about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: probably the best mid range zoom out there
Cons:
bit heavy, but then again theres a lot of glass in there..

Have had the Tamron 28-70f2.8XrDi for a while now, and I decided to go for Canons version just to compare results.
Tamron comes very close from f4 upwards, Canon wins hands down at ALL aperatures and zoom settings. Focussing speed on Canon is outstanding, the Tamrons weakness was mainly its focussing, hunting.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, light, fast focussing...well my copy is.
Cons:
no hood....as standard

Sold my 135 F2L to get this lens...no regrets so far. LOVE LOVE LOVE the sharpness of this piece of glass.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Light, sharp as sharp can be, beautiful bokeh, very nice colour rendition, IS
Cons:
apart from the slight noise from the IS, this lens is perfect in every way.

I just sold both my Canon300f2.8L and my Sigma120-300f2.8,
Normally I would miss the extra stop, howeverwith the great high iso performance of modern day DLSR's not an issue. The lens is just as sharp as its big brother, almost half its size and weight....which makes this lens very usuable and handholdable. I cannot fault this lens it is absolutely superb. Birds, sports, fashion...the list goes on.


 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quality / strength
Cons:
none

Optically i find it very very similar to the first version, I sold that one and bought this. Cannot fault this converter. I use it on my 135f2L...spectacular results..and also on my 300f2.8L. I have even satcked it with my 2x and shot the moon wide open..results blew me away. Some CA with both converters stacked, but apart from that excellent sharpness...using a 1DmkII.

 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: get big leg's without spending big bucks.
Cons:
2 stops

Its cheaper to use this and a 300f2.8 to get a 600f5.6, than outright purchasing the 600f4.
Its loss in image sharpness cna be fixed slightly in post production. If used in good light, its hard to tell the quality loss. I dont recomend using this with any zoom whatsoever. t works very well with my 300f2.8 and my 135f2L.


 
Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

24135mm_1_
Review Date: Mar 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp, nice and cheap
Cons:
loud focussing

Good value for money....not "L" but sharp enough for the price

 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Mar 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, goes on and on wthout fail, image quality is SUPERB, ver good detail for 4Mp
Cons:
tad heavy

I already have a 1D mkII and I use the 1D as a backup....I find the image quality staright out of the camera is very very sharp with an enourmous amount of detail. Slightly noisy over 1000ASA but if you slightly overexpose by 1/3 stop no issues. Top Camera...will last for years and years. I had a 20D and sold it for the 1D, definately do not regret it at all.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: small, lightweight, cost effective lens
Cons:
soft at f2...comes good between 2.8 and 4...after that it rocks.



 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, its light, and compact, not too expensive.
Cons:
No USM., no hood supplied...its an optional extra.

I bought this lens 5 years ago and sold it after a few weeks to go for a zoom...28-70 2.8L.
I just re- purchased it and am keeping this.
Its superb. For the money I paid, the results are outstanding.
At 2.8 this thing is sharp....and I love the out of focus rendering. Nice piece of glass for not so hefty a price.
well done Canon...I couldnt afford the 24 f 1.4, but this will do just nicely.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb bokeh, Very sharp @ f2, Superfast autofocus,even in low light. Big plus that you can attach extenders to this lens.
Cons:
slight flare when pointed towards the sun without the hood...easily fixed...use the hood.

I have had this lens before....5 years ago....kept it for a week used it and sold it to get the 70-200f2.8L IS.
I regretted selling this lens...it was superb, and i havent been able to get this quality from my other lenses.
I purchased a "Grey" version of B&H and it is every bit as good as the one I had 5 years ago. In fact I paid half the price for this one..and I am very pleased indeed....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Nov 2, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: optically brillliant...light as a feather for its range.
Cons:
Collar could be supplied with the lens.

I have owned and sold the 70 -200 f 2.8L, and the 2.8L IS, both too heavy.
Image quality on this lens is equal if not better in some areas. The IS was not as good as this lens in image quality. Feature wise it was better, but monopod/tripod was a must with that lens. I walk around ALL day with this and no stress. Its a good size as well..small and compact. Highly recomended lens.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, compact, sharp, good contrast control.
Cons:
F4....would have loved a 2.8 in this quality.

Ive had the 17-35f2.8L and the 16-35f2.8L....at the wide end of things, this lens is leader by head and shoulders. Even stopped down the other two were close or the same but never better than this lens. I also found the glare much better controlloed on this lens. Excellent value for money.

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Oct 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, compact, sharp, good contrast control.
Cons:
F4....would have loved a 2.8 in this quality.

Ive had the 17-35f2.8L and the 16-35f2.8L....at the wide end of things, this lens is leader by head and shoulders. Even stopped down the other two were close or the same but never better than this lens. I also found the glare much better controlloed on this lens. Excellent value for money.

 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Oct 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, light, small, quality optics.
Cons:
construction could be better

Ive only had this lens for a week now...but Ive already shot over 1000 images in varying light conditions. What can I say, I traded my Canon 28-80 F2.8-4L in for this lens and I am overjoyed that I did.
Nothing against canon, the lens was sharp and great contrast...and very well built....but TOO HEAVY. This lens is just as sharp and Sharper in some areas and its constant 2.8 gives me more flexibility. I have also owned a 28-70 f2.8L for some time and this lens is "almost" its equal in optical resolution. Highly recomended....for the money spent. The way i figure it, if it lasts me 2 years as aworking pro, and then i replace it, Im still ahead....because in 2 years I replace it with a new (potentially) better version and not much money has been spent or lost.


 
Canon EOS D60

D60
Review Date: Oct 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good image quality at 100 and 200 asa. Value for money..ie price paid
Cons:
Slow focus in low light.

Top little unit....I use it as a spare backup for my 1DmkII...or when travelling and not wishing to take too much heavy gear with me.
Great alrounder.....


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Sep 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It does everything except make toast. Very well built Strong ..super quick and well balanced.
Cons:
Big and slightly heavy...for an everyday travel body....apart from that..PERFECT.

Every camera for its specific use...this one is one of the best if not the BEST I have ever tried in the field.....weddings/portraits/journalism...excellent...thumbs up!

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next