about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Jul 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution, weight of body, battery life, HD video, Hi ISO
Cons:
Could have more focus points.

Great Camera, excellent successor to the original.
More than i expected. The Focus speed is great, even for sporting events, files are amazingly detailed and Hi iso results are superb.
Also HD recording comes in very handy.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef400mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality even with converters
Cons:
relatively heavy and very costly...however you get what you pay for.

This is about as good as it gets.
The images from this lens are amazingly sharp, detailed and presented with beautiful bokeh.
A monopod is a must with this lens.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light and sharp, inconspicuous.
Cons:
none

a wonderful portrait lens, not as good as an 85L, but good for the price

 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Dec 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,645.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great files, very good image up to 6400, amazing battery life, wonderful live view.
Cons:
costly for a 40D replacement.

I have had the D60, 20D, 30D, 40D and now the 50D.
I must say that the 50D is a wonderful camera for up and coming professionals and enthusiasts. It handles low light extremely well, bot focus and image quality.
I read and heard quite a bit of negative things about this model, so being the gear junkie that I am, I had to try it for myself.
After several weeks of extensive testing in almost every condition possible, I have come to the conclusion that the negative reports are just that, "reports".
The 50D responds extremely well to high iso and the images it produces are very detailed and sharp.
I must say that all of my lenses are "L" primes and a few "L" zooms.
I tried an older non USM, non "L" zoom (100-200 f4.5A Canon) and found that the large 15Mp file showed up all of this lenses flaws. Then I attach the 70-200 f4LIS and WOW, the magic is back.
Recommendation, do not use cheap glass on this body and expect good results.

The battery life has also amazed me, I have been using live view extensively and the battery just doesn't want to die.
The rear screen is also a welcome improvement, both color and sharpness, as I found the 40D to be lacking considerably in this area.

I must say that I am happier with the Jpg's this camera produces rather than its raw files. In fact the jpgs are so clean that I have stopped shooting Raw altogether with this beauty.
I am using Adobe PS to convert, I have however heard that DPP handles the files better in RAw from this camera..yet to test that myself.
HIGHLY recommend the upgrade from previous models...if $$$ allow.








 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Nov 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, light, Sharp, Great Color, Good control of flare
Cons:
It cost me an arm and half a leg

Lovely optics, much better than its predecessor.
The overall color rendition and contrast are beautiful to say the least.
At 2.8 its very very good, by 5.6 it is Amazing. Up to f16 the lens performs brilliantly. F22 visual signs of image degradation as far as softening is concerned is apparent...not usually an aperture I shoot anyway. This lens cost a bit, but I believe it is the best wide angle Canon make.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Aug 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as, lightweight, IS
Cons:
$$

you get what you pay for here.
Excellent lens, a must have lens if quality is your driving force.
shaper and light than its 2.8 big brother.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: IS, 2.8
Cons:
Heavy , costly

I think the idea is good, however the resolving power is not as good as the original.
I am a little disappointed with the weight of this lens. As an all day carry lens it gets very tiresome.
Ever so slightly soft at 2.8, but overall 7 out of 10.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,460.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: WOW, this lens is sharp and quick to focus
Cons:
could do with IS.

Apart from an IS update on this lens, all I have to say about it is 10 out of 10.
Beautiful background rendition for a 5.6 minimum aperture. I am well impressed.
I keep this lens on my 1DmkIIN all day with or without the 1.4xII and it sings like a bird. The simple things in life are often the best and this lens proves that a simple design can go a long long way indeed.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness at 2.8, control of CA, good distortion control at 16mm
Cons:
quality comes at a cost $$$

I have had the 17-35 2.8L, 17-40 4L, 16-35 2.8L and now the 16-35 2.8L II.
My favorite two lenses have been the 17-40L and this latest release. I find the build quality to be second to none. It is weather sealed and weighs the same as the original version.
Its control of lens flare and CA are absolutely excellent. I am very pleased. The lens is very sharp at 2.8 , even up to the corners and between 5.6-11 it rocks. Its resolving power looks to be better than the 17-40 and its smaller brother 16-35L.
Well done Canon.
pk


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Nov 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: 1.2 , bokeh
Cons:
heavy

a bit of flare and low contrast , but apart from that a good lens.
Very slow focus, frustrating


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: cheap,light,compact
Cons:
bokeh a bit average, softish wide open

nice for its price, but really a toy

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Oct 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,830.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: faster focussing than my 30D, high ISO performance, 10mP
Cons:
plastic battery cover

I have had the D60, 10D, 20D, 30D and now the 40D.
It is a very pleasing camera, even compared to the 30D. Its focus is absolutely spot on.
I use a 1DmkIIn as well, and its focussing speed is not that far off.
Used the 40D with my 300 2.8L IS, tracking cars at 60-75km/hr, didnt miss not one shot.
I am very pleased.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Sep 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely amazing contrast and colour control. The sharpness of this beauty is also superb.
Cons:
Non USM motor, non 1:1, barrel extends.

They say that you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a lot more than you bargined for....its worth every cent.
Sharp, compact, CHEAP, only in price.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: May 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An absolute joy to use, Excellent contrast, Outstanding sharpness at 1.2, best bokeh in the buisiness, balance when paired with 1 series cameras.
Cons:
Some CA , nothing that cant be fixed.

I think this lens is worth every cent.
It is in a class of its own. I rate it equal with my 135L, another legend of a lens.
Different beasts, but both produce dreamy outstanding results.
Definately a KEEPER of a lens. Well worth investing in.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: 2.8, "L", nice range
Cons:
price, CA

A bit more CA than the 17-40, however my copy seems to be much sharper, and the 17-40 is a damn fine lens indeed, so that says a lot

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, balance, colour, focus speed.
Cons:
Price.

Well, not much needs to be said about this lens,
It takes a bit of getting used to using the shallow depth of field, however the resolving power of this lens is superb.
No complaints here, whatsoever.
form 1.4 to 1.8 very very good, from 2 to 2.8 excellent it suprised me, and from 2.8 and up...WOW, real POP, just like the zeiss glass I had years ago.
LOVE this lens both on a 1.6 and 1.3 crop. havent had a chance to try it on full frame yet...thats next.
pk


 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next