about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L II USM

EF14
Review Date: Nov 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light, Sharp, Great Color, Good control of flare
Cons:
It cost me an arm and half a leg

Lovely optics, much better than its predecessor.
The overall color rendition and contrast are beautiful to say the least.
At 2.8 its very very good, by 5.6 it is Amazing. Up to f16 the lens performs brilliantly. F22 visual signs of image degradation as far as softening is concerned is apparent...not usually an aperture I shoot anyway. This lens cost a bit, but I believe it is the best wide angle Canon make.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Aug 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as, lightweight, IS
Cons:
$$

you get what you pay for here.
Excellent lens, a must have lens if quality is your driving force.
shaper and light than its 2.8 big brother.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: IS, 2.8
Cons:
Heavy , costly

I think the idea is good, however the resolving power is not as good as the original.
I am a little disappointed with the weight of this lens. As an all day carry lens it gets very tiresome.
Ever so slightly soft at 2.8, but overall 7 out of 10.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,460.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: WOW, this lens is sharp and quick to focus
Cons:
could do with IS.

Apart from an IS update on this lens, all I have to say about it is 10 out of 10.
Beautiful background rendition for a 5.6 minimum aperture. I am well impressed.
I keep this lens on my 1DmkIIN all day with or without the 1.4xII and it sings like a bird. The simple things in life are often the best and this lens proves that a simple design can go a long long way indeed.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness at 2.8, control of CA, good distortion control at 16mm
Cons:
quality comes at a cost $$$

I have had the 17-35 2.8L, 17-40 4L, 16-35 2.8L and now the 16-35 2.8L II.
My favorite two lenses have been the 17-40L and this latest release. I find the build quality to be second to none. It is weather sealed and weighs the same as the original version.
Its control of lens flare and CA are absolutely excellent. I am very pleased. The lens is very sharp at 2.8 , even up to the corners and between 5.6-11 it rocks. Its resolving power looks to be better than the 17-40 and its smaller brother 16-35L.
Well done Canon.
pk


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Nov 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: 1.2 , bokeh
Cons:
heavy

a bit of flare and low contrast , but apart from that a good lens.
Very slow focus, frustrating


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: cheap,light,compact
Cons:
bokeh a bit average, softish wide open

nice for its price, but really a toy

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Oct 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,830.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: faster focussing than my 30D, high ISO performance, 10mP
Cons:
plastic battery cover

I have had the D60, 10D, 20D, 30D and now the 40D.
It is a very pleasing camera, even compared to the 30D. Its focus is absolutely spot on.
I use a 1DmkIIn as well, and its focussing speed is not that far off.
Used the 40D with my 300 2.8L IS, tracking cars at 60-75km/hr, didnt miss not one shot.
I am very pleased.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Sep 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely amazing contrast and colour control. The sharpness of this beauty is also superb.
Cons:
Non USM motor, non 1:1, barrel extends.

They say that you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a lot more than you bargined for....its worth every cent.
Sharp, compact, CHEAP, only in price.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: May 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An absolute joy to use, Excellent contrast, Outstanding sharpness at 1.2, best bokeh in the buisiness, balance when paired with 1 series cameras.
Cons:
Some CA , nothing that cant be fixed.

I think this lens is worth every cent.
It is in a class of its own. I rate it equal with my 135L, another legend of a lens.
Different beasts, but both produce dreamy outstanding results.
Definately a KEEPER of a lens. Well worth investing in.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8, "L", nice range
Cons:
price, CA

A bit more CA than the 17-40, however my copy seems to be much sharper, and the 17-40 is a damn fine lens indeed, so that says a lot

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, balance, colour, focus speed.
Cons:
Price.

Well, not much needs to be said about this lens,
It takes a bit of getting used to using the shallow depth of field, however the resolving power of this lens is superb.
No complaints here, whatsoever.
form 1.4 to 1.8 very very good, from 2 to 2.8 excellent it suprised me, and from 2.8 and up...WOW, real POP, just like the zeiss glass I had years ago.
LOVE this lens both on a 1.6 and 1.25 crop. havent had a chance to try it on full frame yet...thats next.
pk


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARPNESS, Speed, IS, Quality construction
Cons:
none

The image quality from this lens is absolutely astonishing.
Even with the 1.4x converter, it is excellent.
Probably the best lens I have ever used...LOVE IT


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Dec 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Screen, Better buffer than original, better focussing capability.
Cons:
Still Heavy...LOL

Have had the 1D, 1DmkII, and now the mkIIN...not much of a change from the original mkII, but then again...how do you perfect something thats already perfect.
Top unit, extremely well designed. Cannot Fault this camera...I have been shooting with the original MkII from the first day it came out, and this camera is evry bit as good, and a bit.


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Nov 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $559.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Range ( 150mm) quality build, SHARP SHARP SHARP
Cons:
Canon should have thought about this one.

I have had the Canon 100mm macro for several months now and I just updated to this lens, it is superb. Personally I found the Canon to be lacking in working distance, it did not suit my style of macrophotography.
Is this lens sharp???...it ROCKS.
well done Sigma, its as good as your 120-300f2.8.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Canons FLAGSHIP lens,...what more can I say
Cons:
none

I have owned the 2.8 version several years ago, sold it and got the 2.8 IS, sold it (too heavy), got the F4L, sold it and came back to the original 2.8 again...seems to be the sharpest of the lot, and works best with the 1.4xII and 2xII converters.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next