about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Oskar  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Oskar to your Buddy List
Nikon 50mm f/1.4D AF Nikkor

1902NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light fast sharp cheep
Cons:
There are none

The most underrated lens on the market , blows most so called fast lens out of the water one of the few lens I have that actually perform across all numbers , I have been able to get a sharp point at 1.4 unlike other lens that have to be set at 2.8 up to get anything sharp , why makers put such inaccurate claims is a joke why pay money for under f 2 ratings
When all you can get is a soft image , that aside why pay big money for a brag sized 50 to go with a 30 pocket vest when you can buy this gem for peanuts , stick it on a D3 or D800 and you have a lethal weapon .


 
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

1925NAS_180
Review Date: Nov 9, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: It's wide ,sharp above 5.6 only.
Cons:
Heavy. Not sharp under 5.6 , easy to scratch Not what it cracked up to be. Why bother making a 2.8 when it is very soft At that setting but really it is a landscape lens So F8 up it is great.



 
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC-Nikkor

1932NAS_180
Review Date: Aug 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp small light feels like a real lens , why did I not get one sooner As a pro I have just about every lens and camera , but never really found that Perfect portrait lens , wow this is it the 70 - 200 is just to heavy on a job all day This is light and right. Stunning soft backgrounds soft skin tones Even your mother looks glam with this gem .
Cons:
Not good for left hand operation You have to think what you are doing for a change

Lens find of the century
Not really sure if it is a non pro lens
No insult to non pros but you may have to fiddle with
The focus and use a tripod to really get a stunning portrait
Which usually means working with a model who can hold
A pose so you can achieve perfect drop off
You really need to know your stuff it is not a happy snapper lens
It's old school stuff and still cuts it with the best.


 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 31, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Have not found any yet. Not a great macro as you have to get to close and cover subject with your own shadow Ring flash still wont save it because of the same problem
Cons:
I swapped it for an old lens which was much better Maybe this could be a good portrait lens Or an e bay item. Mind you I do use a hassleblad macro Which is unbeatable and $7000 against this lens which sells for $500



 
Nikon 35mm f/2D AF Nikkor

1923NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 27, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $420.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light fast sharp cheep small
Cons:
None

Iam a commercial shooter which means everything
This is a gem of a lens forget F2 but above
There brilliant


 
Nikon D800

d800s
Review Date: Jun 1, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The D800 is one great camera, and have produced my first 2 pro jobs on it, being use to shooting large files ie Phase One , i did not expect the ease and speed of this camera , it is beyond belief for the money lucky i do have all Nikon lens i must admit i purchased it as a back up for my other 2 Nikons , but now this is the main camera i will use, it does look like a cheep camera and had a client comment saying just that, but add the extra battery and vertical mount it now looks the part , you will need a big computer and back up system in place to handle the files, the images are just fantastic . it is light weight as basic unit , great for discrete non attention street shooting then just bolt on the extra battery unit if you want .
Cons:
Looks like a cheep camera, you will need power plus computer and back up system in place , should have 2 CF card slots and not 1 plus the CF secondary



 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Apr 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all round pro lens produces sharp images in any conditions I have had mine only 2 weeks and have used it on 5 paid jobs 2 were in low light no flash one in a cathedral , the other under moon light and produced 2 front cover shots , portraits in perfect light are a knock out . However in the studio on a D3 X with Pro photo packs I found for some reason 2.8 no matter what I did focus wise the eyes looked soft and in using 20 years experience I could not get a sharp shot until I went to 5.6 and above.But not so on outdoor shoots , mystery .
Cons:
For me if it were able to go to 110 mm it would be great but no problem , the lens hood is a pain to slip on and reverse in tight area shoots and in low light quite areas ie a cathedral a hood drop on a marble floor could make one foolish photographer , no I did not drop it but if you are on a movie set or quite zone shoot beware .



 
Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF

20_f1_8_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very good lens , I use it mainly for arcectichal projects for certain work where there is not time for the tilt shift set up, it , and for underwater work on a NIkon D3 in an Aquatica housing , I had one of the first production models and it reliable sturdy but has some drawbacks.but with a d3 at full iso and lens at full open you can shoot in a dark room and get an image . At F16 landscapes are spot on , I use it on a D3X and that's where this lens shines and have award winning shots from it .
Cons:
Wide open sharpness is touch and go and I just can not get a sharp shot so shooting 5.6 up is pretty good.

In a nutshell at f 16 up sharp as a tack , wide open not good
Put it on a D3x and it's a killer lens 20 mm is just righ for a cropped landscape to a panoramic format, for my jobs where I never know what to expect it is always in my kit.


 
Nikon D3

d3
Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great camera simple to use fast great in low light tested D3s and D3 side by side in low light ,no difference,so still use d3 I have shot just about everything on mine and have Aquatica underwater housing as well. it's fast rugged cheep and pro qualitity.
Cons:
There are none but 16 mp would be better so will go with D4 on order as well but keep the D3



 
Nikon D3x

25442_D3X_front
Review Date: Mar 16, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great results ,it is really only a pro camera expensive unless it can pay for its self Great Camera Brilliant results , but really a pro camera compact high end for carry on equipment I have just shot billboard ads and they are up and look sharp ,I got paid what more can you say.I love it.
Cons:
Take it above 1600 and you could be in trouble with noise , it is slow shooting raw on fps . In low light ,no flash , it is not good and not worth the risk on a paid job but at low iso settings a good lens it blows anything out of the water.