about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Perdu  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Perdu to your Buddy List
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Apr 4, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Color, contrast, sharpness stopped down, build quality.
Cons:

This is my walk around lens on my 30D - I bought it before the 17-55 being available. I am always blown away when I see the prints from using this lens. Although a little soft until stopped down the images have a quality about them that makes the image jump out at you. Prior to this I had a Sigma 17-35mm and the 17-40 blows it away. Shooting inside with flash it is equally impressive. Mine is better at the 40mm end. Well worth the money in my opinion.

Also, it's very well built. I dropped mine out of the back of my truck onto the garage floor. The filter broke but the lens survived and works just as well as before the drop. Amazing. You don't need to baby this one.


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: May 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Coming from a 10D this camera is super responsive - all I need. Spot meter very nice and the larger screen is geat to have. Plenty of flexibility in the control you have over the camera. AF is fast and usually spot on. Solidly built. I'm very impressed with this camera.
Cons:
Why can't Canon make a decent view finder? Print button wasted.



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: May 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful portait lens on 1.6 crop. f1.4 low light capability make it a fun lens. Bokeh
Cons:
Manual focusing is tricky becuase of the slack in the focusing ring. DOF can be tricky (user error, not the lens)



 
Lowepro Mini Trekker AW


Review Date: Mar 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $125.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Penty of space. Not heavy. Good protection. Plenty of compartments without being bitsy. Allows me to keep a 300 f4 IS or a 100-400L on my 10D. Rain cover.
Cons:
Tripod holder a pain. Would be better on the side of the bag. Waist straps should be removable - I cut mine off.



 
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Mar 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful image quality. Handling and build quality. Easily read, sharp menus. Well laid out controls. A canon classic.
Cons:
AF struggles with fast moving objects and is not always dead-on. View finder not as good as it could be. Easy to blow out highlights. Slow start up



 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Feb 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, optical quality, price, weather and dust proofing
Cons:
A hood that makes the lens look a monster

I'm giving this lens a 10 despite it's few faults because it's my favorite lens for the past 18 months.

I originally bought a Sigma 17-35 for my Canon 10D. I found it to be soft and after a week the eletronics failed. Purchased another. That was soft and failed in a month or so of use.

I gave in and bought this and was amazed at the quality, color and contrast. It's great on a x1.6 sensor and the image quality blew the sigmas away.

What's not to like:

It's a bit soft at both ends of the zoom especially wide open which is where I find I use this lens a lot. When Rita skimmed Houston last year I needed to bump the ISO to 800 and 1600. Ditto in most Texas stormy skies. I should'nt compain about this cos I knew it was f4 when I bought it. The lens hood is very large but I almost never use it and don't find I need to.

The only thing that would make me part with this lens is winning the loto and getting the 16-35 f2.8, otherwise it's a lens I'll never sell. I'm very pleased.


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Feb 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,360.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Verstility, build, push/pull zoom, color rendition, relative sharpness, overall value
Cons:
Dust over the mirror, focusing screen and sensor

This lens is great except for the dust it creates in the camera. That said, I have not noticed any in the lens. If you hold the camera end of the lens and use the zoom you can feel the air blowing over your hand.

But. . .the push/pull zoom is a great feature. When I orderd the lens I forgot about all the feedback on this zoom system, but when the lens arrived I used the push/pull intuitively. It allows you to zoom while holding and using the focusing ring at the same time - a great feature. I prefer that to using two rings with one hand. It also helps balance the lens.

For a zoom of this range it is sharp, high contrast and resolves detail well. Mine does this best at 400mm where it is very very good. At 300mm it can't resolve as well my 300 f4 IS, but this is easily fixed in photoshop.

I have noticed the quality of results depends on the available light. To get the best out of this lens you need bright conditions. Here my 300 f4 IS also does better, which is what I would expect.

Without the hood you can get some horrible glare. (no surpise here either)

Considering the zoom range this is a very nice piece of glass. I like it a lot and although it's expensive, it's good value for money.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Sep 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color, contrast, bokeh, ergomonics, IS, F4, 4.9 foot (1.5m) focusing
Cons:
Not a zoom, AF can hunt if you are going from macro to distance

I have owned this lens for four weeks. If I can, I will update the review in several months.

This lens does a bit of everything:

- close wildlife
- large macro
- sports
- candid portrature

The ergomonics of this lens are very good:

- 2.6lbs
- not nose heavy, good balance on my 10D
- easy to hand hold
- huge focusing ring
- built in metal hood (saves space, lets you put on filters)

It has excellent contrast, color and Bokeh, and it's sharp. Metering is very good with my 10D.

What I like most about this lens is the IS combined with its ergomonics make it very easy to get good photo's out of this lens without having to work at it.

AF is fast, but would be faster on a pro body. AF can get confused becuase of the huge focusing range. I take no chances and pre-focus. I've missed a few shots because my last shot was close in and the shot I want is much further away. No big deal, but be aware of it.

The 100-400L is more versitle, the 400 f5.6 has faster AF and is said to be sharper, but there's something about this lens. For starters it's F4. For a prime, its a great all rounder and creates excellent results.