about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Nezza  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Nezza to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Jun 6, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality. High ISO persformance. Handling
Cons:
Occasional focus errors. Slow frame rate

I loved my 5D. I love this more. It builds on the strengths of the old 5D. I have had the camera for a couple of months now and have taken the sharpest images I have ever done with it. The combination of the 5d II with the new canon macro lens is a killer. You can crop images heavily and still do A3 prints and images have the same feel as from the 5D. It is the first camera I have used that lets the "L" series lenses really shine. Focussing is not the best and this is all that stops me giving it a 10. HD video is a nice bonus. The camera also feels well made and handles nicely.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 31, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Well made, IS.
Cons:
Image quality wide open

This is a nice F4 lens. Wide open my copy is soft with a lot of image bloom. Stopped down 1 stop it is nice and sharp. I may have a rogue lens as everyone else seems to think mthe lens is exceptional.

 
Sigma 500mm f4.5 EX Apo HSM

500f4_5EX_lg_1_
Review Date: May 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Handling, weight. It is sharp-see comments. Build
Cons:
Lens hood a bit short. Loses AF with converter. AF needed tweaking.

When I first got this lens I was a bit concerned about the sharpness wide open on my EOS 7D.Images appeared soft with smeared highlights and low contrast. It was sharp on my 5D, but I had to stop down to >F5.6 to get really sharp images on the 7D. However after playing with the combination for a while I tried adjusting the microfocus on the 7D. The lens needed +15 and is now sharp wide open if a little lacking in contrast compared to the Canon. IN conclusion it is a very good lens, but may need microfocus tweaking on some cameras.

 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Dec 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Build, Speed
Cons:
Nothing yet

This has restored my faith in crop sensor cameras. I have had a 40D for a while and always been vaguely disappointed with it. I found it a little soft and noisy and as it was my main camera for telephoto shots with the 70-200mm F2.8 I was not 100% happy with that either. This camera has changed all that. It is fast, razor sharp and has shown me what a great lens the 70-200mm really is. At very high ISO it is still a little noisy, but I can forgive that for deadly accurate focusing and sharpness.

 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Sep 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Liveview. Big LCD. Fast.
Cons:
Noise at high ISO

I bought this as a second digital body after using the 5D for a couple of years. It handles well and liveview is great for astrophotography. I like the big LCD on the back as well, but the noise performance is nowhere near as good as the 5D.

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Feb 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Handling, Light weight.
Cons:
Dust, Mirror lockup is hidden in Custom Function menu.

I've had the 5D for over a year now and it produces beautiful, noise free images. In that time I have dropped it twice (Once onto a hard floor) and lent it to someone who tried to put an EF-S lens on it bashing the mirror out on it. It survived all of this and a soaking in a waterfall so the camera is pretty tough. The Image quality is outstanding, especially at high ISO settings. I love it to bits and would buy another tomorrow if I do manage to break it.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Mar 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness. Weight. USM focussing.
Cons:
None


The sharpest (and only L series) lens I have. Razor sharp from wide open. My sample is a bit old now and the built in lens hood flaps about a bit, but optically it beats every other lens in my bag.


 
Sigma 100-300mm f4 EX IF HSM APO

100-300if_1_
Review Date: Mar 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality. F4 aperture.
Cons:
Weight. No IS.


Excellent quality zoom lens with a constant F4 aperture throughout the range. Images are sharp at all apertures. On the minus side the lens lacks IS and is a bit heavy, but it handles well.


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS USM

ef70-300_45-56doisu
Review Date: Mar 10, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: IS. Light.
Cons:
Image quality


I bought this lens as a replacement for a worn out IS zoom. From the start I was not happy with the image quality, especialy wide open. It became reasonably sharp at F11 or smeller, but was just unuseable wide open.