about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: PJ Fish  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List
Nikon 400mm f/2.8D IF-ED AF-S II Nikkor

2127_180
Review Date: Jun 22, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp from f2,8 and onwards-(prefer it 5,6 its stunning..-) this is THE must have for pros making soccer,football and all kind of sports-. Made in Japan when its best.
Cons:
heavy and clumsy,some fiddling with the vr and alike- very expensive--

What can you tell about a King ? the fact that he is a real King in the business for sports,naturephotography and so on; and can live up to it in all aspects of modern photography is indeed real, and a joy to experience,the quality and result you get is absolutely stunning and I regard this Nikon 400mm f2,8 state of the art.
Its a proffessionel instrument and act like this,youll never be dissapointed.

-Other benefits;the fastness when you work with it on a Nikon D3,D3s and Nikons Pro Cams is fantastic and it nails the shot almost every time.

A true workhorse also.But heavy,be sure to use a good monopod and a bag with this monster.



 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Dec 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: After 5 copies mine is a winner,and it sings to heaven at last !!good sharpness,perfect bokeh, a perfect glass if you only need one =this is THE ONE TO OWN !!
Cons:
shame on you canon --baad quality control,the manual ring turns soft,the glass is soft,the price is far too high,and sharpness at f2,8 -f4 is soft(on bad samples) -its also have a too clumsy design

This IS THE MAIN PJ GLASS to own if you are a serious photographer or photojournalist,no other photographic product has gotten so much attention and usefullness than this,so why ???in the whole wide world is there so much sample variation of this canon 24-70??

(---in short ; IF you find a good sample you are in heaven;--)

Canon please make a zoomquality like the 70-200 f 4 IS next time when you market the mk 2 version !

The Canon 24-70 f2,8 is nevertheless a winner-buy it.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: Dec 4, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp ,sharp sharp superbokeh, good colours fast lens = absolutely best buy- optics made in japan (good quality control) this lens is far better than the mk2 version on par with or better than the 50mm 1,4!! plus metal mount ring.-i simply like it-it has the real Canon spirit in it...
Cons:
that the lens is out of production ! its supergood and i dont understand why canon dropped the production?

This is one of the old Canon jewels and if you can find one used ; buy it.

- I see,that some of the used one sells for more than you paid from new !?

and for good reason: the Canon 50mm 1,8 mark 1. is supersharp ,superbokeh,with better colours and good all over compared to both the 1,4 and the new 1,8 mk 2 -
im very happy with the results,especially for FF.

i have recently used it for a client with my 5d2 and the pix and results was great shown in the magazine.
I like the metalmount as well -but you have to take care as the rest is too plasticky,but i still like this Canon 50mm 1,8 mk 1.:-- it has this special Canon Spirit inside...a joy.

This is my best buy so far.



 
Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS USM

ef200_f2lisu_586x225_1_
Review Date: Oct 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ooh boy,what a lens,Canon 200f2, is absolutely stunning and heartbreaking ,it is simply awesome ,its a true winner..its a PRO lens for pros !
Cons:
Far tooo expensive in my country,canon should be ashamed... a little too beefy to handle..but that goes with all the good glass inside...

where shall i start and begin with this master of a lens? i tried this lens for fast handball sports indoor with a Canon 5D2,i thought i was missing something with the relative slow AF on the 5d2 ,i was wrong ! this lens nail the shot every time,and when i went home for PP work i found , they were almost all sharp and contrasty ,not needing so much work in PP.
I also tried the lens with Canon 7D for soccer,where it really shines,due to the very fast AF speed on this cam.

In general the files you get, is fantastic sharp,with good contrast,perfect colourand superbokeh and its very acceptable indeed,even better than my Canon 135 mm f2.

As a working PJ i will recomand this lens anytime.

