about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Vettesight  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Vettesight to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 8fps, High ISO better than the 40D, Weather Sealing, Leveling Assist, AF
Cons:
None so far

My wife and I have been using this camera for about 4 weeks and plan it to be a replacement for my wife's 40D. The AF is excellent and the 8 fps is super. IQ is excellent if you get the exposure right. Don't under expose as noise will show. I have found the noise is well controlled in well exposed images. DPP does a good job in this regard, but I usually turn down the luminance noise a bit to regain s bit of detail. I can't wait until ACR is no longer beta for the 7D.

The 18MP gives great detail. However, I had an early tendency to think I could crop more than is realistic. Trying to get a bird that occupies 20% of the frame to print at 8 1/2 X 11 is just not realistic. After all, this is only 3.6 MP!

So, just remember the camera is not a miracle worker. Use reasonable photographic technique and you will soon find this is the best non pro level Canon ever.


 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM

ef500mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Oct 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, IS, Build quality, Fast AF
Cons:
Price and weight

This is by far the most expensive lens I have ever purchaced. After reading al the reviews I deccided it was probably worth it so I took the plunge. Well, I am totally satisfied. Price not withstanding the lens is the sharpest I have seen. Despite the weight I still can carry and hand hold it for flight shots. When not hand holding i mount it on the tripod and loosen the ball head for quick movement. However, I must be certain to really tighten the head when I am not actually shooting due to the weight. The IS is great and the AF is very fast. It works great with Canon's 1.4 TC.

Yes, it is a lot of $$, but for wildlife and birds it is worth it.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Mar 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast with outstanding AF. Built like a tank.
Cons:
A little heavy. Software package is not nearly as good as the camera.

This camera without a doubt is the best I ave owned. It is very fast handling. The AF is supurb, and I like the fact I can AF well wit my 100-400 IS and the EF 1.4 TC (f8), altough it is with the enter focus point only. I am still learning how to configure the custom functions the way I want, but I certainly have total flexibility. Camera build quality is the best I have ever seen. Only downside is the software package is not as fast or easy to use as the camera. I understand the original ZoomBrowser of the 10D will soon be updated to handle the MKll RAW files. I higly reccemmend this camera.

 
Canon i9900 Photo

i9900_586x225_1_
Review Date: Mar 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding Color, Sharpness and speed
Cons:
Limited paper choice

I have used this printer since August 2004. It is fantastic. I make mostly 8 1/2 X 11, but occasionaly 13X19 or 11X14. The color depth and sharpness astound everyone who sees them. The ability to turnout a 13X19 borderless print in under 3 minutes is wonderful. I just wish there were more paper choices ie. sizes 11X14 or alternates surface types.

RE ink, I find I go through Photo Magenta and Photo Cyan more than the others. Despite what others have said I seem to get a good number of prints before the printer is thirsty again.

I highly reccomend this printer.


 
Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

CA550EXU_1_
Review Date: Oct 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Powerful, easy to set different EV values for fill flash
Cons:
Weak design of shoe, I had it break, but I did drop it.

After reading the manual I find this flash does all it is supposed to. I use it on ETTL mode and fid fill flas is a snap. However, studyig the user manual is mandatory. The flash fell off a table and the shoe broke. It was rather expensive to repair, but still worth it..

 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Jun 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compct and light weight.
Cons:
Doesn't AF on my 10D, although this is a 10D issue not a TC issue

I find it to be sharp, but even sharper when stopped down to f 11 or 13. Sure wish it could AF on my 100-400 IS. I use the tape trick but modify it as i don't like the seeking of the AF. I manual focus with the contacts taped and use the beep and AF light indicator function to confirm AF. I am getting pretty good at this and the images are sharp.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: May 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,395.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great flexibility due to the zoom range. IS is outstanding. Build quality is also outstanding.
Cons:
Can't use IS on tripod

I shoot wildlife and find its versitility and IS to be just what I need. I carry the camera with this lens in my car where ever I travel. Contrary to what some others think, I like the push pull design. I find it fast. I also find this lens to be sharp. The zoom lock/tension ring is very helpful. This is the lens that is on my 10D 90% of the time. I have sold many images of flowers at the closest focus so the BG is blurred. Anyone who wants a sharp lens with outstanding versitility and the benefits of IS this lens sould be on your list.