about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Manuel Barrera  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Manuel Barrera to your Buddy List
Canon Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2

st-e2
Review Date: Jul 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light weight, when you need it comes in handy
Cons:
I am sure it has some, I guess it could be cheaper

I have had this little gadget for about 4 years, do not use it often but when I do it is worth the money I paid for it. In small venues when one can get a bounce the flash units can placed almost any where, for portraits and easy way to control the ratios. When I stick a 50mm it gets that focus fast, 50mm f/1.4 hunts in low light. I read the reviews and decided to comment as I saw one person who gave it a six and does not even own it. I gave it a ten but it is more deserving of a 9 because of the price.

 
Tokina 17mm f/3.5 AT-X 17 AF PRO

atx17afprot
Review Date: Feb 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: compact, built like a tank
Cons:
if I have to mention something, lack of hsm type focus

I sold my 17-40 L when I purchased this lens, the lack of distortion compared to the 17-40 was amazing. This lens does well on digital but really seems to shine when used with good quality film. I have had this lens for about three years now.

 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Feb 2, 2010 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Still ticking after my last review,
Cons:
none at this point

Has become attached to my son who is studing graphics, attached to a Tamron 28-75, awesome camera

 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Nov 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 4.1 mp, most images are not for print so the 4.1 is more than sufficient for web posting, Fast, weather sealed, beautiful colors, sharpens better then any of my other cameras. Have the camera for about 4 years.
Cons:
Used to think battery, but with a Lenmar battery getting over 700 shots, still takes a while to properly charge the battery

My favorite camera to use when not doing large printing or macros

 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Oct 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quick focus, excellent color contrast, Video, Video, Video
Cons:
a couple of thousand photos thus far and have not found any

I had been contemplating getting the 5DII for a while as I use video often and having to use video and still can be a hassle, this camera does both of them well. It beats the heck out of my $1,900 dedicated video camera because of the lens.

 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Oct 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Solid quick focus on my 1D becomes a 26mm lens
Cons:
soft corners

This is a solid 8 camera, don't have any photos online presently to demonstrate but this youtube video slideshow was shot entirely with the lens on a 1D camera. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NguZe2Vwb-M hope the link works

 
Tamron 14MM F/2.8 Aspherical (IF) SP AF

14mm
Review Date: May 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Recently our camera club had a competition where most of the images were buildings with a lot of clutter in front, this lens allowed me to get in close behind most of the clutter.
Cons:
The cover for the lens, I am very careful when using this lens.

The edges are soft but not some thing that can be fixed in post processing. The lens, also, allows for creative work up close.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds

21Ds
Review Date: Dec 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great IQ, if sufficient light or use of flash is allowed, it is my camera of choice
Cons:
of all my cameras the 1Ds requires sensor cleaning more often and the buffer is slow and it is slow to start up

If there is no need for speed this is almost always my camera of choice. However, if the event is low light and use of flash is not allowed or inappropriate then it gets to stay at home. Bought the camera in 2005. For long exposure, landscape, and portrait work this is my preferred camera. I have the 5D, 1D, and 30D. I try to limit the ISO to under 400 after that you start getting noise but the camera is good up to 640 ISO.

 
Sigma 400mm f5.6 APO Tele Macro HSM

23_05_1_
Review Date: Nov 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $180.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, excellent sharpness, cheap if you can find one
Cons:
slow focus, works on my 1D and 1Ds, an no problems

Have nothing to complain about this lens, don't use it often but it seems to bring me good luck. With the 1D it is an awesome lens here is a photo that I recently took with this lens http://photo.net/photodb/photo?photo_id=8190331&size=lg

 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Jul 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $569.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, comes with hood, tripod collar, great bokah, and very sharp
Cons:
As soon as I find one, I will let you know

I have quite a few lens, including numerous L lens, this is my first posting here, so that says a ton about this lens.

 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: May 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: still ticking
Cons:
controls

bought in 2004 and still going strong, only thing done is clean the sensor, had to send my 20d in to canon, had to send my 30d in to canon, so my copy has been fantastic.