You can put on the Canon extenders 1,4 and 2,0 ,with perfectly good results ,getting 280mm f2,8 and 400mm f4 !not lacking of AF speed,with good results ,in short ;its a workhorse and an absolutely pro.-lens.

I also tried the Nikon 200mm and i simply love them both and found them equal in terms of speed and quality and alike..
The only thing i cant understand is , why the H..is the Canon version so damn expensive compared to the Nikon Version? why??

If you have the Canon system you cant go wrong with this lens.


 
Canon EOS D30

D30
Review Date: Sep 15, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: read my former review,but in general it is a very capable camera even today,its a bargain to learn on,my brother has mine now and he is so happy,its a good entry level DSLR-super good build .
Cons:
hmm to small files,a little slow..

My brother is so happy with this good oldtimer and he use it to make photos of his kids and alike,he thinks its a gem,so do i.

A couple a years ago i met a local PJ from a small newspaper (with no money on their budget).. ,guess what ? he still use two of them for assignments ?? crazy huh? he told then it was because of the fine files it makes ..the pics you get is awesome even up to iso 400.!
Go and get i cheap,they are made to last forever. Its a classic.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Mar 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Easy Light camera house,Outstanding Good pix(Karma Canon).Quite ok build quality,low iso is terrific.In the right hands it is a very capable camera...Offers Video -very nice.Its a good camera.
Cons:
Too expensive,too slow AF(on level w the old 10D!!) , clumsy menu handling , slow in many apsects.(use manual handling instead.)

Although i think it is a slow camera both in AF mode and menu system,i still recomand this Canon 5D2 for general photojournalism,landscape and alike.

Of course, it is not intended for sports and action,although it is possible.. and i have seen colleagues with a Canon 200mm F2, making handball ,badminton ,soccer and alike with this cam.

This is not the reason why PJs like me use it every day,it has something i call a KARMA CANON about the 5D2, when you open up the files and print the pics out,you know what i talk about.

The pictures youll get with the famed Canon 5D2 is stunning,and thats what all that matters to me ,so ,in the end -noBody is perfect , right ?

I like this camera very much anyway-oh boy, (could i just have 7Ds AF fastness ,body and menusystem and and..)

Go and try the 5D now.!


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Feb 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very robust and pro feel camera cabinet,very snappy and very very fast AF,good ergonomic feeling,good quality feeling.Good video.
Cons:
FAR Too expensive ! very noisy pics at iso 1600. dust at the pics.

For sports and fast action this is it, IF its sunny daylight and alike.
I love the fast AF in this snappy Canon 7D.Now where are getting into it,and it comes very close to the 1D series so close so i would be happy to solve any sports assignment on a day light basic ,BUT...hmm the files is a little too noisy for my taste.
The overall feeling is unbelievable ,it is like having a swiss watch on your wrist,the quality is soo nice and fantastic.

I still have some mixed feelings with the 7D,it is close to pro cams in some areas and yet not,i wish it was FF with only 12 MpX (?) -LOL.

It has some qualities that i still recomand it if you make sports and action,and i think is a good camera especially when you consider it has a good video in it.But im also a little bit dissapointed.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Feb 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a great lens;Sharp sharp sharp .good colour,good contrast;alltogether on par with the L series,astonishing good value for money. Made in Japan optics; good sample quality.
Cons:
A little noisy from the motor,a little plasticky,a little too pricey.

For both FF and 1,6FV Canon DSLR this little pearl is a true bargain at the moment ..money can buy even compared to the L big brother f1,4.
The differ is not worth it at all,i tried it on my Canon 10D,7D and 5D2 and all seems to make remarkable good pictures with the Canon 35 mm F2,close to or even better than the L.
Pics were all sharp and contrasty even at F2.Im truly impressed, and think this must be a Canon Big hit secret especially in conjunction when you work with FF like Canon 5D2.
What i also like it is discrete and light as well,the noise from motor is not disturbing at all.

