about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: KKFung  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add KKFung to your Buddy List
Sigma 800mm f5.6 EX Apo HSM

800f5_6EX_lg_1_
Review Date: Jan 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,368.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp image, fast AF
Cons:
too long MFD

Excellent PQ (sharp and nice boken), fast and accurate AF impress me when first time trying this lens after bought it recently.

I concern this lens have no stablizer before but now I found it is not an issue because I only use it for birding on a tripod

The only thing I found not good enough is the MFD, 7 meters sometimes force me need to step back when shooting small forest bird in close distance.

Excellent money / performance rating!!


 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: Nov 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super sharp and details, good color, perfect PQ
Cons:
Cannot use this lens for taking protrait especially girls/women from 16 and up :-) because the PQ is really too sharp and details to show you everything!

Found the boken is also amazing when compare to other macro lens.

 
Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

image_copy
Review Date: Nov 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $840.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best picture quality in low price
Cons:
none

I still cannot find the PQ different between 85L II except when 85L at f/1.2. This lens even have better PQ at f/4.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

ef70-200lisiiu_586x225
Review Date: Jul 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optically significantly better than the already very good mark I
Cons:
same as mark I, the weight

Since a friend need my MK I so I have a chance to upgrade to MK II, the improvement is obsvious on

1. AF speed
2. Sharpness at wide open
3. IS

The improvement worth the price increase as it is the best 70-200 in world now


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Jun 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High resolving power, sharp and details from wide open, great boken and color rendering, fast AF
Cons:
If shorter in size that will be perfect

Nearly a perfect lens in this focal length, can't imagine how the version III can make an improvement

 
Nikon D40

d40
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small size, very nice PQ up to ISO1600, simple and easy handling, very good Jpeg straight out quality
Cons:
none in this price range

I'm currently a canon user, I bought this used body because I want a small camera during business trip and I want a collection of a 135 DSLR with CCD sensor. This D40 is the camera. I also bought a 18-55/F3.5-5.6VR, good combo for day and night, small in size. The Jpeg straight out form camera is impressive so I don't need to take raw for big correction. Really a good DSLR for easy photography, don't need a P&S now :-)

 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: with USM and IS, not too big so good as a walk around lens
Cons:
too much barrel distortion at wide end and still not wide enough on FF

I bought it for use in my business trip and take interesting photo after work since I can only take one lens for all.

Good range and the IQ is excellent on 5D2 except the barrel distortion at wide end.

If it have 24mm or wider it is perfect!


 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Mar 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: the 12mm super wide for FF, good color like the L lens
Cons:
not a fast lens

When I upgrade from 40D to 5D2, I sold the EFs 10-22 and I struggle in between this 12-24 and canon 16-35 or 17-40. Since I have the EF24-70 so I finally go to the wider choice and get give up the big aperture and cheap L of canon.
The only issue of this lens is the too small aperture when you shooting indoor, handheld, ai servo with moving child. You always need to push up the ISO, lucky the 5D2 can do up to 6400 :-)
Other than that everything is very good!


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jan 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,522.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: high quality image produce, effective IS, excellent build quality, sharp enough even wide open
Cons:
big and heavy

Big and heavy but still easier to carry 135/2L + 200/2.8L for most condition.

If the hood can be designed like the 300/4L push-pull style it will be perfect in construction.

Image quality - needless to say, thousands of users proved that it is one of an excellent zoom.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

ef300mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Dec 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,070.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small and light weight Tele, good focal length for both sport, protrait and wild life. Very good fit for travel
Cons:
No cons due to it is the cheapest white prime

Just bought a new one and tried protrait, sport and wild live, it is a all purpose tele in FF application

Excellent IQ and handling. I found it is just beyond the size limit for travel, any lens bigger than this size you will find trouble during walk and shoot.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Dec 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sweet image, awesome outlook
Cons:
no IS but no problem at all

Used this lens over 1 year and it makes me don't consider the 70-200 2.8L IS to build up the system. I believe at least prime lens like 135/2L or 300/4L can match with it.

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Dec 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Impressive AE, fast and accurate "old AF system"
Cons:
manual focus on movie taking, especially when shooting naughty kids.

The AE is impressive to me when I compared to my 40D, it is so clever and make me much much easier to take sport photo.

After using the so call old 9 point AF system, the AF also impressive to me when I compared to the 40D's. I tested thousand of photos with my son, who is only 3.5 years old and full of energy, running fast and fuzzy and the shooting distance always close to you (corresponding speed is very fast!), the success rate is higher than the 40D even though the 5DII only have 3.9fps vs 40D's 6.3fps. Included the usable high ISO, it is a very fast camera!

Training on the manual focus when movie taking is necessary especially tracing moving subject

My copy doesn't have black dot or banding issue, hope Canon can clarify and fix it ASAP.

Donno how Mr Comair CRJ made his comment, perhaps I'm too old or Canon engineer always drunk during the development :-)