about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Stono  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Stono to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Jun 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IS, extremely sharp for a zoom, high IQ
Cons:
Not any, really

The best zoom I haver ever used. And I have used (and own) a lot, including Canon 70-200 mm F4 IS and Canon 70-200mm f2.8, IS as well as Canon 100-400 mm IS and Canon 16-35mm MkII among others. The new Canon 70-200mm f.2.8 IS MkII is by far the sharpest zoom of them all. Even sharper than quite a few Canon prime lenses. Really impressing! Even sharp (really sharp) when using f2.8. IS is very good too!! - If you try this lens you will not be satisfied with any other 70-200mm! I am not easily impressed having 16 L prime lenses - but this time I really am impressed. Superb zoom lens!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Apr 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,600.00

Pros: VERY, very sharp! Impressive IS and fine AF too
Cons:
None to my knowledge

I have the old Canon 70-200mm f2.8 L IS and the (semi-new)Canon 70-200 mm f4 L IS and I have made systematic comparisons. The conclusion is without any doubt that the new version of 70-200 f2.8 is far better in any respect than the older ones. I'll bet: Buy it and you will be very impressed!

This is the best zoom I have ever tried and owned! And believe me, I am not easily impressed (I got 14 Canon L lenses, from 500 mm f4 to 300 mm f2.8 to 200mm f2 to (the new) 24 mm tilt/shift and the new 16-35 mm). Sharpest lens of them all? Probably Canon 200 f2 IS L. Price for Best lens all over (handy, sharp, usability, travel, airline fit, etc.) will go to the new 70-200 mm f2.8.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Jul 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp, also when shooting F2. Sharpness and IQ at the level of or even beyond my bellowed Canon 300 mm F2.8 IS L. Probably Canoní sharpest lens. Physically, a very robust lens.
Cons:
Price, I guess (but you get what you pay for).

This lens is extremely sharp! And I am not easily impressed as I already got Canonís 300 mm f2.8 IS L as well as Canonís 500 mm F4 IS L and 9 other L-lenses. Expensive, yes, but the overall image quality (both on my 1ds MarkII & III) is simply stunning. Portraits, animals, sport, flowers, etc. Ė all superb results.

The image stabilizer really works perfectly. And combined with the shutter speed you get at F2, a lot of former impossible 200 mm telephotos now become possible. I got lots of really nice photos with shutter speed as low as 1/20 second. My Canon 70-200 mm f2.8 IS L has image stabilize too (and low F-number), but it doesnít work nearly as well as Canon 200 mm f2. My Canon 70-200 mm f4 IS L has a great image stabilizer, but only f4 which is not enough in many low-light situations (apart from that, it is a superb zoom).

Is it a heavy and huge 200 mm lens? Yes, it is, but it is still easily handheld - and the IQ you get makes you forget all about potentially sore muscle the next day!

If you got the money, go for it Ė youíll not regret it!


 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM

ef500mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jul 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremly sharp, also when shooting F4. Sharpness and IQ close to/identical with my Canon 300 mm F2.8 IS L. Physically, a very robust lens.
Cons:
Heavy! Attracts a lot of unwanted attention from strangers when shooting in public places.

Before buying this lens I read the all reviews I could get my hands (eyes) on and they all said the same: A superb lens! And now that I have got that lens and used if for a few weeks, I can only say: You are so very right! This is, indeed, an extremely good lens in every way.

But be prepared, this lens will attract a lot of (unwanted) attention, even from complete strangers and non-photographers.


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Apr 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $8,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lots of pixels = lots of details. Better pixel per pixel quality when compared to my 1ds MarkII (now my backup camera). Clear and sharp, nice colors. Less noise than the 1ds MarkII. Simply superb!
Cons:
None yet.

The 1ds MarkIII is very demanding with respect to optics, so be ready to buy really serious lenses. Not even all L-lenses will do (only about 50 % of my 13 L-lenses can deliver when mounted on the Mark III). But the details and sharpness are very, very impressing when shooting with Canon 500mm f4 IS, Canon 300 mm IS f2.8, Canon 135mm f2, Canon 90mm Tilt/shift, and Canon 180 mm (macro). The 16-35mm MarkII does well too (when stepped down 3 stops). - If you are a sharpness and detail freak you'll love this camera!!

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Oct 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build quality, superb contrast, color saturation, and resolution. Sharp!
Cons:
None really

I am very satisfied, have sold a lot of landscape photos taken by this lens. Not as sharp as the old Canon 28-70mm (but then hardly any zooms are), but 16mm is indeed nice to have. Will indeed recommend this lens. L-quality zoom.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremly sharp and very fast focus.
Cons:
Really nothing, except it is very BIG!!

