about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Julius  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Julius to your Buddy List
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

efs55-250_f4is_586x225_1_
Review Date: May 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $190.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, even wide open at every focal lengths including 250mm.
Cons:
I could mention a few but for the price you pay it is none. (Plastic mount, slower focus etc is expected)

This cheap plastic mount lens is an excellent walk around companion on any crop field Canon camera. It is light, compact and razor sharp at every focal lengths including 250mm, even wide open. The IS also works very well on this lens.
I use the 18-55 and this 55-250 cheap plastic mount lenses on my Canon 50D as a walk around setup. You do not even feel the weight of this combination in a small camera bag, however the picture quality these lenses provide are very comparable to my much more expensive setups.
For the price you pay, you cannot go wrong.


 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM

70-300mm
Review Date: Feb 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,475.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tack sharp from 70-300mm at any focal length even wide open. The ususal unmatched quality of workmanship of the L lenses.
Cons:
None (Heavy but expected to be)

This is one incredible zoom lens with sharpness only matched by my 70-200 f/4 EF L IS lens.
This lens is razor sharp wide open at any focal length and even at 300mm does not have any visible chromatic aberration, color fringing.
This lens is now glued to my 7D and while my 5D has the 24-105L lens on it and I am pretty well covered in most situations walking around having these two cameras on me.
It is expensive if not overpriced a bit, but well worth every Penny of it.


 
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

EFS18-55_35-56IS
Review Date: May 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even wide open at any focal length, effective IS.
Cons:
Cheaply built, front element rotates when focusing.

This lens is as sharp as any of my other lenses, including L lenses in the corresponding focal length range even wide open. As a matter of fact it is even sharper wide open from corner to corner than my 24-105L IS lens on the full size sensor.
It is an ideal travel lens for any of the cropped field Canon cameras. You get a very sharp lens for a very low price, can't beat that deal. I highly recommend it to get one if you have an extra crop field camera body and keep it on the camera. You will be surprised how often you will be using it.
Very sharp lens and an outstanding value.


 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II

5DII_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built camera, ideal for Landscape Photography
Cons:
No eye piece shutter just a cheap rubber eye piece cover which is clumsy to use.

Since my main interest is Landscape Photography this was the camera which made me switch back from Nikon. I used to have the 5D before I switched to Nikon which I also liked, but this camera with the 21 MP has a real advantage in Landscape type of picture taking especially when it comes to cropping to get the right composition.
I like this camera a lot and I consider it the ideal Landscape camera on the budget. I could never afford to buy the big Professional 1D MKxs version and it is too heavy for me to carry it around anyway.
I am pleased with the features of the camera and the end results I am getting are stunningly beautiful.


 
Canon EOS 7D

canon_eos_7_d
Review Date: Feb 4, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent design, professional built quality.
Cons:
Lack of Eyepiece shutter which is very handy for tripod use.

Canon really got it together this time on this camera. Excellent design with user friendly interface and loaded with features.
This is my #1 favorite Canon camera of all the Canons I’ve had and currently have (5D MK II).
The professional 1D series which I had up to and including the 1D MK III are just too heavy for me to carry around. With this camera and my 5D MK II I am all set for just about any kind of picture taking.
The noise is very acceptable up to about 1000 ISO above which I do not use it since it needs fair amount of noise reduction resulting in image detail loss.
Love this camera.


 
Nikon 200-400mm f/4G IF-ED VR AF-S

20-400vr
Review Date: Jun 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This lens is a real GEM, top notch craftsmanship with excellent lens design resulting in razor sharp images at every focal lengths even wide open.
Cons:
None.

This zoom lens has the fixed focal length lens quality in the whole range between 200-400mm. It works real well even with the TC-14EII teleconverter although it is sharper when stopped down by one f/stop.
I found this lens to be extremely versatile for wild life pictures where the zoom lens is very handy for composing without the need to move with the camera. If your main interest is taking pictures of small birds it may not be long enough even with the 1.4x extender. For large birds and mammals it is the perfect lens. The VR is very effective and since it is not very heavy it is even hand holdable for a short while for shooting birds in flight.
As usual with most Nikon pro lens, the quality of craftsmanship is first class, cannot get any better.


