about | support

  Reviews by: Oskar  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Oskar to your Buddy List
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

Review Date: Dec 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light fast sharp cheep
There are none

The most underrated lens on the market , blows most so called fast lens out of the water one of the few lens I have that actually perform across all numbers , I have been able to get a sharp point at 1.4 unlike other lens that have to be set at 2.8 up to get anything sharp , why makers put such inaccurate claims is a joke why pay money for under f 2 ratings
When all you can get is a soft image , that aside why pay big money for a brag sized 50 to go with a 30 pocket vest when you can buy this gem for peanuts , stick it on a D3 or D800 and you have a lethal weapon .

Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

Review Date: Nov 9, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: It's wide ,sharp above 5.6 only.
Heavy. Not sharp under 5.6 , easy to scratch Not what it cracked up to be. Why bother making a 2.8 when it is very soft At that setting but really it is a landscape lens So F8 up it is great.

Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC-Nikkor

Review Date: Aug 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp small light feels like a real lens , why did I not get one sooner As a pro I have just about every lens and camera , but never really found that Perfect portrait lens , wow this is it the 70 - 200 is just to heavy on a job all day This is light and right. Stunning soft backgrounds soft skin tones Even your mother looks glam with this gem .
Not good for left hand operation You have to think what you are doing for a change

Lens find of the century
Not really sure if it is a non pro lens
No insult to non pros but you may have to fiddle with
The focus and use a tripod to really get a stunning portrait
Which usually means working with a model who can hold
A pose so you can achieve perfect drop off
You really need to know your stuff it is not a happy snapper lens
It's old school stuff and still cuts it with the best.

Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

Review Date: Jul 31, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

Pros: Have not found any yet. Not a great macro as you have to get to close and cover subject with your own shadow Ring flash still wont save it because of the same problem
I swapped it for an old lens which was much better Maybe this could be a good portrait lens Or an e bay item. Mind you I do use a hassleblad macro Which is unbeatable and $7000 against this lens which sells for $500

Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

Review Date: Jul 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Light fast sharp cheep small

Iam a commercial shooter which means everything
This is a gem of a lens forget F2 but above
There brilliant

Nikon D800

Review Date: Jun 1, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: The D800 is one great camera, and have produced my first 2 pro jobs on it, being use to shooting large files ie Phase One , i did not expect the ease and speed of this camera , it is beyond belief for the money lucky i do have all Nikon lens i must admit i purchased it as a back up for my other 2 Nikons , but now this is the main camera i will use, it does look like a cheep camera and had a client comment saying just that, but add the extra battery and vertical mount it now looks the part , you will need a big computer and back up system in place to handle the files, the images are just fantastic . it is light weight as basic unit , great for discrete non attention street shooting then just bolt on the extra battery unit if you want .
Looks like a cheep camera, you will need power plus computer and back up system in place , should have 2 CF card slots and not 1 plus the CF secondary

Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

Review Date: Apr 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great all round pro lens produces sharp images in any conditions I have had mine only 2 weeks and have used it on 5 paid jobs 2 were in low light no flash one in a cathedral , the other under moon light and produced 2 front cover shots , portraits in perfect light are a knock out . However in the studio on a D3 X with Pro photo packs I found for some reason 2.8 no matter what I did focus wise the eyes looked soft and in using 20 years experience I could not get a sharp shot until I went to 5.6 and above.But not so on outdoor shoots , mystery .
For me if it were able to go to 110 mm it would be great but no problem , the lens hood is a pain to slip on and reverse in tight area shoots and in low light quite areas ie a cathedral a hood drop on a marble floor could make one foolish photographer , no I did not drop it but if you are on a movie set or quite zone shoot beware .

Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF

Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very good lens , I use it mainly for arcectichal projects for certain work where there is not time for the tilt shift set up, it , and for underwater work on a NIkon D3 in an Aquatica housing , I had one of the first production models and it reliable sturdy but has some drawbacks.but with a d3 at full iso and lens at full open you can shoot in a dark room and get an image . At F16 landscapes are spot on , I use it on a D3X and that's where this lens shines and have award winning shots from it .
Wide open sharpness is touch and go and I just can not get a sharp shot so shooting 5.6 up is pretty good.

In a nutshell at f 16 up sharp as a tack , wide open not good
Put it on a D3x and it's a killer lens 20 mm is just righ for a cropped landscape to a panoramic format, for my jobs where I never know what to expect it is always in my kit.

Nikon D3

Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great camera simple to use fast great in low light tested D3s and D3 side by side in low light ,no difference,so still use d3 I have shot just about everything on mine and have Aquatica underwater housing as well. it's fast rugged cheep and pro qualitity.
There are none but 16 mp would be better so will go with D4 on order as well but keep the D3

Nikon D3x

Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great results ,it is really only a pro camera expensive unless it can pay for its self Great Camera Brilliant results , but really a pro camera compact high end for carry on equipment I have just shot billboard ads and they are up and look sharp ,I got paid what more can you say.I love it.
Take it above 1600 and you could be in trouble with noise , it is slow shooting raw on fps . In low light ,no flash , it is not good and not worth the risk on a paid job but at low iso settings a good lens it blows anything out of the water.