about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Peter Kirk  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: solid build, super sharp, excellent colour and micro contrast
Cons:
Slightly expensive, bad front lens caps (as with ALL ZE range)

Best 21mm Landscape I have tested to date. Really great look for Landscape photography. Easy to use and handle, and super sharp @ 2.8 especially the corners of the frame. Beautiful lens. A little bit of moustache distortion, but it generally does not affect my type of shooting.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, colour, Build quality
Cons:
would have been nice to be 1:1, but happy regardless

Brilliant and very sharp macro lens. I purchased this as a standard 50mm and thought the macro capability is just a bonus. After having the 50mm ZE 1.4 lens, this f2 Macro is in a completely different league. Much better resolution even wide open and much better bokeh on the macro.
Very happy with this purchase.


 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Jul 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid Build, Razor sharp, great colour
Cons:
None yet

I have quite a few ZE lenses now in my collection and the 35mm is right up there with the best of them. It is tack sharp wide open and only gets better as you stop down. The colours are beautiful as are all ZE lenses. Easy to focus and compose, great photojournalistic range.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Jul 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional Image quality, IS, flare control
Cons:
$$ A tad Pricey

Having owned the 20-35L, 17-35L, 17-40L, 16-35L I & II and 17TSE, I have a considerable amount of experience with Canon wides.

Of all the above mentioned lenses, the 16-35 f4L IS closely resembles the 17mm TSE in image quality. It is razor sharp from f4, even the extreme corners are excellent wide open.

I must say i was hesitant in purchasing "another" Canon wide zoom, not expecting too much, but it has outweighed my 16-35 2.8LII, that I had to sell it.

CA control is excellent and I never knew IS would be so beneficial on a wide angle...its so handy in so many ways.

10/10 for this lens...


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Jun 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing LOOK, super sharp, great colour
Cons:
$$, Manual focus

This is my 4th Zeiss ZE lens. I own the 50 Makro, 50 1.4, 35 f2 and 28 f2. Out of all the above lenses, the 28 is in a different league. Technically speaking its not a perfect lens, but thats not why people are buying this lens. The LOOK that the 28 gives is unique, to say the least. Firstly it is razor sharp at f2 and the drawing quality and micro-contrast is amazing. The subject matter not only pops out of the image, but has a beautifully renditioned 3D feel as well. The colour is superb and the distortion is exceptional for a wide angle lens.

Its corners are not as sharp wide open as the 35 f2, but then again, this lens produces a completely unique look and perspective, which I feel has not been replicated in any other Zeiss lens in the ZE range.

Top glass and a keeper.


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Mar 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent range, IS, sharp
Cons:
A tad weighty

Great zoom with superb sharpness and colour.
It is a little heavy, but I suppose there is quite a bit of glass in this thing.
Very nice lens


 
Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

pancake-1
Review Date: Mar 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, indiscrete, super sharp, cheap costing
Cons:
IS would have been beautiful on this baby..no other negatives

This is a very solid performer. Built to similar specs as the 35mm IS and 28mm IS. It is so sharp and surprisingly compact.
I would have loved Image Stabiliser for this lens, I think that would have been the icing on the cake.
WELL DONE CANON...Top little gem this one.
I mainly shoot everything at f2.8 and the resolve of this lens does not disappoint.


 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8 IS USM

843011
Review Date: Dec 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact, Lightweight, super sharp, IS
Cons:
$$$

What a great little number this is. Excellent resolution, from 2.8 up and great colour too.
The IS is so quite I don't even know its on. It gives me super sharp images all the way down to 1/4 sec handheld..LOVE IT.
Bokeh is also just lovely and smooth for a compact prime and the focus locks on every single time..no misses.
The distortion is extremely well corrected.
My only gripe is that the lens hood is extra $$, but not really a necessity.
Apart from that an absolute GEM...


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Sep 9, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, super sharp from 1.2 up, nice balance and size.
Cons:
A tad costly, you get what you pay for.

I was hesitant in buying this lens because of mixed reviews. I guess the best way to determine if something is good or not is to actually try it for yourself.

I have absolutely no regrets in this purchase. It is an invaluable lens which performs flawlessly at all apertures.
My copy is about 11 months old and is pin sharp and does not display the "focus shift" phenomenon.

The color is beautiful and the focus is quiet and accurate (similar to the 85LII).

I highly recommend this lens for any serious photographer or artist.
5 STARS all the way.





 
Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

50mm
Review Date: Aug 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:



 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Aug 31, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Features, sharpness, build quality, color
Cons:
$$$ pricey, but worth EVERY cent.

Probably the best 24mm prime out there today.
The fact that it has Tilt and Shift (and performs them brilliantly) is a BONUS.

Great architecture/landscape lens.
would not part with it.


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Mar 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid Build, Fast Focus, Excellent Battery Life
Cons:
none yet..

Great camera, I use it for sports..NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Jul 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Resolution, weight of body, battery life, HD video, Hi ISO
Cons:
Could have more focus points.

Great Camera, excellent successor to the original.
More than i expected. The Focus speed is great, even for sporting events, files are amazingly detailed and Hi iso results are superb.
Also HD recording comes in very handy.


 
Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef400mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality even with converters
Cons:
relatively heavy and very costly...however you get what you pay for.

This is about as good as it gets.
The images from this lens are amazingly sharp, detailed and presented with beautiful bokeh.
A monopod is a must with this lens.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light and sharp, inconspicuous.
Cons:
none

a wonderful portrait lens

 
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Dec 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,645.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great files, very good image up to 6400, amazing battery life, wonderful live view.
Cons:
costly for a 40D replacement.

I have had the D60, 20D, 30D, 40D and now the 50D.
I must say that the 50D is a wonderful camera for up and coming professionals and enthusiasts. It handles low light extremely well, bot focus and image quality.
I read and heard quite a bit of negative things about this model, so being the gear junkie that I am, I had to try it for myself.
After several weeks of extensive testing in almost every condition possible, I have come to the conclusion that the negative reports are just that, "reports".
The 50D responds extremely well to high iso and the images it produces are very detailed and sharp.
I must say that all of my lenses are "L" primes and a few "L" zooms.
I tried an older non USM, non "L" zoom (100-200 f4.5A Canon) and found that the large 15Mp file showed up all of this lenses flaws. Then I attach the 70-200 f4LIS and WOW, the magic is back.
Recommendation, do not use cheap glass on this body and expect good results.

The battery life has also amazed me, I have been using live view extensively and the battery just doesn't want to die.
The rear screen is also a welcome improvement, both color and sharpness, as I found the 40D to be lacking considerably in this area.

I must say that I am happier with the Jpg's this camera produces rather than its raw files. In fact the jpgs are so clean that I have stopped shooting Raw altogether with this beauty.
I am using Adobe PS to convert, I have however heard that DPP handles the files better in RAw from this camera..yet to test that myself.
HIGHLY recommend the upgrade from previous models...if $$$ allow.








 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next