about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM

100-400
Review Date: May 11, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, balance, IS
Cons:
$$

After owning the version I, this is a pleasant surprise. I prefer this layout for the zoom, rather than push pull. The image quality of version I was very good, this takes it up a few notches to EXCELLENT. I also love the extra mode on IS, very ingenious. I have replaced a few lenses with this one beauty. Brilliant!!!

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: May 11, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great IS
Cons:
$$

Super sharp and the IS works a treat...what a great lens.
If you want the best, this is it ...by far

The image quality is of Prime lens standard at ALL focal lengths..what a piece of engineering


 
Canon EOS 6D

canon6D
Review Date: Apr 26, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality, noise, weight, price
Cons:
none

I have had the 5DmkIII for 2 years now and purchased this body as a second...it has so surprised me that I am amazed that Canon has offered the same if not better image quality (especially at High ISO) in a camera that is half the price. 5 Stars for this camera. The Wifi is also a welcome addition and the centre focus point is more accurate under any lighting conditions, than ALL the focus points on the 5DkIII
Very nice indeed


 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Apr 26, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super resolve, build
Cons:
none

I purchased the Sigma and the dock as well. The Sigma is so accurate in focus as well as producing a razor sharp image from 1.4.

The sharpness even off axis is incredible. I absolutely love the bokeh and there is minimal (if any) aberrations on this lens

I cannot fault this lens, the contrast and colour is also superb. I think it is a bargain worthy of "L" status in anyones book


 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: solid build, super sharp, excellent colour and micro contrast
Cons:
Slightly expensive, bad front lens caps (as with ALL ZE range)

Best 21mm Landscape I have tested to date. Really great look for Landscape photography. Easy to use and handle, and super sharp @ 2.8 especially the corners of the frame. Beautiful lens. A little bit of moustache distortion, but it generally does not affect my type of shooting.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, colour, Build quality
Cons:
would have been nice to be 1:1, but happy regardless

Brilliant and very sharp macro lens. I purchased this as a standard 50mm and thought the macro capability is just a bonus. After having the 50mm ZE 1.4 lens, this f2 Macro is in a completely different league. Much better resolution even wide open and much better bokeh on the macro.
Very happy with this purchase.


 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid Build, Razor sharp, great colour
Cons:
None yet

I have quite a few ZE lenses now in my collection and the 35mm is right up there with the best of them. It is tack sharp wide open and only gets better as you stop down. The colours are beautiful as are all ZE lenses. Easy to focus and compose, great photojournalistic range.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Jul 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional Image quality, IS, flare control
Cons:
$$ A tad Pricey

Having owned the 20-35L, 17-35L, 17-40L, 16-35L I & II and 17TSE, I have a considerable amount of experience with Canon wides.

Of all the above mentioned lenses, the 16-35 f4L IS closely resembles the 17mm TSE in image quality. It is razor sharp from f4, even the extreme corners are excellent wide open.

I must say i was hesitant in purchasing "another" Canon wide zoom, not expecting too much, but it has outweighed my 16-35 2.8LII, that I had to sell it.

CA control is excellent and I never knew IS would be so beneficial on a wide angle...its so handy in so many ways.

10/10 for this lens...


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Jun 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing LOOK, super sharp, great colour
Cons:
$$, Manual focus

This is my 4th Zeiss ZE lens. I own the 50 Makro, 50 1.4, 35 f2 and 28 f2. Out of all the above lenses, the 28 is in a different league. Technically speaking its not a perfect lens, but thats not why people are buying this lens. The LOOK that the 28 gives is unique, to say the least. Firstly it is razor sharp at f2 and the drawing quality and micro-contrast is amazing. The subject matter not only pops out of the image, but has a beautifully renditioned 3D feel as well. The colour is superb and the distortion is exceptional for a wide angle lens.

Its corners are not as sharp wide open as the 35 f2, but then again, this lens produces a completely unique look and perspective, which I feel has not been replicated in any other Zeiss lens in the ZE range.

Top glass and a keeper.


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Mar 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent range, IS, sharp
Cons:
A tad weighty

Great zoom with superb sharpness and colour.
It is a little heavy, but I suppose there is quite a bit of glass in this thing.
Very nice lens but slow to track a fast moving subject


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Mar 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, indiscrete, super sharp, cheap costing
Cons:
IS would have been beautiful on this baby..no other negatives

This is a very solid performer. Built to similar specs as the 35mm IS and 28mm IS. It is so sharp and surprisingly compact.
I would have loved Image Stabiliser for this lens, I think that would have been the icing on the cake.
WELL DONE CANON...Top little gem this one.
I mainly shoot everything at f2.8 and the resolve of this lens does not disappoint.


 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Dec 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact, Lightweight, super sharp, IS
Cons:
$$$

What a great little number this is. Excellent resolution, from 2.8 up and great colour too.
The IS is so quite I don't even know its on. It gives me super sharp images all the way down to 1/4 sec handheld..LOVE IT.
Bokeh is also just lovely and smooth for a compact prime and the focus locks on every single time..no misses.
The distortion is extremely well corrected.
My only gripe is that the lens hood is extra $$, but not really a necessity.
Apart from that an absolute GEM...


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Sep 9, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, super sharp from 1.2 up, nice balance and size.
Cons:
A tad costly, you get what you pay for.

I was hesitant in buying this lens because of mixed reviews. I guess the best way to determine if something is good or not is to actually try it for yourself.

The lens suffers from focus shift quite a bit...frustrating

The color is good but the focus is always a tad off..even after microadjustment

Too much CA at open aperture


 
Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

50mm
Review Date: Aug 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

A tad soft at 1.4, gets really good @2 and brilliant @4 onwards

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Aug 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Features, sharpness, build quality, color
Cons:
$$$ pricey, but worth EVERY cent.

Probably the best 24mm prime out there today.
The fact that it has Tilt and Shift (and performs them brilliantly) is a BONUS.

Great architecture/landscape lens.
would not part with it.


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Mar 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid Build, Fast Focus, Excellent Battery Life
Cons:
none yet..

Great camera, I use it for sports..NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next