about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: PJ Fish  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List
Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

1923NCP_180
Review Date: Feb 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp sharp and contrasty fast lens witth a super good bokeh and feel.
Cons:
To light and a little fragile .

This lens is very sharp from 2,8 and onwards i feel its sharper than a samurai sword and worth every dime.
Now that the Nikon FX FF is going to be the standard in the future the demand will rice definitely!
An the lens is a great competitor to a 17-35 or alike ,and only cost a fraction ! go and get one before Nikon set the price up!

Its a super good valuce for money and a super cool classic Photo journalist format = the 35 mm f 2!



 
Nikon D70s

D70
Review Date: Dec 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: TIGHT Made (no rain gets inside)...1/3 step iso...1/8000 shutter speed..two dial setting...SPOT meter..the superb 1005 matrix metering,super long battery life,wireless flash control ,light weight fast start up,fast autofocus...strong motor inside(the D40 has Not!) and so on...the PRO list goes on and on.Its still a super camera anno 2008-.
Cons:
noise above 1000 iso..no vertical holder shutter release.

This camera has surprised me quite much and even today i use it as back up to Nikon D1H,D2Hs,and soon D3/300,I think its thats good ! and it is also easy to carry around the list of my positive aspects i have already written(see above);in short i think its much better than the Nikon D100,D50,D40,D40X (some of them has NOT the motor inside !)and for some kind of work even the D1H or The D1X,i also think its better than Canons 10D,20D and alike mainly because of the genius Nikon Wireless flash controlsystem and more details neccesary for true PJ work.
Some says its too slow for sports i do not agree and i have used this D70s(in rainy weather too =no probs at all(its soo tight made) !, with The Nikkor 200mm VR F2 with very good results, you only have to pre focus and shoot away.!
I use this camera very much on assignments and it continues to surprise me although i plan to buy the new Nikon DSLRs soon; the NikonD3 and Nikon D300,i will still keep this Nikon D70s as a back up. as i i think it has all the good things i love about the Nikons and a little more.

The Nikon D70s DSLR is so good so i jumped one generation over (The Nikon D200!)

Its a true gem and a classic.


 
Tamron 70-300MM F/4-5.6 LD Macro AF

70300mm
Review Date: Dec 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very very good lens and fantastic range of 70-300 ,best buy of them all. absolutely recomanded,in short Tamron continues to surprise me .
Cons:
Needs VR or IS motor(Buy The Nikon)...little too plasticky..

Very good zoom for almost no money,no matter what you will not be dissapointed!
I have used it on a Canon 300D some years ago with great results..its fantastic perfect for travelling and alike.
Super colours and sharpness .


 
Nikon 200mm f/2G IF-ED AF-S VR

200f2
Review Date: Dec 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The Best 200mm in the world with VR right now.Incredibly awesome fast.Superwell made...sharp sharp sharp sharp and with perfect Bokeh and general picturequality.Perfect for in -and our door sports and portrait work. This is PRO glass for PROs! Love it.
Cons:
The weight !-- its a TANK and aboslutely NON handy..

This is the Best Nikon lens i have tried so far i have tried it with Nikon D70s,D1H,D2Hs i can conclude;

... Its in the superleague and i find it as being the UBER glass from Nikon.

Its almost perfect all the way around and it is more than recomanded.
Even paired w lens convertors like 1,4 or 1,7 there is NO lack of sharpness.,bokeh and so on!!
The VR and AFS is so damn fast and better than any Nikons or Canons i tried.
Its the PRO lens for PROs!!a true joy to work with.

Its like being in heaven and very versatile and perfect for soccer,handball.,football...you name it and you ll get the shot!

(Now i like forward to test this Nikon against the (reborn?) Canon 200mm F2,=?would be sooo nice to make a test against this starship, Huh?*..)


 
Nikon 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G AF-S

2141NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good zoom for low money,on par with Canons 24-85,and Nikons 18-70. It is fast because of the SWM /AFS motor and very sharp at 50 and 80 mm.The design is okay.And it feels quite fine to work with,the colours is excellent.It could be a nice travel lens.
Cons:
Not that sharp at 24,35 mm. no weathersealing(the Nikkor 18-70 has it.!) Could be sharper in general,it has some vignetting at 24 mm and 35 mm.A little distortion as well.

This is an okay lens not in the high end league though,but for the money i think it is okay.I have also tried Canons 24-85 and opposite others i think Canons version is better.
But funny enough youll find it very sharp at 50 and 80 mm ,iI did, and was actually surprised it was 97% as sharp and good as the fixed lenses(50mm 1,8 and 85 1,8) from Nikon!!
Furthermore i later discovered that the samples which was made in Japan,is more sharp than those which is made in Thailand.I tried 3 different models two of them made in Thailand and the last in Japan.The last had better sharpness overall, colours,less distortion maybe the others was lemons?
QC control? strange ? i dont know.I still think its a good lens in generel and is excellent, I definitely got some good shots with this and i have used it a lot for PJ work but now i have sold it to a colleague of mine which is more than happy with the lens,therefore if you hook it up with a Nikkor 70-210 or 70-300 and alike you have a fine set up.
Its Nikkor quality anyhow.