 
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

70-300vr
Review Date: Jun 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, compact, well built (even if it feels a little plastic) very effective VR, outstanding value for the money.
Cons:
None for the price

This lens was a big and very pleasant surprise for me. I purchased it to have a light walk around setup with my D300 complimenting my excellent 16-85mm lens, giving me a 35mm equivalent coverage of 24-450mm, and all in a small shoulder bag. On the top of that, this is a full field lens so I can use it on my D3 as well. Since I have the 70-200 f/2.8 VR and the 200-400 f/4 VR lenses I had a good base for comparison when I tested this lens on both cameras.
The end results show that this lens stood up well against both of these lenses. Understandably it has the limitation of being only a f/5.6 lens at 200-300mm but stopping it down to f/8-11 it is very sharp and I can hardly tell the difference between the 3 lenses at the corresponding focal lengths. The 2 pro lenses have a touch more contrast and just a bit more sharpness (hardly noticeable) but they are very close. On the D3 this lens is DEFINITELY better at the corners compared to the 70-200 VR lens which is known to be soft at the corners (and mine is not an exception) on the full field sensor camera.
All in all I am very pleased with this lens and the best part is that it is always with me even when I go for a short hike or walk.


 
Nikon D3

d3
Review Date: Mar 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent ergonomics, perfectly refined design with all the features that I will ever need.
Cons:
No sensor cleaning system, which helps somewhat to minimize airborne particles on the sensor.

Nikon really got everything right on this camera, I can not find one thing I would like to see different.
I have been a Nikon user for the most part of my life but after having the D2x with less than enough dynamic range and washed out highlights on landscape shots with white clouds and water falls I switched over to Canon. I really liked the Canon 5D with the full size sensor and better dynamic range, which solved this problem completely but missed the professional quality body. The 1D MK III AF disaster and Canon’s response to it turned me off (although I liked the camera) and since the timing was right I purchased the Nikon D3 switching back to Nikon system.
I could not have made a better decision since the 12 MP sensor is enough for my needs and in an outstanding professional camera body. Just this camera body with the new 14-24 and 24-70 AFS lenses was well worth the switch. I really like the ergonomics of the Nikon camera bodies, everything feels more comfortable and right in my hands and the menu system seems more intuitive.
I disagree with a previous reviewer that Nikon should have “squeezed” more pixels in the camera. This camera is designed for high speed and high ISO performance and perfectly lives up to it.
All in all I am extremely pleased with my choice and enjoy my D3 tremendously.


 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Feb 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well-built, excellent workmanship, sharp at all focal lengths.
Cons:
None.

This is one fabulous lens, top-notch craftsmanship, crisp and great colors and sharp throughout the whole focal length range, even wide open.
Perfect match for the D3 as an all around lens, balances very well on this camera. Nikon definitely scored a home run on this one.


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Feb 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,590.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best wide angle zoom lens I have ever tried and used BY FAR. Built like a tank with absolutely first class workmanship and it is razor sharp.
Cons:
None. Some may claim the lack of being able to attach any filter, but in order to get this high image quality, the lens had to be designed as such.

Did I say RAZOR SHARP above? This lens is simply so sharp at every focal length and every F/stop that is simply mind boggling. It is very sharp wide open at f/2.8 from edge to edge at every focal length which is practically unheard of.
I love wide-angle zoom lenses and I was chasing my dream lens for decades and never found it, but now it is finally here. This lens simply blew me away which does not happen to me very often since I am very critical.
As a conclusion, if you want the perfect super wide-angle zoom lens look no further, this is it.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Jan 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,599.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent ground up redesign of the previous 1 D cameras. An outstanding camera from the functionality point of you with picture quality out of the camera unparalleled compared to previous models.
Cons:
None found so far.

It took me a lot of contemplation after all the initial AF issues to purchase this camera (Blue Dot version). Having 1D cameras before I was right at home with it from the beginning, learning the new features very quickly and the new Menu system really impressed me, it is a breeze and pleasure to use it. The fact that I can have (and I do) 10 custom setups stored on each of the CF and SD cards is an incredible bonus and convenience which can be loaded in seconds. I made setups for landscapes; birds in flight, bracketing, special flash applications, and mirror lock up with variations and naming them on an easily recognizable way. I store my setups (actually even more than 10) on my desktop and laptop in case when I reformat the card I can easily copy them back.
The "My Menu" is another incredible bonus which I really appreciate and enjoy that I can change and custom tailor parameters in an instant. As an example having the Mirror Lockup in My Menu takes 2 seconds to turn it on or off so I really do not feel like I have a need for a dedicated MLU button. The design and user friendliness of this camera is a dream come true for me.
The picture quality out of the camera is absolutely astonishing with at least one f/stop high ISO advantage compared to the previous 1d versions. The images require minimum post processing and the colors are stunning and very accurate, better than any camera I ever had which includes Canon D30, D60, 10D, 20D, 5D, 1D, 1D MK II and II N.
On This Blue Dot camera the AF is spot on and the AI servo gives me very good results, maybe a few percentage of less in focus images in a burst than the 1D MK IIN but very close. I found some inconsistent One-shot AF with my 24-105L lens at the 24mm end but this appears to related to this specific lens, both my 16-35L II and 17-40L are focusing perfectly well.
All in all I enjoy this camera more than any other camera I had before.


