about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Memphis  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Memphis to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lighter then the 24-70L, Very Sharp even in the corners, IS works!, Great IQ, Build, Great colors and contrast.
Cons:
Slight flare when shooting at night but nothing to worry about.

It tried this lens when if first came out and hated it, the lens was unusable at night due to some heavy nasty flare. That was before the lens flare recall on the early models and since Canon fixed the problem and said they messed up I'll give this review on the copy I have now.

I own the 24-70L but in some low light shooting I really wish it had IS and since my wife and I are expecting our first child soon I thought I would give the 24-105L another go.

I tested the 24-105L side by side vs the 24-70L. I shot the focal lengths of 24, 28, 35, 50 and 70 and I used the f stops of 2.8 (on the 24-70L) f4, f5.6, f8, f11 and f16. The first thing I looked at was how the lenses fared wide open and I was shocked to see the the 24-105 won since it was sharp in the corners and the 24-70 fell off a touch, something I never noticed in the past. I then looked at the lenses at the same f stops and the 24-105 was sharper at each one until about f8 where the two lenses became equal.

Next was flare, I went out and did a little night shooting and both the 24-70 and 24-105 gave me about the same amount but it was nothing that I couldn't work around...

I'm now wondering if something has went wrong with my 24-70L so I'm sending it back to Canon for a re-cal and I will retest them when I get it back.

Over all I think this lens is a winner

Sorry if there are any typos with this review, my silly yellow lab has been trying to get on my lap.

My test were done on a 5D




 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Aug 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, great colors, cost (next to a zeiss 21mm) Contrast is very nice.. I like
Cons:
I have none at this time

I got a chance to use this lens on my 5D and compare it to my (what I thought was a very sharp) 17-40L. I was shocked that this lens is sharper than my 17-40L in the corners throughout the focal range. It's not as sharp as my old Zeiss 21 but it was sharp enough to allow me to part with it and buy the 16-35L II and have some money left in my pocket for the new EOS 1Ds mkIII ( not much but some )

If you shoot full frame or the 1D 1.3 crop this lens is for you.

If you're on the 1.6 crop bodies I'd go with the 17-55 2.8 IS.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything, sharp corner to corner on a full frame sensor, great bokeh, and fast. All in all it's everything a L lens should be.
Cons:
none

What needs to be said about this lens that hasn't aready been said?

It's hands down the best 35mm lens that I've ever owned.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L USM

ef24mmf_14l_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide, great contrast, built like a tank with a solid feel, fast, and sharp corner to corner on my 5D
Cons:
None at all, some might think it's heavy but I think it's just right.

I've heard a lot of bad things about this lens from people, they said it wasn't sharp in the corners, that it looked like total crap on a full frame sensor, that it wasn't worth the L title, and others cried over the price.

My copy of this lens is ever bit as sharp as my 35L. It's tac sharp corner to corner on my 5D and the contrast is right where it should be. It's build like my other L lenses, very solid and heavy.

When I first switched to Canon I got cought up on the Zeiss lens buzz and almost didn't even give the 24L a try because I was holding off for the Zeiss 21mm. I was at the camera store picking up my 35L and just for the hell of it I tried the 24L. After getting home and looking at the shots in CS2 I was blown away and quicky called the camera store and asked them to hold it for me, they did and I'm happy.

If you're looking for a great wide angle lens and you're thinking of getting one of the exotics like the Zeiss and you haven't looked at the 24L yet do so, you might end up saving yourself a lot of cash like I did.


 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wide and fun! Sharp on my 5D where it needs to be
Cons:
The motor but it still has better AF than my Nikon gear had so this is not a real issue to me.

This lens is just fun to use. At least once on every trip I come across an image that is begging to be shot with a fisheye. This lens does what it should, it's sharp where it needs to be, and still has a fast AF.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

ef70_200_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning, sharp corner to corner on my 5D. Built like a tank and the focus is nice and fast.
Cons:
None as of yet

When I was looking at this lens I had to ask myself, is IS worth the extra cost? After some thought my answer was no, I've been shooting all of this time without IS and my images have been just fine.

This lens is stunning and I'm glad I went with it. So far all of my images have been tac sharp corner to corner on my 5D. If I ever get into a spot where I need IS I use the tri-pod that I carry with me, I would rather use a longer exposure with a smaller f-stop than IS wide open.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp lens of my 5D, great bokeh and color! Great build quality for it's price range.
Cons:
I really don't have any. It's not an L lens but I knew that when I bought it.

So far I'm very happy with this lens. It's sharp corner to corner on my 5D. I don't think I could have asked for anymore from a lens in this price range.

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Nov 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Full frame, low noise, and the price.
Cons:
None yet

I've been a Nikon shooter since I started playing around with photography a few years ago and I was dead set on picking up a D2x until I tested it under the conditions that I shoot under. I was totaly displeased with the amount of noise in my night photography.

I would have never switched to canon but I had the chance to field test a 5D plus a few lenses and I was blown away. This camera is very film like (something I was thinking about going back to) and the low noise while shooting in low or almost no light at high ISO's is shocking. Low noise plus 12mp is was I was looking for and I found it with this camera.

I will say I do like the way the nikon is set up as far as controls but it's because thats what I learned on first.

I'll update this review after I shoot with the camera for a few months.

Till then

Ciao