wish it was a bit wider

This is my second review, my first copy aquired dust inside the fron and read optics after just over an hours use, alos I would note that it had a filter fitted from first use.

any way I took back my first copy and had it replaced,
I've used the new copy for just over a week and there are no signs of dust inside at all

on another plus my second copy seems even sharper than the first at F2.8

over all this lens is almost as sharp as my 24-70L, plus it has IS


 
Canon EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM

l217_efs1755
Review Date: Aug 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, nice build but not great, fast focusing, IS
Cons:
Dust

I bought this lens 2 days ago, I checked in store before buying it that there was no dust inside, I used it for around an hour on my 30D and then again the following day for around 30 minutes, I then noticed that there were several dust specks inside the front optic and a large speck inside the rear optic, I phoned Jacobs (camera store in the UK) wheer I bought it from and requested a swap, they didn't have one instock and refused a refund

 
Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 DC OS

18-200OS
Review Date: Aug 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: Quick Focusing, Build quality, quite sharp at 200mm
Cons:
Soft from 18mm through to 135mm, OS is a bit slugish

I bought this 2 days ago, I found that at 200mm with OS switched on the IQ was very good however the over all IQ from this lens was very poor, at 18mm it wasn't very good at all, I also have the Tamron 18-250mm and the IQ is much better through out the range.

The Sigma has better build quality and faster focusing than the Tamron but this isn't of much use if the image quality is this poor.

I have taken the Sigma back to the shop for a refund


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Oct 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp Sharp and light
Cons:
none

Paid 103 for this lens used off ebay, It's a great little lens and is very sharp, focusing speed is good, not used it yet for macro photo's but I got it to replace my 50mm mk1 as I'd heard it was meant to be sharper, which I've found it to be true

 
Sigma Electronic Flash EF 500 DG Super

EF_500_DG_Super_Flash
Review Date: Oct 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

Pros: Ok for a cheap flash gun
Cons:
it broke with in a week

Had this flash for 1 week before it failed to zoom past 85mm on my Canon 5D, I powered it off and removed the batteries and also tried to maunually zoom off camera - still failed to zoom past 85mm

have upgraded to a 580EX


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Nice and sharp, great colours and contrasts
Cons:
a hoot the size on my hand

I owned this Lens before and used it on a 10D and then on a 20D, I was always happy with the image quality but wanted something with a bit more zoom, so I sold it and got the 17-85 IS, I kept that lens until I sold my 20D and bought the 5D, I'd never been that happy with the 17-85, sure it served the extra zoom but the image quality was nowhere near that of the 17-40.

So now I have a 5D with the 24-105 F4L and I wanted something a bit wider so I bought the 17-40 F4l again and I'm so glad I did,
It's just as good on a full frame as it was on a crop.



 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Sep 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Easy to handle, Sharpness you would expect from an L class Lens, Good range, IS
Cons:
Lens extends when zooming

I got this lens as part of a bundle with the Canon 5D, I've been very pleased with the results I get from this lens, I would say that in equals that of the 17-40 F4L in the sharpness area but the 24-105 produces better contrast and colours.