about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Per Zangenberg  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Per Zangenberg to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Aug 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, feel, fps, focus system, IQ, good,high ISO, small RAW files (allthough this is also a minus), FOCUS!
Cons:
Low resolution, batteries only good for 300-500 shots, screen, no preview zoom.

I have been shooting 5D for some time now and love it. But then I tried a friends 1D mkII and instantly fell in love. 1D's are very cheap now, but this is still an absolutely awesome camera! The focus is so much faster and more presice than on 5D and the 45 AF points are awesome! I have printet A4 size and they look great. The 4+MP just does not allow much cropping if you want to print.

I really dont understand the negatives about the ISO noise??? Having a 5D I actually was very impressed with ISO 800-1600 shots from 1D. For what I shot (events, PJ, weddings) I would not worry about using ISO 1600 if needed.

The only problem now, is that I want to get a newer 1D with more resolution. I am thinking of eventually getting an 1Ds mkII perhaps because that has the build and focus of the 1D combined with the high res fullframe sensor.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Dec 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 1.4 aparture is sooooo sweet!, you can almost shot in total darknes!, good build
Cons:
Not really sharp until f/2, wich is very disapointing since I bought it to use wide open. At f/1.4 it is soft and "dreamy", but for smaller pictures it apears sharp.

I wanted a low-light lense and after reading so high praise I bought a used 35L. Unfortunatly it is quite soft below f2. Also on 5D the 35mm FOV is not relly that great IMO. I am looking to trade it for a 24L instead since I often want more FOV.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Oct 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, shallow DOF at f2, very sweet bokeh, black, fast focus, amazing color and contrast, smaller and lighter than 70-200 2.8, good build
Cons:
No weather sealing, can't make coffee...

I was looking for something with a more shallow DOF that my 70-200 f4 IS. The 70-200 2.8 is too big and heavy, so i bought a used 135L. When I got the first pictures on my monitor I was like "HOLLY CRAP"! I shoot pretty much only at f2 and the pics i get are just so much better than anything I ever got with the 70-200 f4 IS!

A few samples all 5D @ f2:
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=737
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=739
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=738
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=764
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=766
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=765
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=759


 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Aug 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: THE widest lens you can get for fullframe (except fisheye), sharp, good IQ and contrast, desent build, did I mention it's WIIIIIIDE!
Cons:
Front bulging, no filters, usually have to stop down 1/1 when using outside, prone to flares in sunligt.

I had the 10-22 for my 30D, but after going with 5D I needed a new wideangle lens. This Sigma has a very good rep for fullframe and is a whole 5mm wider than 17-40L and many say IQ and correction is even better than 17-40. On APS-C (1.6x) this lens has no meaning though.

Samples:

http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=455
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=457
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=393
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=400


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Aug 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, light, IS, zoom is very smooth, white (show-off effect)
Cons:
max f4 aparture (allthough you now that before buying so...), white (draws more attention).

I had the Sigma 70-200 2.8, but I found it too heavy and too big and found it hard to hold steady at lower shutterspeeds. The 70-200 f4 IS is smaller, lighter AND has IS. I do miss the 2.8 aparture sometimes though.

Here are some samples from 5D:

http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=346
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=372
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=375
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=618
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=629


 
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_105mmEX_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: SHARP!, L-like color and constrast, cheap considering the awesome IQ, 2.8 - allthough you hardly use that for macro.
Cons:
Very slow focus, strange system for switching between manual and auto focus, a bit short for macro on fullframe.

I use it on 5D and it the results are amazing. This thing is sharp and the contrast and color is freakin' awesome!

Check out these shots:

http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=286
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=293
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=294
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=287


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jul 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, focus very reliable and acurate, IS, good build and feel, USM (fast and quiet), size and weight compared to 24-70L, excellent range on fullframe.
Cons:
F4 (2.8 and it would be perfect).

I have been very impressed with this lens. The focus is very reliable wich is extremely important to me because I shoot weddings. I use it on 5D and have shot in churces and at parties with good results. I do often need to go to 800-3200 ISO, but the 5D handles high ISO very well. 24-105 is a perfect range on 5D and the IS is an added bonus. However Canon should make a non-IS version for less money. I have considered getting a 2.8 zoom, but the 24-70 is too expensive. Instead I use my primes when needed.

example shots

http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=245
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=247
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=251
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=256
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=260
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=214
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=218


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jun 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, excellent on fullframe, no vignetting @1.8 on 5D, very acurate focus, excellent for portrait and low light, IQ/sharpness equal or better than 70-200L f4 IS, sweet bokeh.
Cons:
No red ring ;)

I used this in a model session a long with 24-104L and 70-200L f4 IS on 5D. The 85mm 1.8 impressed me the most and gave the best images. I was amazed at the sharpness even at f1.8. Also no vignetting like on the 24-105L.

Shots @ f1.8
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=197
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=229

f2.0
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=171


 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Jan 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, colors, contrast, sharp, USM, 10mm
Cons:
EF-S, expensive compared to the competition, soft corners full open (but that goes for all SWA), better build could be expected for the price

I love shooting landscapes at 10mm. The effect is awesome and this lens has great contrast and colors. At first I thought I had a bad copy because I took some shots at 10mm f3.5 and found the corners very soft. I later learned that this is something that you get with all 10mm lenses.