 
Nikon D2Hs

D2H
Review Date: Dec 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wow lovely fast camera action when pulling the trigger of the camera ,for daylight PJ work and especially sports its super great,its so fast so its overwhelming BUT the noise is NOT so good and i think the classy Nikon D1 H is better at iso 800 and iso 1600/iso 3200!Otherwise it is the best for fast action i have used this with the Nikon D1 H and D2x as well.Loong batterylife,easy and light camera not so heavy.Yummy.
Cons:
Hmm too noisy at iso 800 and 1600/3200. 4 mill pics is ok..but only for press- and daily newspaper work.

This is an awesome fast camera i really really love the fact that when you really NEED to capture the situation You grab this like a nail when you pull the trigger,everytime.!
Therefore its super for sports and fast action and PJ work in generel,to keep it in simple words you get the shot when you need it.!
I also like the long batterylife and the instant/easy admission for all the benefits this pro camera can get you;Good flash and perfect exposure with SB 600/800 and so on....
the camera is a product you can always rely on and i like to work with it.
Could you imagine a lovely set up with this Nikon D2Hs as a complement to the princesses and queens from Nikon ?; D1H ,Nikon D2x or D200/300 or perhaps the King;THE NIKON D3..Huh???.(dreaming).Yummi.


 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Dec 5, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fine product on par w canons 24-70 f2,8, The Tammy 28-75 and so on.Its fine and strong made with good sharpness and colours.
Cons:
Cons? Huh ?1.82 mm filters which comes w.nasty price...2.lack of HSM motor,therefore a little noisy and a little slow.3.

For some years ago i had this lens hooked up in a set up with the Sigma 12-24 DG,Then this Sigma 24-70 F2,8 DG,The Sig 70-200 F2,8(non DG) and the best of them all ;The Sigma 100-300 F4.(non DG).

I was then working at a small local newspaper and used this set up with my beloved Canon 10D.
The small newspaper could not afford The Canon L line to start with, so we chosed this combi,on my recomandation.

Fortunately all of the Sigmas where good and had no probs regarding front and back focus ;they were all good.

Later we changed the set up with all the Canon L Lens gear and compared all of them with the Canons ,we found that the Canon 24-70 L won with a small margin but only very small,the differ wasnt enormous at all,we also tested the Canon 70-200 F2,8 which also won but only with a very small margin and actually was best regarding colours compared to the Sigma 70-200 F2,8 ,in fact we all agreed at the newspaper that the Sigs 200mm was a little better.In general we found the focus speed also was better on Canons products.We sold the whole gang of Sigmas except the famed 100-300 F4.

Conclusion= this Sigma 24-70 is close to a high end product and if Sigma decide to manufacture it with a weathersealing and a HSM motor ill buy it tomorrow.

It is a great product and its up in the state of the art league in the class with the Tammy 28-75 ,Tokina 28-80 and Canons famed number uno the 24-70.
Well time move fast, and now that Nikon comes with a very impressive 24-70 F2,8 of what seems to could be a state of the art product in its own class,Sigma has to hurry with all the newcoming FF bodies from Nikon and Canon and so on, turning up the next few months and years.




 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: For a couple of years before i got >rich> i used this item with a 17-40 L on the famed Canon 10D body,recently i saw my old files and was choked to see how good this pearl is.The pic this Lens make is very good and sharp and the contrast and bokeh is equal or better than the Big Bro 70-200 F2,8 ! simply great.
Cons:
I cant find any for the price paid. weathersealing perhaps? IS?

Need i say more about this wonderfull Canon glass? it is so fine a product and of finest quality so its really high-end for a low end price,i have compared this w its bigger brother(the F2,8) and find the pics from the smaller F4 as good and sometimes better ! and lifelike bokeh which is awesome and good on my sample.
I think this Canon product is a hit and understand perfectly why Canon has put on the stabilizer( IS) and WS on this golden butter product.

The Canon 70-200 F is Absolutely recomandable.Period.

I still use it for travel and serious PJ work when i travel light.Paired with a 17-40L and Canons 5omm glass or 35 mm glass and a good cam like the Canon 5 D or the 40 D,this combo seems perfect.


 
Tokina 20-35mm f/2.8 AT-X 235 AF PRO

atx235afpro
Review Date: Dec 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is an awesome good and sharp lens and very overseen,its on par or better than many L or ED glass from other manufacturers i think the pic you get from this Tokina is up in the high end class for low money.Hey its F2,8?
Cons:
No hsm/usm money..no weathersealing...hrumph..

