about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness at 2.8, control of CA, good distortion control at 16mm
Cons:
quality comes at a cost $$$

I have had the 17-35 2.8L, 17-40 4L, 16-35 2.8L and now the 16-35 2.8L II.
My favorite two lenses have been the 17-40L and this latest release. I find the build quality to be second to none. It is weather sealed and weighs the same as the original version.
Its control of lens flare and CA are absolutely excellent. I am very pleased. The lens is very sharp at 2.8 , even up to the corners and between 5.6-11 it rocks. Its resolving power looks to be better than the 17-40 and its smaller brother 16-35L.
Well done Canon.
pk


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Nov 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: 1.2 , bokeh
Cons:
heavy

a bit of flare and low contrast , but apart from that a good lens.
Very slow focus, frustrating


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Oct 10, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: cheap,light,compact
Cons:
bokeh a bit average, softish wide open

nice for its price, but really a toy

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Oct 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,830.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: faster focussing than my 30D, high ISO performance, 10mP
Cons:
plastic battery cover

I have had the D60, 10D, 20D, 30D and now the 40D.
It is a very pleasing camera, even compared to the 30D. Its focus is absolutely spot on.
I use a 1DmkIIn as well, and its focussing speed is not that far off.
Used the 40D with my 300 2.8L IS, tracking cars at 60-75km/hr, didnt miss not one shot.
I am very pleased.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Sep 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely amazing contrast and colour control. The sharpness of this beauty is also superb.
Cons:
Non USM motor, non 1:1, barrel extends.

They say that you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a lot more than you bargined for....its worth every cent.
Sharp, compact, CHEAP, only in price.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: May 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An absolute joy to use, Excellent contrast, Outstanding sharpness at 1.2, best bokeh in the buisiness, balance when paired with 1 series cameras.
Cons:
Some CA , nothing that cant be fixed.

I think this lens is worth every cent.
It is in a class of its own. I rate it equal with my 135L, another legend of a lens.
Different beasts, but both produce dreamy outstanding results.
Definately a KEEPER of a lens. Well worth investing in.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 2.8, "L", nice range
Cons:
price, CA

A bit more CA than the 17-40, however my copy seems to be much sharper, and the 17-40 is a damn fine lens indeed, so that says a lot

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build, balance, colour, focus speed.
Cons:
Price.

Well, not much needs to be said about this lens,
It takes a bit of getting used to using the shallow depth of field, however the resolving power of this lens is superb.
No complaints here, whatsoever.
form 1.4 to 1.8 very very good, from 2 to 2.8 excellent it suprised me, and from 2.8 and up...WOW, real POP, just like the zeiss glass I had years ago.
LOVE this lens both on a 1.6 and 1.25 crop. havent had a chance to try it on full frame yet...thats next.
pk


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARPNESS, Speed, IS, Quality construction
Cons:
none

The image quality from this lens is absolutely astonishing.
Even with the 1.4x converter, it is excellent.
Probably the best lens I have ever used...LOVE IT


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Dec 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Screen, Better buffer than original, better focussing capability.
Cons:
Still Heavy...LOL

Have had the 1D, 1DmkII, and now the mkIIN...not much of a change from the original mkII, but then again...how do you perfect something thats already perfect.
Top unit, extremely well designed. Cannot Fault this camera...I have been shooting with the original MkII from the first day it came out, and this camera is evry bit as good, and a bit.


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Nov 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $559.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Range ( 150mm) quality build, SHARP SHARP SHARP
Cons:
Canon should have thought about this one.

I have had the Canon 100mm macro for several months now and I just updated to this lens, it is superb. Personally I found the Canon to be lacking in working distance, it did not suit my style of macrophotography.
Is this lens sharp???...it ROCKS.
well done Sigma, its as good as your 120-300f2.8.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Canons FLAGSHIP lens,...what more can I say
Cons:
none

I have owned the 2.8 version several years ago, sold it and got the 2.8 IS, sold it (too heavy), got the F4L, sold it and came back to the original 2.8 again...seems to be the sharpest of the lot, and works best with the 1.4xII and 2xII converters.

 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: probably the best mid range zoom out there
Cons:
bit heavy, but then again theres a lot of glass in there..

Have had the Tamron 28-70f2.8XrDi for a while now, and I decided to go for Canons version just to compare results.
Tamron comes very close from f4 upwards, Canon wins hands down at ALL aperatures and zoom settings. Focussing speed on Canon is outstanding, the Tamrons weakness was mainly its focussing, hunting.


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, light, fast focussing...well my copy is.
Cons:
no hood....as standard

Sold my 135 F2L to get this lens...no regrets so far. LOVE LOVE LOVE the sharpness of this piece of glass.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Light, sharp as sharp can be, beautiful bokeh, very nice colour rendition, IS
Cons:
apart from the slight noise from the IS, this lens is perfect in every way.

I just sold both my Canon300f2.8L and my Sigma120-300f2.8,
Normally I would miss the extra stop, howeverwith the great high iso performance of modern day DLSR's not an issue. The lens is just as sharp as its big brother, almost half its size and weight....which makes this lens very usuable and handholdable. I cannot fault this lens it is absolutely superb. Birds, sports, fashion...the list goes on.


 
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quality / strength
Cons:
none

Optically i find it very very similar to the first version, I sold that one and bought this. Cannot fault this converter. I use it on my 135f2L...spectacular results..and also on my 300f2.8L. I have even satcked it with my 2x and shot the moon wide open..results blew me away. Some CA with both converters stacked, but apart from that excellent sharpness...using a 1DmkII.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next