about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Liquidpics  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liquidpics to your Buddy List
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Jan 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's noticeably better then version I and I thought that was exceptional
Cons:
Date codes have appeared to vanish on copies after 8/2010.



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Jun 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: After reading about rumors that recent copies of this lens being revamped I went out and got another one because any 1.2 in my book deserves a second shot....I have to report that it appears to be true! No "focus shift" that I have noticed on my copy and I can actually see no difference in IQ quality and AF performance compared to my 85L. My date code is UY**
Cons:
Older copies, including one I tried and returned reportedly had focusing issues.

An awesome lens that deserves to be a be added to the 35L 85L and 135L holy fraternity.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

50mm
Review Date: Apr 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $725.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color, contrast and dreamy bokeh
Cons:
AF would be nice when needed

I can't believe it took me this long to actually try this lens. I was so used to or rather spoiled by AF. Realize, that all functions of an AF lens remain with this lens from full control of shutter and aperture control to focus confirmation in the camera. The only thing that the user has to do is manually focus which I find gives me more accurate focusing anyway. It's amazing. It shares the same bokeh as the Canon 50 and 85L's at f/1.2 and actually has better bokeh then the highly praised Canon 35L and just put's the 50L to shame in the focus dept., no more headaches. The vibrant color this lens produces combined with it's dreamy bokeh produces the "3D" images that are highly sought after. I am now as hooked to the Zeiss lenses as I am to Canons' L's.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Jul 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp wide open, selective paper thin d.o.f. allowing for creative focus, excellent contrast and color, and dreamy/buttery bokeh. The AF is also noticeably faster then the first version of this lens.
Cons:
It's not cheap but, for a one of a kind truly amazing lens, you get what you pay for.



 
Canon EF 17-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef17_35_1_
Review Date: Apr 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp lens from 17 through 35mm @ f/2.8. It's fast and silent like most L's also delivering great color and contrast.
Cons:
Only negative (compared to the 16-35mm) is it's minimum focusing distance isn't that close.

If your on a budget and looking for a lens that performs like the 16-35mm this lens is the closest thing out there. At about half the price it is unbeatable! I just wish it had the ability to focus closer to the subject like it's big brother. It is sharp throughout and it's AF performs great in all lighting conditions. Make sure you ask the right questions before purchasing one second hand because from what I've read their are quite a bit of poor copies out there.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Apr 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent picture quality To be able to obtain a sharp picture hand held at 400mm at 1/15 is amazing! That IS really works! The lens is built very very solidly. A must have for wildlife!!!
Cons:
nothing so far

I was contimplating getting the 70-200mm f/2.8L IS and went with this lens because of the overall range. I can still track/shoot sports because the AF is plenty fast and be able to zoom in on an elusive bird all in one lens!

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Feb 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The DOF is like no other lens as well as the 1.2 for available light. The AF is no problem. Geeze. It's not sloooooooow like others have mentioned. Quite the body on this one. Lens seems to be indestructable. Capable of producing creative shots with the ultimate bokeh!
Cons:
You have to pay close attention to your subject and your focus point wide open because as mentioned the DOF is razor thin.



 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp from f/2.8 on.... The build quality alone is enough to choose this lens over the third party varieties. On a full frame camera it's got the best focal range- wide to medium telephoto.
Cons:
It's the HEAVIEST lens for it's size you'll ever handle. I'm still not sure if it's that's negative though.



 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Awesome Bokeh! Great performer in low light situations! The best portrait lens out there for a full frame camera!
Cons:
This lens really hooks you into the "gotta have" more fast L's phenomenom.



 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II N

1d_mkii_n
Review Date: Jan 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: If you want fast capture married with great resolution- look no further. It's a great companion to a 5D in cases were you need the faster frame rate and the ease of the same "Picture Style" settings.
Cons:
It's heavy for wedding work.



 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Jan 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,999.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A nice LARGE viewfinder- Full frame- Wonderfully responsive AF- Images that really POP- LCD is like looking through the window to your garden
Cons:
Wish it was built like the 1D series bodies- it would be perfect if it was.

Just a few observations-
It has much better AF in regards to accuracy and speed compared to the 20D. It is on par with the 1D series. It feels sturdier/more rigid then the 10D/20D's bodies but unfortunately still covered in plastic. The only benefit I could see in this construction is it's lighter then the 1D bodies. A relief for wedding photog's. Lastly, I love the soft touch shutter release! Love it! My favorite out of all the cameras Canon has out. Highly recommend this baby!


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I was wary purchasing this lens because of all the mixed reviews. But, I needed more then the 17-40mm (f/4) had to offer for low light situations. So, I decided to go for it! My copy- date code-UTO8** is very sharp wide open all the way through to the smallest aperature. The extra stop has definetly been worth the extra money. A stunningly sharp wide with fast and quite AF.
Cons:
price could always be lower but you do get what you pay for

The best wide zoom Canon has to offer!

 
Sigma 14mm f2.8 EX Aspherical

14mmEXhsm_1_
Review Date: Jun 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Sharp images- focusing distance is close- you can get right up to you subjects nose. WA is nice on the 1D Mark II- 18mm f/2.8. It has HSM so it's nice and quite. Excellent build. It's a prime at a great price!
Cons:
nothing worth mentioning

This lens is a great value for the money! You can get them used in mint condition on online auctions now. It's versatile and can be used on a full frame camera or one with a crop factor.