This Canon 35 mm F2 is even made in Japan ! so i cant be happier ,and im a lucky pro photog using this lens on daily assignments.


 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp sharp sharp all over,good in all areas: build, ,colour,contrast and so on ...i love this jewel.Its simply my working tool for macro shots and also portraits and alike.
Cons:
a little heavy,AF speed is slow

This Nikon is one of my favorites, it shines even today compared to new and old designs,i think its a must have and i enjoy the results as much as my customers,my sample is horryfying sharp so sometimes you have to be carefull to reveal everything in order not to scare customers away( you know scars on faces and so on..)

its a true state of the art product from Nikon,i like it so much.


 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Nov 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Its fun to make an review so many years after i used it as a back up when i was at the Olympic games in Athens 2004,as a back to a back up for mainly a Canon 1D and the famous Canon 10D,its still good value.
Cons:
compared to nowadays product it is no slouch.

Its still a good value for money camera , and it makes wonderfull pics , adequate for most users even today ,its silver and therefore cool ; pair it with a 35 mm f2 or a cheap 50 mm f1,8 and youll get chokked how good it performs !

I feel there is some hype among the photogh people to get one ,

Good look.

PJ Fish.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

2137NCP_180
Review Date: Nov 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good lens in the high end class for next to nothing: it is best buy for cheap lenses !
Cons:
None

This is a small wonder of high Quality glass and i use it with the famed Nikon D3 on assigments daily! isnt it strange that this little nipsy 100 usd thing is one of my most used lenses ftb?

Im a fulltime PP and i work with it on press assignments and it is las back from the old days with film based cameras as my beloved F2;

Since i swifted over to FF and Nikon D3 i must admit that the nice classy 50mm together with my 35,85,105,180 and 300mm lenses is a super companion for my fixed lenses arsenal,it full fills my needs and more so,i even compared it to the f1,4 but the differ wasnt justified for me so i kept this lightweight pearl and im a happy pro photographer !!

On my Fuji S5 DX it is a very nice 75mm with good DOF !

I Use it for sports,feature,portraits,street photography, yes almost everything -it is quality indeed.



 
Canon EOS Rebel XTi (400D)

rebel_xti
Review Date: Nov 5, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: OK camera for the time at 2004 ! the pics you get is very fine indeed-
Cons:
too slow and too plasticky and the silver colour is awfull-very noisy after 400 iso. too plasticky!

Hmm time passes and i remember i bought this cam as an back to a back up for my work at Olympic games in Greece back in 2004.
well time passes and at that time i thought it was almost too slow mainly because of the slow handling of the buffer and alike.

well, if you have the time and place for it and have a lot of patience you can make pics as good as Canon 10 D and almost as the Canon 20D .


 
Tamron 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF

1935mm
Review Date: Sep 24, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $164.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unbeatable BEST BUY Lens;Made in Japan;Sharpness and extreme good colours and overall usefullness,i find this a very useable tool on my NIKON D3 FF camera and use this 19-35 mm Lens evey day on asignements and is very satiesfied with the product whatever the name is Phoenix , Vivitar , Tamron,and other company who label their name proudly on this pearl.
Cons:
Hmm almost none..but some vignetting at 19-24 mm (you can correct this in PS),the corners is not supersharp but for 164 USDits unbeatable.

This little angel has been a very much surprise to me in an positive excellent way, i have used this little baby on my Nikon D3 for pro work with very good results and im very satiesfied w sharpness , colours and alike.
It has some spectaculars colours in it! on par with L lenses(canon) and ED lenses (nikon).

I have tried and bought this version made by a company named Phoenix which i never have heard of before and on the box it is stamped ; Made In Japan,and so is the Nikon D3 ! ,the pricer differ is enourmously between the twoproducts ,but the quality of this lensjewel is fantastic,they go very well together!

well,i have compared this with a sharp version of the Canon 17-40 L ,and the differ was in my opinion almost none, if visible at all. -Isnt that great?

