about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Pertinax222  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Pertinax222 to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jan 17, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp
Cons:
heavy

I've used it a couple of months.

Built-quality: very sturdy but a bit heavy compared to nikon equivalent model.

Sharpness: Amazing. At f/4, it's sharper than the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR II.

Vignetting: There is an acceptable amount of vignetting shooting wide.

Color: On par with other lenses of same quality.

Contrast: This lens is very contrasty, which is a cool feature. I think this is an element of lens reviews that is often skipped over, but which is very important.

Chromatic aberration: No negatives to mention.

Flare: I don’t like the sun flare with this lens. But it's a common problem on 70-200mm zooms. Too much orange color cast over the photo is thrown and it always reduces sharpness.

CreativeView
http://creativeview.ch


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jan 17, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Covers a lot of range
Cons:
f/4

I'm in general not a big fan of too wide range zooms as the bring to much distortion and are not as sharp as prime lenses. But I didn't noticed any of these common problem with this one. I didn't used it for a long time but all the photos were tack sharp and the distortion was well controlled. I've stopped using it because I need 2.8 for my documentaries. The difference between 2.8 and 4 is bigger than imagined at first.

http://creativeviewphoto.ch

picture1
picture2


 
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

1925NAS_180
Review Date: Jan 14, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It's lighter and smaller than the 14-24
Cons:
Less sharp than 14-24

When you want to go ultra ultra wide with nikkor, 2 lenses comes to mind. 14mm and 14-24mm. With similar prices, not an easy choice. As always when it comes to lenses, everyone has its pro and cons. As a professional wedding photographer, I use only the 14-24mm zoom for it's flexibility, fast focus and absence of distortion at 24mm.

http://sharingphotographyfineart.wordpress.com
http://creativeview.ch


 
Nikon D7000

D7000
Review Date: Dec 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: professional ergonomics in a cheaper body
Cons:
small buffer

I've used this body for 1 year with 24-70 2.8 and 70-200 2.8. Although it's a dx body, the 24-70 FX lens had a great range for me. The use of 70-200 was more problematic because of the small viewfinder of the D7000 Camera. It's really a great camera to start a professional career. The same ergonomics as the flagship cameras from nikon are all in place (like D800, d4) so you can train your skills with manual settings. The D7000's dynamic range is nice and its autofocus too. I wouldn't recommend it if you're a full time photographe mariage Genève because of it's too small viewfinder. For one sanity, you need a bigger one if you shoot all day long. More pictures on http://www.creativeview.ch from wedding photography. But it's really a nice camera for confirmed amateurs.

 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Dec 21, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Wide aperture, cheap and lightweight
Cons:
Low build quality and too much distortion

This was at first a nice addition to my collection of lenses. But after a couple of month I started to find the picture taken with it not so much interesting because of the distortion. But for low light and casual photography, if you're on a budget, you'll be happy with this one. Not as a photographe de mariage like http://www.creativeview-photo.com.

 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor

nikon3518
Review Date: Dec 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Lightweight, small, cheap and large aperture
Cons:
A bit soft and not strong quality built

This lens is DX and won't work well on FX camera as D800, D700 or D4.
35mm is a very interesting focal which I've found ideal for travel photography or family shots. The main problem I had was at 1.8 and it was a little frustrating because I mainly choose to buy the lens for it's wide aperture. At 1.8 there was a little bit too much softness, especially in the corners for me. It was noticeable. But as a beginner or training at 35mm, this lens is great. For it's price and lightweight. Not for a professional like CreativeView where you need perfection at every shot as any photographe mariage would.


 
Nikon 10.5mm f/2.8G ED DX Fisheye AF

10
Review Date: Dec 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $860.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very light and portative
Cons:
difficult to mount filters on lens

This lens is really cool but not for everyone. It all depends on what kind of photographer you are. It's an effect lens which you rarely use. But because it's lightweight and small you can keep it with you on travel in case an occasion present itself. The quality of the lens is strong and it will last forever in my opinion. The distortion is well balanced for that kind of lens but a special attention is required if you like to shoot elements with lines as http://www.creativeview.ch love to do. If you photograph landscapes, maybe you'll have to add an extracost accessory to mount a filter. It's the only bad point for a Photographe de Mariage.

 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Nov 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,930.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredibly sharp at 14mm and very low distortion (if used carefully)
Cons:
There a lot of glass you need to be careful because no filter can be mount on this lens.

It’s an amazing lens which will you'll use at 14mm (the wide end) when used with full frame (FX) cameras. At 2.8 aperture, it's perfectly sharp even in the corners. If you need 14mm, you need it. But be aware : it's a speciality lens.

Usually, a photographe mariage won't use the range between 15 and 24mm because he already owns the 24-70mm. But here is a nice trick, at 24mm 2.8, this 14-24mm nikkor is perfectly sharp and has no distortion at all. Can you say the same about your 24-70mm at 24mm 2.8 ?? Nope ! bad distortion and less details in the image, specialy in the corners where this lens is sadly poor. Don't hesitate to check pictures at http://www.creativeview.ch and thanks for reading


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

2137NCP_180
Review Date: Jun 20, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: The price of course is one of the best aspects of this lens in conjunction with it's wide aperture.
Cons:
It's an old lens without internal motor to drive the AF so you'll need one top camera from nikon to make it work.

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens has been my favorite Nikkor lens. It is extremely cheap yet it produces excellent quality pictur at a time (actually before I became pro). This lens is very light and so very easy to carry around and stay in your bag even if you don't intend to use it. Many say that the low light capability of this lens is excellent but to be honest I never tried it by night because it was too soft under f/2.8. But the softness of the pictures delivered by this lens at f/1.8 can achieve a special look. The new 50mm G f/1.8 is sharper I found.
It's a tough lens and for the price, the build quality is great.
When used on a cropped sensor DSLR, this lens can become a great portrait lens.
When used on a FX DSLR, this lens is the standard lens (equal to 35mm on a cropped sensor DX) and isn't great anymore for portraiture. This focal length is what I used for several years to train my vision.
If you're on a budget and you're starting your travel in photography, this lens is a no brainer one and you really cannot lose anything by purchasing it. For examples, try this Photographe Mariage where there's plenty of pictures to see http://www.creativeview.ch