about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Ralph Wagner  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ralph Wagner to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Jun 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $990.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, nice size for carry about, image quality, filter size.
Cons:
None.

All the nice features of an "L" lens, build, image quality, and great focusing. Nice compact size relatively speaking, and convenient filter size. My copy does not show neither of the earlier problems (focus shift and soft images at 50mm)

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Does what it is supposed to do.
Cons:
None

For the price of this lens there is no better value.

 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Dec 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice colors, fast AF, minimal distortions for the focal range and plenty sharp.
Cons:
A little overpriced, but the lens does deliver.

A good feat for Canon to present a lens in this focal range where the distortions are well controlled. Nice colors w/o overdoing it. I like the weight and AF also.

 
Tamron 17-35mm f2.8-4 Di LD Aspherical

sp-af17-35
Review Date: Jun 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lightweight, manual focus easy to use, very good & accurate colors.
Cons:
Flimsy hood. AF could be better, but okay for the price.

Nice lens to carry around. Very sharp at 5.6 and smaller. Decent alternative to the heavy Nikon.

 
Sigma 24-60mm f2.8 EX DG Lens

24-60mm
Review Date: Jun 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice balance on D70, size & weight great for long times w/camera in hand.
Cons:
None yet

Slightly warm and contrasty when you shoot frames with a lot of greens and reds, but easily adjusted with software. Sharp from f4 and up. At 2.8 very acceptable for prints up to 10 x 15.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Jul 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp & superb contrast. Color is right on.
Cons:
Slow AF, but this isn't what you buy it for.

Super sharp 50mm lens.Excellent carry lens if you don't need fast AF. Along w/the 1:1 teleconverter this makes for a very compact, easy to carry macro set up.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Jul 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent contrast, color. Tack sharp.
Cons:
None

I purchased this lens for a specific shoot (waterfront at night) and it performed extraordinary. Since this is not my usual gig, I was thinking about selling it once the shoot was over, but I changed my mind. I used this lens twice now on some nature, landscape walks and sets and I was extremely satisfied with its' performance. This lens I will keep.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: May 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compact, fast, sharp. Not an "L" but neither is the pricel
Cons:
None for what you pay for it.

My first 24mm/2.8 was absconded by a nephew who took it to the middle east - I know I won't get back. My second one I just sold. Didn't want to but in next 2 years I have trips planned that I have to travel as light as possible and conserve room. So I sold most of my primes except the 28mm/2.8, I have plans for that one, and going with a couple of F/4 L zooms and a macro. - RW