I have now ordered this for my new Canon 5D2 as i have sold my 17-40 (not needed more as it is FF) and look forward to recieve it in the hope that the 19-35 mm is as sharp as the Nikon version i own.

My advice is ;Go and buy it before they stop the production of the Tammy,Phoenix,Vivitar whatever brand 19-35 mm lens!


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor

1906NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: More than Very good pics with this tiny 50mm ! absolutely stunning pics for the price. Its a must have especially for FX (full frame) I it is said to better than the f1,4!!
Cons:
Too plasticky,but still ok.

This pearl is fantastic on Nikon D3 and i can not get enough of it,prices must somehow rices when FF becomes standard.
This sleeping beauty set the standard.
On PJ asigments i often use this Nikkor 50mm f1,8 a Nikkor 35 mm f2 and a Nikkor 180mm as THE KIT,and get awesome pics home for the newspaper.

I use it for sports(ping pong..),portraits and so on,and the pics is stunning;its a must have.

Ive heard that the F1,8 should be sharper than the f1,4? i donno,all i know is im going to buy a couple more before the price is rising.

God damn it folks,its super !!*LOL*


 
Nikon D3

d3
Review Date: Aug 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a high end pro camera made for the pros ! its the best on the market,period.I can not think of any complaint all in all together regarding speed,fastness and simple versatility for a working PJ like me,im so impressed.BUT,the files is actually worser and not up to Canons 5D in sharpening right out from JPEGs -trees dont grow into heaven.But all in all it is a very very competent camera with few faults.
Cons:
Limited buffer in NEF/RAW -shame on Nikon ! this upgrade costs more than USD 750 from where i come from-its totally nuts for such an expensive camera and should be done for free or low money service from Nikon.I would like the camera to BEEP if you have forgotten your cards or just a red lamp blinking.well,i could make a long list for upgrades but im satiesfied for now and ENJOY.Go and buy one !

Well,This is a pure to joy to work with every day,it is my loveable pro toolfor the first time i wake up in the morningand think ooo yes !!

This camera solves my nightmares with the prob of no light on ansignments,i sometimes just leaves my flash at home on a photosession while the other guys having the white pibes just flashing and scowling at me with envy!
and believe me guys;the files is useable for newspaper prints and alike, even at iso 6400! they are awesome.

Its a pleasure to work with >old>fixed Nikkor lenses again; 20 mm,35mm,50mm and the wunderbaun 180mm and 300mm
i love to work with it and its crazy to think that a 50mm 1,8D costing 100 box smashes the big zooms in terms of fastness clearity,sharpness , i do lately remember one asignment ; an Olympic athlete training Ping Pong,the colleague beside me tried sohard to get the shoot and i just machinegunned away w my tiny Nikkor 50mm and got 95% correct and sharp !! In short; Nikon D3 rules.

I could go on and on and with a positive list, but instead i will listen to the music and be happy.

Im one of the guys who says > They all say thanks !********


 
Nikon D300

d300
Review Date: Mar 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LOVELY Camera ! this is definitely best buy right now it cant be beat unless you use lots of Dollars.It is so fast and a real pro camera so i use it for sports and alike,simply pure joy.high iso at 3200 is possible,real wheathersealing..and the list of positive aspects is so good and well done Nikon quality and absolutely worth every dime.Stunning images.
Cons:
a little weigthy but thats about it!

This is a new Nikon camera which is certainly best buy at the moment,Canon has not a real competitor out there on the market which can beat this superjewel.The sound >clash>is really pro and a joy to listen to.The handling the feel and real wheathersealing and possibility to nai the shot right on with 8 seconds for sport is a real winner.
Sharpness and colours is amazing as well,so in fact the positive aspects is so evident so my advise is simply this ; try it and youll get Nikonaddicted at once.
Let me tell you this as a pro user and a dedicated photographer; you will not regret this investment at all.


 

Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next