It is said before and I can confirm: Canonís 300mm f2.8 IS L is unbelievably sharp. Owing 12 different Canon L lenses I ran systematically a series of test with regard to sharpness. Every time the 300mm f2.8 came first, on any f-number. Number two kind of changed (depending on f-number, sharpness in the corners, etc.), but to my surprise Canonís 180mm often came in second competing with my long time favorit Canon 135mm. A few times Canonís 300mm F4 IS took the second prize. No at all about discussion the first prize, it went every time to Canonís 300mm f2.8 every time. This is simply the sharpest lens I ever tried! Can it be handheld? Yes, but not for long (especially not if you use Canon's 1ds MarkII, as I do). A monopod is highly recommended. Will I now sell my old beloved Canon 300mm f4 IS? No, by one reason: it is far handier when travelling. The 300mm f2.8 IS is simply MONSTER BIG, very heavy and it attracts a LOT of attention. Not really a walk-around lens, for sure. But if you are a sharpness freak like me, then donít miss the 300mm f2.8! It is worth the money.

 
Gitzo G1228 Mountaineer Reporter Mk2 Carbon Fiber

G1228G_1_
Review Date: Aug 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $520.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Though small and handy VERY solid and rock stable. Can handle my Canon 1ds MarkII and heavy L-lenses with ease! It is lightweight and can easily fit into a suitcase.
Cons:
It is expensive, but when thinking about all the-not-so-expensive tripods I have owned over the years, all of them disappointed me at the end of the day. Not so with this guy!

Had it for about one year and it has been a joy! It has worked great in frost and snow north of the polar circle, in dusty southern deserts, and in hot and humit tropical rainforests.

Yes, I travel a lot - and this tripod is a great travel companion. No regrets at all, not even the price taken into account.

If you really want the best lightweight tripod around, go for this one!


 
Epson R800

R800
Review Date: Jul 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very, very high printer quality! Have had lots of A4 printers (also Canon, HP, etc.), but this is simply the best.
Cons:
Epsons prices on ink are too high. BUT you can get very good non-original ink cheap (on Ebay, I use Accstation).

I print and sell a lot of photos and I highly recommend the Epson R800. I am rather sure that the people rating this printer low just have not done their homework properly (setting up the right profile, using the R800's own profile, say). I got Epson R2400 (A3+) printer too and it is indeed superb (as documented by every review), BUT if you don't take care with profiling etc., you get very bad results indeed. Moral of the story: Do your homework with profiling and use Epson paper.

 
Canon TS-E 90mm f/2.8

tse90_1_
Review Date: May 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very, very sharp. Extreme DOF possible, perfect for landscapes.
Cons:
None really (OK, it is manual focus, but it can't be otherwise, I assume, if you want the possibilities this lens gives you.

Takes a while to learn to use all its possibilities. But highly rewarding - extreme DOF (tilt) and great panorama (shift). It is not an L-lens, though it is priced like one, BUT it is simple very sharp with great colors and contrast. My only non-L lense (got 7 L-lenses), but its optical performance is absolutely of L-quality. Highly recommended. Use it with my Canon 1Ds MarkII and "together" they give me landscape photos I could not get otherwise (with a 35mm camera).

 
Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_28-70_28s_1_
Review Date: May 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: VERY, VERY sharp!
Cons:
No IS

I first had the 24-70mm L, then got the 28-70mm L second hand - and the latter turned out producing clearly sharper images. Sold the 24-70mm!! No regrets. Sad it is not produced anymore. Highly recommended. At the same level as my 70-200 mm L 2.8, says a lot.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Dec 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp.
Cons:
None

Now I know what a super-sharp photo looks like. The details it show on my 16.7 MP Mark II are fantastic. Highly recommended. The best of my L-lenses with respect to sharpness. My 300mm L comes very close, though.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Dec 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $8,000.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Quality all over, hardly any noise even at ISO 800, huge 16.7 MB making highly detailed photos possible. Clearly better than my Canon D20 (and my former and present Nikons, Sonys, etc.).
Cons:
Menu system not as smart as Canon D20, but you'll learn it. Weight! Combined with Canon's 70-200 L or other "solid" lenses it turns into a real huge and heavy monster.

The price of this huge monster is high, but then you get a camera of an unbelievable quality. It is solid as a rock and the photos are brilliant (hardly any noise at ISO 400-800 at all). I have sold thousands of photos on stock, but with this camera the photos seldom need any work at all in Photoshop. The photos are simply brilliant.

I have "been digital" from the very beginning, years ago, and have had and have a whole series of digital cameras (Canon, Nikon, Sony, etc.), but this one is far better then anything I have ever tried.

Dust has not been a real problem for me as I am very careful when changing lenses (shut it down before changing lens). I have had the Mark II for about 8 months and when dust turns up it is often easily blow away, it not I wipe it (carefully) with a sensor brush. Used it in deserts, north of the polar circle, and in rain forests, it has always been very reliable.

Even taking the price into consideration I am highly pleased with this camera. The camera is heavy, really heavy, but I guess you can't make such a high quality and robust camera without the kilos.

Be prepared, though, this camera attracts a lot of (unwanted) attention, both from the public and other photographers.