about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Santoso  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Santoso to your Buddy List
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Mar 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color, contrast, price friendly and full frame!!
Cons:
No Filter

My 2 cents: no matter what others said, for cannon full frame user this lens is in a league of its own. The widest lens I can get for my 5D is 16-35 not to mention the price you have to pay. The difference of 16 vs 12 does matter. For my full frame when price vs value in question, this lens is a definate 10. stop down to 8 and above, you cant find much difference with those expensive ones. A must for cannon full frame; landscaper, cityscaper, and indoor shooter.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It covers the needed length for candid and it lived up to its L brand.
Cons:
None so far.

This lens cant be seperated from my 5D. I sold my 24-70 because most of the time I find myself missing the moment in candid because of length limitation. For those who like to shoot stage, please get a 70-200. IMHO this lens did very well in wedding, church and family indoor candid.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Feb 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USM, Fast Focusing, Sharp and gets the job done.
Cons:
IS is compensated by its weight, but hey it encourages you to go to gym more often heheheh

Truly Canon de la creme for low light shooting. Once you use the white lens, you'll wonder how you ever live without it.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Dec 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing contrast, color and quick focusing low light arsenal
Cons:
Expensive price and filter

Philip I think it think you miss the point of having big aperture lens. You have to compare it in low light. If you like comparing lens in bright daylight, heck I say even tamron 17-50 satisfied your needs already. A suggestion to compare its vignetting, glare and ghosting as well. You might also have a bad copy in hand. As for me, apart from its price this lens is a must for canon full frame.



 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jul 22, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Wide, Bokeh
Cons:
Price

The only thing that hesitate be from getting this lens is the price. However one day when I 'accidentally' tried this masterpiece, it really poison my system. Even an ugly subject can look good with its contrast and bokeh. Whats more? its even sharp at 1.4. Simply stunning. You havent got one? try and see for yourself.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: May 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Detail, Sharpness, Out of the world Bokeh, Contrast, Handling
Cons:
Weight, Price

If you ever said that this lens is God's way of saying that you have too much money.... Then you dont know the value of this lens. This lens can easily get you the wow effect and for pro, this lens can repay its worth in just few shots Smile

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: May 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All rounder, sharpness, build, bokeh, contrast
Cons:
None

This is a dream lens for most Canonian because it covers the widely used angle. IMHO every Canon user who shoots event and wedding should have one. It is the perfect companion for your 70-200 f/2.8. If you like to sent back your lens and keep complaining about sharpness, then you should buy prime lens instead.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: May 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 24 f/1.4 in low light with nice bokeh, Sharpness, Fast focus, Handling
Cons:
Price

I got mine 2nd at a good price, because the new one is bitsy pricy. I believe there isn't much lens out there that is as wide (24) and as good as 24 f/1.4. The ability to focus fast and take wonderful picture in low light is a live saver. Remember the time when your lens hunts and your flash battery is out. This lens is your answer.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Apr 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Capture breathtaking picture, sharpness and bokeh is incredible.
Cons:
None

Yes I would certainly recommend this piece of masterpiece to anyone who enjoy fine arts. I got 70-200 f/4 is in addition to this lens, tried it for two weeks and sold it. IMHO the only thing that beats 70-200 f/2.8 most of the time is 85 f/1.2 L for sharpness and 200 f/1.8 L for its focusing speed. Then again both of them does not have the flexibility of 70-200 zoom.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Apr 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: As sharp as f4 can provide in daylight.
Cons:
Not recommended for indoor or low light action&sports

I got this lens at a bargain. Used it for two weeks then I sold it and go back to my trusty 70-200 f/2.8. Sure the IS is fun and sharpness is great, however when I tried it low light with moving subject, I gotta move up to iso 1600 or 3200 most of the time. Quality of the picture also decreases with noise reduction. I recommend this lens to people who dont do much low light shooting or shooting with no flash.