This little pearl is a very fine product and i find it equal or better than the Canon 17-40 L with super good colours and contrast,its perfect on a Canon 5D and the new FF from Nikon the D3 and alike.
I only miss HSM /USM / SWM Motor and weathersealing,but it is still fast and silent and seems good made .enjoy the Tokina PRO line...I do.


 
Tokina 12-24mm f/4 AT-X 124 AF PRO DX SD

atx124afprodx
Review Date: Dec 3, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Dont leave home without it. It is simply stunning and im very very impressed.This is on par with primes,colour is great.
Cons:
hmm cant find any.

This is a very good surprise, it is simply the best i have tried in this category= i tried Sigma 12-248its ok too),i tried Nikons 12-24(worse) the Tammy 11-18 and this Tokina is simply the best performer.It is so sharp and contrasty on par with primes.!
In short ; this is a great lens.


 
Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

05_03_1_
Review Date: Dec 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp lens exactly on par with the big brands. Its good designed and very sharp on 200mm and feels good in your hand,i like the short FAT design and the lens hood as well.
Cons:
The finish is not so good and it lacks OS(VR=nikon and IS=canon stabilzing system resp. )nowadays its common on the high end lenses and this Sigma i furthermore lacks weather sealing as well!!

This is a best buy if you can find it used i had it in Canon mount and i find it as sharp yes even better than its big brother from canon .
This Sigma 70-200 is a jewel and i think its a marvellous piece of equipment even if it is the Old model without the DG (digital coating).
I think its very close to Nikon and Canons version in performance.
My sample was sharp from corner to corner but i dont no about the new version :DG (i have not tried this yet).
It is for certain that its quality all over.


 
Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED DX VR AF-S

18-200dx
Review Date: Nov 30, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good all around purpose VR lens very fine and good for travel and excellent for street shots and alike.Great value for money.On par w the new VR 70-300. Excellent wide range from 18-200= youll hit the shot ! while the other misses.! think about that?!
Cons:
A little overpriced lens. Its not that snappy as i wanted too,in think theres a small tendency of barrel distortion. i heard that theres variation samples.? QC matter? It could be better made for the price.

This is a good all around lens and i find it very fine for a travel lens.
I think the sharpness is very good and quite ok but not on a super high pro level though.Funny im often surprised how good this Nikkor can be and i dont know how to characterize this lens; is it better than good or is it just good ?
well actually its a very versatile product and working PJs can use it as well as skilled amateurs.
I think Nikon has all in all done it well.


 
Nikon SB-80DX AF Speedlight

4717NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $189.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: strong good light..wireless operation..well exposures and very proff flash in high end quality.
Cons:
none

The Nikon SB 80 DX is a very powerfull flash of very good quality ! i use mine every day for PJ work with Nikon D1H(which is perfect in this combination) and a Nikon D70s with great results.Ill never had any probs so far,and even though theres the new SB 600 and SB800 on the market,this flash is in the same league as the newcomers.
Im very impressed and find it fine and very good for pro work.



 
Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

DX-18-70_L
Review Date: Nov 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Weather sealed Nikkor for less than 250 box?!! and the files you get is still sharp and make wonders..are you crazy!?? this is Nikons best kept secret and jewel.but ONLY if you get a good sharp sample.
Cons:
..hm QC is more or less..i dont no..maybe my first sample was a lemon..but the next one is..outstanding.. it shold have been an F4 all the way like Canons 17-40 !

For what you get this is truely a very good Nikkor and it is so fantastic that this lens have wheater sealing inside,so in fact you can pair it up with a Nikon D300 and get super splash proof pro gear for less money..

This Nikkor 18-70 is a very good lens on par with the 17-55 f2,8 regarding optical quality and i think its a gem.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Nov 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is one of the 3 Nikon Kings ! its simple awesome and super sharp !
Cons:
None..

This is the king of 135 mm it got it all ;sharpness ,contrast,bokeh ,yes its simply the best for the money,i use it for soccer, handball icehokey and all kinds of sports, its definitively in a class of its own.
All the hype is true : its super!


 
Sigma 100-300mm f4 EX IF HSM APO

100-300if_1_
Review Date: Nov 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A fantastic lens and very well made; its versatile ,flexible and misses nothing even i you use the 1,4 convertor. Well done Sigma.
Cons:
NONE ! cant see any cons.maybe 82 mm filter ?!! but who cares..?!!

What shall is say about this lens which has not been said before?? this Lens from Sigma is better than most competitors whether they come from Nikon,Canon and so on.
The AF is truely awesome.The sharpness ,contrast and bokeh rivals its larger brother the Sigma 120-300 F 2,8!I use it for soccer and other fast moving assignments.No problem.In fact,
i think it is better than Canons 300 mm F4 IS. !so i sold the latter and kept this beautifull made lens.
Which means its among the big boys league as say the Canons and Nikons 300mm F2,8 gang!

Hear say that QC is better for this lens ,than the other sigmas products.

Its a pearl and really amazing.


 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next