about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kotsa  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jul 19, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good range, Image stabiliser
Cons:
none so far

A grey walk around lens at a very decent price. IS comes in very handy and the image quality is well above average at all focal lengths. Had the 24-70 2.8L (v1) and was happy, however too heavy. Well pleased for the change to this lens.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Jul 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 77mm filter, 9 blade aperture, IS
Cons:
none so far

Great results at all focal lengths. Shooting f4 and getting sharp corners is a luxury for a super wide zoom in Canon and requires some getting used to. A very comparable lens to the 17mm TSE. The 16-35mmf4L IS has slightly better coatings than the TSE.
Excellent quality and build. Some might find it a little bit pricey, but I think it is in a completely different league than the 17-40, so cannot compare the two. Like I said, its closer to the 17 TSE in image quality.


 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Jul 6, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, image quality, look
Cons:
$pricey

From 2.8 this baby shines...outsanding resolution to the edges and great for landscapes..deliver a particular look which is beautifully suited to landscapes.
5 Stars.


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Jul 5, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great look, micro contrast
Cons:
Pricey

This lens has a unique look. It seems to "pop" more than the other ZE lenses in my arsenal. Extremely Sharp in the center at f2 and stopped down to 5.6+ the edges are excellent.
A tad CA but nothing that any RAW software can't fix.
Overall a lovely piece of glass


 
Tamron 14MM F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) SP AF

14mm
Review Date: Oct 24, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, cheap price as compared to Canon
Cons:
A tad flare prone

I had the Canon 14mm L II for around 2 years and was generally happy with the results. I couldnt justify $2k for the amount of times I used it.

I sold it a while ago.
I recently purchased the Tamron as it was under $500 and I read some reviews.
The lens is tack sharp in the centre at 2.8 and only gets better stopped down.

The edges are almost as good as the Canon, but the Canon has the slight edge.
CA is easily controllable in post , so that is a non issue.
I am very impressed with this lens that manages to produce sharp contrasty images for a quarter of the price of the Canon.

At certain angles to the Sun, it promotes some flare, but nothing major

Definitely a keeper.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact and lightweight. Good zoom range
Cons:
if they could make an f4 this light, that would be great...

This is my second copy of this lens.
i purchased this several years ago and used it for landscapes. I then sold it and acquired the 16-35 II. After a few years in the field, I looked back on my old photos with the 17-40 and thus proceeded to sell the 16-35 and re purchase this lens.

Its sharp, controls flare beautifully and the contrast and colour are "L" quality.

Bargain "L" series lens.


 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: May 31, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, sharp, great colour
Cons:
Price

Amazing glass in a nice package. I use this mainly from f2 to f4 and the image and contrast absolutely shine.
I have been using the Canon 35L for many years and was happy, but I wanted something that can give me better color and microcontrast for that "realism"...Zeiss fits that package to a T, or should I say T*.
Great lens and design..if it was Autofocus, it would probably be double its price. Nonetheless, a great lens for general photography.


 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Apr 22, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, razor sharp, IS
Cons:
A tad expensive, you pay for technology I suppose

An amazing performer. I am a professional and use this without hesitation, it is so sharp and has that "look" that I so like in a semi wide prime.
Great for portraits and general streetscape.

The only thing missing on this lens is a red ring around it, it is an absolute gem and a solid performer under any lighting conditions. 5 Stars *****


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Dec 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1.2, bright viewfinder and fast focus, excellent build.
Cons:
$$

You get what you pay for, this is a specialised lens for low light situations.
I use it mainly between f1.2 to f2, outstanding bokeh and colours.
Pricey lens but well worth it.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

5DIIIs
Review Date: Apr 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1 Series performance at a highly reduced price.
Cons:
None yet.

I have had this camera for about a week and put just over 6000 images through it.
Incredible machine.

I have used it to track Ferrari's Porsches and a few Lamborghini's at a track day yesterday and it did not miss a beat.
In fact the hit miss ratio exceeded my 1DmkIIn..easily.

I have had 1 Series cameras generally and my last full frame was two 5DmkII's. Being a professional photographer i like to put the camera through its paces.

