about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Mark K  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mark K to your Buddy List
Sony 135mm f/1.8 Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screendd_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_09_32_PM_copy
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness
Cons:
weight

Love my 135f2L for a long time and very reluctant to get this bulky and heavy one
Did not even bother to look at the images until later..
Wow, can't believe my eyes and it is razor sharp


 
Sony 85mm f/1.4 Carl Zeiss Planar T* SAL-85F14Z

51akKENFJyL_SX342_
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness
Cons:
Abscence of USM

Having Minolta 85 f1.4G for a long time, I cast doubtfulness on this one until I got mine. Very sharp and well build

 
Sony 50mm f/2.8 Macro SAL-50M28

pSNYNA-SAL50M28_main_v500
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness and sharpness
Cons:
Absence of USM

I love 50mm range macor lenses partly because at that time cropped size dSLRs are more affordable and partly because of deeper DOF they offer.
Mine is a Minolta version and it has attached on my 7D for a long time service as a standard lens and a macro one. Very sharp indeed.


 
Sony 50mm f/1.4 SAL-50F14

pSNYNA-SAL50F14_main_v500
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness from 2.0
Cons:
Absence of SSM

The first 50 f1.4 from Minolta was once listed as 200 and this one obviously doubled the price. Came along with my A100, I was very satisfied with its performance. Central sharpness is an non issue, and when stopping down to f2.8, everything becomes sharper. It is also much more saturated and contrasty than 50 f1.7

 
Sony 35mm f/1.8 DT A-Mount SAM SAL35F18

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_20_35_PM_copy
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharpness, price
Cons:
Build quality

I kept my lens investment away from non full from lens and this was my first prime lens. Mounted on an A77, the combo becomes exceptionally portable. It went along with 70-300G becoming perfect lens for hiking. It is sharp wide open. The only thing I don't like is its build, with plastic mount and relative bulky size

 
Sony E 16mm f/2.8 SEL16F28

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_14_38_PM_copy
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Price, size, central sharpness
Cons:
Uniformity of sharpness.

It came with Nex kit.. and it is sharp centrally. It is light weight with full metal build.

 
Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_12_59_33_PM_copy
Review Date: Feb 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, light weight
Cons:
Price

Never bought a 50ish lens with so much light. Razor sharp on my 7r...and light weight. Price is an non issue if you compare it against the 55 f1.4

 
Sony FE 35mm f/2.8 ZA Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_11_47_32_AM_copy
Review Date: Jan 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Shaprness, lightweight
Cons:
Price

Dreamed having an Rx1 with replaceable lens and this accomplished my dream having both a7 and that lens. Sigma 35 f1.4 is the sharpest 35mm I ever have and this one is as sharp as Sigma

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Jan 12, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, inexpensive, OS
Cons:
focusing adjustment

Have been looking through all super tele for years...and needless to say, an excellent choice for a beginner. Never planned it to replace any of the supertele primes but never thought a zoom can be so sharp.

 
Sony 70-400mm f/4-5.6G SAL-70400G

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_49_44_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness and price
Cons:
Nil

I though shopkeeper made a mistake when I bought this lens. It was even less expensive than my 100-400L..but much sharper and faster.

 
Sony E 16-50mm f/3.5-5.6 PZ OSS SELP1650

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_2_55_03_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Small size
Cons:
sharpness

Thought Sony made a magic by launching this lens with Nex6. I am very wrong. There is no free lunch in the world after all

 
Sony E 10-18mm f/4 ED OSS SEL1018

558-1-E-10-18mm-f4-OSS
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, lightweight, and build quality
Cons:
Price

It is a miracle lens. All in sudden Nex cameras can have decent SWA zoom lens. Well I paid 1k once it was out.

 
Sony 16-50mm f/2.8 DT SSM SAL1650

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_6_21_39_PM
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Build quality, optical quality, price
Cons:
Nil

It came with the A77. Beautifully crafted and well built. It is as sharp as a APSC lens can be.

 
Sony E 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 OSS SEL1855

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_6_23_19_PM
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, build quality
Cons:
small aperture

It is unfair for me to compare this to lenses like 24-70/2.8 ZA but I cannot stop doing so. Good kit lens for the price and a better lens than newer 16-50

 
Sony 16-35mm f/2.8 Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* SAL-1635ZA

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_6_31_37_PM
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness
Cons:
none

Having had Canon 17-40L, M 17-35D, I thought there will no better lens than Nikon 14-24. Well this one comes very close

 
Sony 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G SAL-70300G

Screen_Shot_2013-11-18_at_7_09_03_PM
Review Date: Nov 23, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Light weight and price
Cons:
Aperture

Well a hope for a newer version of the famous Minolta 70-210/4. I paid without a 2nd thought but the image quality is different. It serves well as a quality general zoom tele.

 

Page:  1 · 2  next