about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Pell  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Pell to your Buddy List
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Feb 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nearly as sharp as a Canon 16-35 stopped down at the same F stop (sharper in the corners in certain situations). Great colour and contrast,works perfectly on a fullframe and I was honestly very impressed.
Cons:
As many others stated, no real mountable filters however not a huge deal unless you are worried about dust.

Best wide angle lens for the dollar I have purchased. Great build quality, fast focus, quiet, WIIIIIIDDDDEEEEEE on a fullframe, relatively small, relatively fast aperture. I am really pleased.

I was worried at first because I have heard Sigma has sketchy quality assurance but we got a great copy. I compared it against the 16-35 mk1 stopped down with the same settings and it only marginally was sharper with better colour and contrast, very tough to tell the difference.

If you can find one cheap and have a fullframe, this is absolutely worth the money. If you need it for indoors or low light use, I would shy away from it as it is a bit slow for that.


 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Dec 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,525.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Respectably sharp, quick focus, relatively quiet, great build, very good colour and contrast
Cons:
No limiter for AF, could benefit from IS, lack of weather sealing, I am just being picky though

This lens can't be beat for the price for a fast supertelephoto. If it had weather sealing and IS it would simply be perfect! .

It has fast focus although sometimes inconsistent but I wouldn't lose sleep over it or allow that to prevent you from purchasing this lens.

The image quality is very good and the hype in these FM reviews is justified. If you have a 'soft' copy, I would send it in to sigma because it is a great sharp lens considering its a zoom and a Sigma (known for quality control issues) .

Great budget sporting lens! Well worth every penny.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Sep 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, L build, Weather Seal, Range, Speed
Cons:
None. I hear Quality Control on this lens is poor. I lucked out. Like ANY lens out there, could benifet from IS.

My copy of this lens is fantastic. It is sharp as a tack at F8 (sharp as the 135 in this case). It is quite sharp at 2.8 as well.

It is unfortunate this lens varies from copy to copy, because If everyone was lucky enough to get a copy like mine, this lens would surely get a 9.5 rating.


 
Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM

111_small
Review Date: Sep 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Price, Size, Weight, Build Quality, Decent sharpness, Works on a 1.3 crop body (above 12mm) .
Cons:
Quality Control with Sigma is pathetic, sometimes need several copies to find a decent one. When you DO find the decent one, it is quite good! It is no L, but it is still fantastic.

Great lens for the price if you can find a quality copy.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Sep 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, Sharpness, Build Quality, Size, Contrast, Colour
Cons:
Would really benifet from IS, could use Weather Sealing, but I am just being picky.

Simply the the best prime I have used. Although It is not worlds better than the 70-200 2.8 IS which in my opinion makes this lens redundant. Who really needs razor sharpness unless I suppose you do very large format prints.

However this lens is still fantastic.


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, relatively fast, excellent build, nice range, quality images.
Cons:
The fact this is only rated 9 at the moment. That is an understatement!

Perfect lens for the lower wide angle crowd. Great price for what you get.

Highly recommeneded unless you can afford the 16-35.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, Light, Decent Build Quality, FAST, USM Motor, excellent for the price. Almost L quality.
Cons:
None! Simply perfect.

I bought this lens used, and had read reviews on this site about its sharpness @ 1.4 . Well, they were right, but the sharpness @ 1.4 is still quite good. It wouldnt make ANY difference on a 4x6 print. Only pixel peepers would really have a problem with it.

This lens is small, fast, and built well. The images themselves are excellent, the bokeh is gorgeous. The only thing I noticed, is wide open below F2, the Purple Fringing can get bad. (on extreme contrasy highlights) . Otherwise its perfect for the price you pay.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jul 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Quality. Perfect!
Cons:
Price

I bought this lens second hand, which worried me due to quality control issues some companies seem to be having. (Looking in your direction Tamron).

I was VERY impressed when I got this lens. The image quality was better than my 70-200 F4, and the weight was a lot less worse then people make it out to be. The IS has only ONE negative, leaving you wanting MORE lenses with it! I wished all my fast lenses were IS now.

Otherwise this lens is simply perfect for that range. WIth a 1.4x extender, it makes it that much better!

I recommend this to anyone. Unfortunatly, the price will keep it out of the hands of the average person.