 
Canon EF 500mm f/4L IS USM

ef500mmf_4_1_
Review Date: Jul 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding sharpness, relatively light weight which makes it even hand holdable ocasionally for a short period of time, excellent built quality and very fast autofocus.
Cons:
None

What can I say, this lens is as sharp as it can be even wide open. The only difference between f/stops used is the depth of field otherwise it is razor sharp already at wide open. Combined with the 1.4X teleconverter does not loose any sharpness and even with the 2X it is very sharp.
No wonder this is the birdshooters and sportshooters favorite lens.
It is as good as it gets!


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Apr 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,479.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent built quality like all Canon L lenses and very good performance in this wide angle range
Cons:
Price, 82mm filter thread.

My fist copy of this lens was not acceptable and I had to send it back but the second, replacement copy is definitely good enough to meet my expectations. Don’t expect miracles from this lens and you won’t be disappointed.
I have an excellent copy of the 17-40 f/4L lens and a perfect copy of the 24-70 f/2.8L lens, which I compared it to. It is better than my 17-40L lens up to and including f/5.6 and maybe, just maybe a touch better at f/8 at all corresponding focal lengths. At f/11-16 both of the lenses are equally sharp, the 16-35L II is a little better in the corners of the full size sensor image (5D). If you do not need the f/2.8, the extra 1mm at the wide-angle end and have a good copy of the 17-40L lens then you do not need this lens. Neither of these lenses comes even close at 35mm to the 24-70L lens, which is also noticeably better at f/2.8-5.6 at 24 and 28mm.
As a conclusion, this lens is definitely better than the previous version of this lens by at least 2 f/stop and slightly better than the 17-40L lens. It is not perfect but as good as it can be expected in this wide-angle zoom range and it is a keeper for me.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,079.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent built, fast focusing, very sharp at every aperture focal length.
Cons:
Heavy lens with an oversized hood, but the hood is very effectice.

I have seen many different opinions about this lens however mostly positive but apparently some sample variations do exist.
I must be one of the lucky ones since my copy is nothing short of outstanding in every respect on my 5D FF camera. It is very sharp even at the maximum aperture (wide open) with very good contrast and edge to edge sharpness at every marked focal length. I also have the 24-105L IS lens which is an excellent walk around lens but does not have the same edge to edge uniform sharpnes what this lens has. It is very comparable (if not even better) at the center of the field but sharpness falls off slightly towards the edges. Comes very close at f/11.0 but still not the same. So when it comes to serious landscape photography using tripod, this is the lens I can depend on.
To me it equals sharpness and contrast with any fixed focus length lens and the slightly hevier distortion is easily corrected in PS with the PT lens plugin.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Nov 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,249.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, extremely sharp at every focal lengths.
Cons:
High price.

This is the best 70-200 lens I have ever owned by far and I had a few including the Canon 70-200 f/2.8IS and the Nikon 70-200VR. It is noticeably better than my previous non-IS 70-200 f/4L lens especially at the edges and corners on the full field sensor camera (5D). Amazingly sharp at wide open and corner to corner, I could not be happier with the image quality I get from this lens. It is expensive but well worth the price. The IS is the best of any IS lens I ever had, the claimed 4 f/stop for handheld shots is real and I do not have very steady hands.
Highly recommend it to anybody who is looking for a lightweight, high performance tele zoom.


 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Nov 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,359.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good range and excellent combination with the 24-105L lens. Image quality is superb, lens is well built.
Cons:
I do not like one touch zooms but one can get used to it.

This lens is very sharp, actually it is even sharper than my 70-200 f/4L lens which I thought was very sharp. Image quality is very good even with the 1.4X converter. This is my third copy of this lens (changing systems a couple of times) but this one is probably the sharpest. Even with the 5D full field sensor it is razor sharp from edge to edge and corner to corner at every focal lengths even wide open.

 

Page:  1 · 2  next