about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Kirk77  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kirk77 to your Buddy List
Canon MP-E 65mm f/2.8 1-5x Macro Photo

mp_e65_28_1_
Review Date: Nov 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, lovely resolution, 5x
Cons:
read comments below

This lens is great but its also frustrting.
Its working range does not allow you to use this lens freely, you really need to set up lighting or use a ring flash to get anything reasonable from this lens.
Dont get me wrong, the lens needs a lot of patience to get the shots you want, and in my style of shooting, if your not quick, you will miss the shot. I suppose this lens has its uses...not for me however. Also the tripod collar is pretty badly designed, try using it on a 1 series camera..oops Canon what were you thinking? apart from that the lens build and feel is superb. Not for me however. Give me a 180 Canon or a 150 Sigma any day over this lens. Ithink for those who want to go 5x and have ALL the accesories needed {heavy tripod, proper lighting, cablerelease, etc} this will be an ideal lens.


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Nov 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $620.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a lens......WOW. comes with Tripod collar, hood, takes converters, built rock solid, and best of all it is SHARP.
Cons:
doesnt have f32...no real problem though.

Ive used this lens for a while now, cannot fault it yet. It performs very well indeed.
The full time manual focus is a bonus, well done Sigma. Basically a fully integrated Macro lens...the best I have used so far.


 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality and sealing
Cons:
image quality,

Even though its not as good as the 1.4, its the best 2x i have used. I had the 2x series I and I find this is very similar, the only advantage I can see is wide open this is sharper, and the fact that you can stack it is a big plus.

 
Tamron 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical (IF) Macro

24135mm_1_
Review Date: Mar 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I like the range of this lens, optical quality is superb for a relatively cheap lens, wish it was 2.8 all the way
Cons:
build quality not like "L" canon quality.

top unit for everyday use and running around. optically its great from 5.6 to 16 it rocks

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small Quick SHARP....SHARP....very good detail rendition.
Cons:
NONE.

Best valu for money in "L" glass...closely followed by 17-40L and 70 200f4L.
Top results from this piece lens. at ALL aperatures. I mainly use it @ 2 to about 4..and the consistent sharpness and clarity amazes me every time. Its a little crisper than my 300f2.8L.
I Love it.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Feb 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and Cheap. Small in Physical size.
Cons:
none...you get what you pay for.

Top buy....

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as a tac even at 2.8...and fast focusing
Cons:
tripod collar slightly loose.

I find this lens one of the most valuable lenses for sports photography...especially with the 1.3x conversion on a 1DmkII...its reach and zoom range are perfect..soccer,baseball,tennis,motorsports etc.

 
Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 EX DG HSM

120_300_1_
Review Date: Dec 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as a tac even at 2.8...and fast focusing
Cons:
tripod collar slightly loose.

I find this lens one of the most valuable lenses for sports photography...especially with the 1.3x conversion on a 1DmkII...its reach and zoom range are perfect..soccer,baseball,tennis,motorsports etc.