about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Kevin Sherman  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kevin Sherman to your Buddy List
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bokeh, Sharpness, Price, Focus speed
Cons:
Build quality

Canon mount.

Excellent value. Significantly better all around than the Canon 85 f1.8 USM. Gets you comparable image quality to the 85L II (which I have used several times) but with much much faster focusing speeds, all at a significantly lower price point compared to the 85L II.

Build quality is pretty good, I do not like the soft touch finish at all. The copy I rented was really good, except at one point towards the end of a two day outdoor shoot the focus got stuck. So it's not designed for work in rougher weather conditions. Not unexpected, really.

At the end of the day, I was impressed with this lens enough that I plan to purchase my own copy very soon (buying primes!).


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Amazing
Cons:
Heavy?

Compared with the Version II, this one is a great value now.

Fast focus, good sharpness, IS is tremendously beneficial. Money maker. Shoot a tooooooooon of sports with this puppy.

Only negative is the lens hood, the plastic mount wears down pretty quickly. Barely a year after purchase, I had to start using gaffers tape to keep it on.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Better focusing
Cons:

I think this lens is over priced, especially compared to the previous version.

Here are my observations after shooting with it for a few hours (compared to the 70-200mm f2.8L IS Version I):

- Noticeably better focus tracking. You won't necessarily feel it unless you can shoot with it for a while, I noticed my keeper rate went up, shooting optional gymnastics floor routines with a 1D Mark III.

- The new lens hood is a big improvement. The lens hood on the old one is crap. Only owned it for 1 year before I had to start using gaffers tape to keep it in place.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Money-maker. Sharp.
Cons:
Build Quality

Since I traded the 24-105L for this lens, it's by far my most used lens. Sharp, fast, flexible, 24mm is great on FF. It's big and heavy, but that doesn't bother me at all (I shoot with a 1DM3 + 70-200 f2.8L IS for 16 hour days). The lens hood is genius, providing excellent coverage whether you're at 24mm or 70mm.

I mention build quality as a negative, here's why. This lens is built very well (like all L lenses) but after dropping it, I got a super tiny dent on the zoom ring, which is now incredibly stiff. I just sent it out for repair, hopefully it isn't crazy expensive to get fixed.

This lens is my money-maker.


 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent range, excellent value when bought with a camera body, sharp, Image Stabilization.
Cons:
f4

Great value if you are able to buy it with a body (I got mine with a 5D back in the day). A very nice range, you can do a lot with just this lens.

f4 is too slow for me now, Image Stabilization helps and is a nice feature. Pretty sharp, but nothing remarkable. Would be a well rounded lens for video.


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wide wide wide. Sharp. Fast.
Cons:
Lots of distortion, good amount of vignetting.

Great value, the version II brought the price of the older version down. Was nice on the APS-C 1.6x crop 7D. Pretty sharp, shot mostly at f2.8 unless I was doing some architectural work. Fast, wide, creates some fun images.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Magical. Bokeh. Sharp. Magical.
Cons:
Price, slooooooow focus.

This lens is killer and magical and will produce some of the best images. It really is magic. There's sharp, and then there's the 85L II, it's in it's own class.

You have to rent one or borrow one to really appreciate the images this lens creates.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great value, super fast.
Cons:
CA and sharpness.

This lens is a great value, they can be had pretty cheap. Focus is practically instantaneous, decently sharp but you need to stop down a little.



 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp sharp sharp, incredible bokeh, great value
Cons:
135mm can be a little long if you don't have a varied collection

Fast, light and sharp as heck. I love using this lens to cover the beam routines in gymnastics. the f2 vs f2.8 lets you drop a whole ISO stop cleaner, makes a HUGE difference in the quality of your pictures. The bokeh on a FF lens is so wonderful, it should be illegal.

Only caveat is that 135mm is pretty long, especially if you aren't using it on a full-frame body.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's a 35L. Beautiful backgrounds, four times the light from the already fast f2.8L lenses I have. Fantastic focal length on a FF 5DM2.
Cons:
Costs a bunch.

Lovely lovely lens. I rented it a few times, borrowed from a friend a few times and finally broke down and bought my very own. There's a great price for this lens new right now with the rebates.

This lens will get you the images no other lens can.


 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Jan 31, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $540.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: WIDE! Great build quality, feels sold. Very well priced.
Cons:
Colors and contrast a bit weak when compared to some Canon glass (specifically the 50mm f1.4 and the 24-105 f4L).

So far this is a great lens! I purchased primarily for the 12mm end and it certainly doesn't disappoint! Not as sharp as my Canon glass, but Canon doesn't have a 12mm full frame lens!

If you have a need for an ULTRA-wide angle lens, look no further!

Little informal review, http://weblog.xanga.com/ksherman_86/640315088/sigma-goodness.html where I show a comparison of just how wide the lens is, compared to the 50 f1.4 and the 24mm end of the 24-105 f4L. In addition, I have a comparison shot of the difference in color/contrast that I mentioned in the Negative box above.

-KS-


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

ef_100_28_1_
Review Date: Jun 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build, INSANE sharpness, quick AF, USM, Max. Aperature, uh MACRO!
Cons:
AF close up

This is a tremendous lens. My first one was a EF 50mm f1.8 II, this is one HUGE leap beyond that one. On a crop camera, this lense is a little too long (160mm). The auto focus is fast and quiet. Focusing on object extremely close is a bit iffy. Build quality is stellar. Over time, the focus ring as gotten a TINY bit lose, probably why they didn't put a red collar on this baby.

Overall, this lense is my favorite! Wouldn't trade this for anything! HIGHLY RECCOMENDED