The one thing that has got me very impressed with this unit is the incredible focusing system. I have three words... WELL DONE CANON.
Its about time they incorporated such a system in a non 1 series body..much appreciated.

The noise and image quality is superb.
Overall I rate this as 10 stars all the way.

If I have to be critical in my observations, the frame rate of shooting (6 fps) is perfect, but it does fall off to around 4.5 fps if the battery power falls below 30%.
Installing a freshly charged battery brings the fps back up to 6.
Maybe I need to get a battery grip and load it with two batteries, see if that makes a difference.
Apart form that, the camera is the BETS VALUE for money.


 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Feb 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It performs its task to a T. Very impressive image quality..even at the edges.
Cons:
$$$...lol

The feel and build quality is AMAZING. It makes me want to sell my 5 year old gear and buy ALL the NEW stuff Canon is releasing..beautifully constructed lens.
Optically I have nothing but HIGH Praise. The Best on the market by far. 5 stars all the way with this lens.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: image quality, excellent HD video
Cons:
focus speed is wanting a bit..

As far as image quality goes, this is the bees knees. Also Hd video is superb. I have used the body for all sorts of photography (including motor-sports) where I find the focus doesn't keep up all the time.

I have a 75% keeper rate with this body using excellent long lens technique, as compared to 95% keeper rate with the 1DmkIIn with a higher frame rate.

Overall a great camera for what it is capable of.


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, great quality, blazingly fast foucs
Cons:
none yet

First impressions of this body are:
Great features and build quality. It is my 10th Digital camera in 6 years.
I started with a D60, then 20D,30D,1D, 1DmkII, 40D,50D,1DmkIIn, 5DmkII and now a 7D.

I must say that the 7D had taken me by surprise, especially the focus..it is on par with my 1DmkIIn and that is a very good camera indeed.

Also the image quality up to ISO 3200 is fantastic, 6400 is more than usable especially if slightly overexposed.

WELL DONE CANON, this is the "3D" I have been waiting for...


 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, great file, lightweight, live view
Cons:
none really

I have had the 20D, 30D, 40D and now the 50D. I must say this camera 'feels' very good in my hands.
It performs very close to the 40D, however in real life examples I have found the high iso to be very very clean indeed.
I also have a 1DmkIIn and as far as focus is concerned, the 50D is no slouch at all.
I am impressed.
File size is also pleasant and very testing on lenses. Make sure top glass is used with this body.


 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Nov 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,449.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, looks and feels superb, sharp from 2.8 up.
Cons:
Cost..ouch

I guess you get what you pay for.
This is one of those lenses. I have not had any experience with the first version of this lens, but I can confidently say that this particular version is a wonderful piece of glass to shoot with.
Firstly focussing is something you need to get right when using such a wide lens.
It is crisp from 2.8 up. Edges are surprisingly very sharp, (I say this because I have heard that Canon cannot make a good wide angle lens, well thats not true with this lens).

I have used the Nikon 14-24 on a D3 and although I found the lens to be very sharp, possibly a tad sharper than the Canon, I also found it boring. Nothing intended against Nikon, i just think that the 14-24 lacks character. Thats where the 14mm 2.8L II stands its ground. It reminds me of my old Zeiss 16mm Hologon. It has a similar feel to the images it produces. Distortions are almost non existent on this lens.
I was expecting big rounded horizons and walls that look like they are bulging, but NO.
In fact almost perfect straight lines edge to edge. WOW, this lens is better in sharpness and distortion than the 16-35 2.8L II.
If sharpness alone is your thing, get a 14-24 Nikon, it is amazing and a freak lens.
If you want a sexy looking lens that produces images that say WOW statements, then the 14mm2.8LII is definitely the go.
Extremely happy with this purchase.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, Sharp even at 2.8, lightweight
Cons:
no collar included

One of the best value macros around.
Certainly sharp as an "L", and focus speed is considerably faster than the 180mm.
I have had the Sigma 150 mm 2.8 and the Canon 50 mm 2.5, and I find that this lens is faster in focussing than both, and better images quality as well.


 

Page:  1 · 2  next