about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: John MacLean  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John MacLean to your Buddy List
Gitzo G1228 Mountaineer Reporter Mk2 Carbon Fiber

G1228G_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: compact and feather weight
Cons:
too many leg locks

I sold this and got a G1227 a year ago. My only beef was the 3 leg locks per takes what seems to be an eternity when you're in a hurry to setup.

It does fit nicely into luggage which makes it a great traveling pod.


 
Gitzo G1227 Mountaineer Reporter Mk2 Carbon Fiber

G1227G_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $640.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: feather weight
Cons:
I paid $200 more a year ago!

I had the G1228, but sold it so I could have one less set of legs to lock down. Apparently the cost has dropped significantly, and now they come with a geared center column crank to add insult to injury!

But it's still fine as is!


 
Canon EF 28mm f/2.8

ef28mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small and sharp
Cons:
nada

I had this lens, but sold it in favor of a zoom for convenience reasons only. Otherwise it's a fine little lens that I had no complaints about whatsoever.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tack sharp
Cons:
too close for macro usage

I sold this for lack of use (I'm not a "normal" lens kind of shooter), but it's a very highly under rated lens. This true macro designed lens will stomp the more expensive and popular 50mm f1.4 design. From my long ago, past experience of working in over 4 camera stores, people always want the fastest lens they can get. Don't ask me why, I guess it's aperture envy! Do yourself a favor and skip the speed for sharpness you can feel as well as see! Plus the recessed front element gives you a full time lens shade for flare free pix.

 
Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM

ef20mmf_28usm_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: not many
Cons:
soft and CA

I sold this years ago and got the new (at the time) 17-35, which I felt was a better lens overall. I was getting soft corners and CA on 35mm slide film. Probably D30, D60, and 10D users will never see the faults I did, due to their 1.6x crop. Luckily you'll only get the sweet spot of any and all lenses!

 
Canon Extender EF 2x II

Extender_2x2_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $329.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: works in a pinch
Cons:
as always - 2 stop loss

I've only used it with my 70-200 2.8 IS. Wide open there is a lack of sharpness that gets better by stopping down 2 stops, to an effective f11. So 400mm @ f11 isn't a winning combo if you want shallow DOF and high shutter speeds with ISO 100 or 200. Not a replacement for a 400 2.8 IS, but it sure weighs and costs a lot less and fits in my backpack easier!

 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $5,300.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: speed
Cons:
moiré and resolution issues, 1.3x crop

Last year I sold this after 5 months of ownership and waited for the next offering (1Ds). I'm sure this body is fine for lots of users, but it didn't meet my expectations like the 1Ds does. Action/sports shooters probably love this body, but I don't feel the need, the need for speed!

 
Canon EOS 1Ds

21Ds
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: detail, detail, and more detail
Cons:
price

last year I had the 1D, but sold it, for 3 reasons. 1: moiré. 2: resolution issues. 3: 1.3x crop.

This camera solved all of my woes. I now print 11x17" Epson 2200 prints without resampling and the prints blow my mind! Literally makes slide film obsolete!


 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM

ef_16-35_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,516.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: sharp
Cons:
some CA

I've encountered less CA with this lens than I did with my older 17-35, but it's still there if you look for it.

there is some barrel distortion @ 16mm too.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,860.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP!!!
Cons:
huh?

I've owned the 80-200 2.8 and 70-200 2.8, before this one. And while the others were very nice, this is the cat's meow! Canon's IS technology is a dream come true.

 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

ts243_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: perspective control
Cons:
not wide enough

I do a lot of interiors and I find myself backed up against a wall either with my 14 or 16-35 @ 16, and I rarely could shoot 24mm and get what I need in the frame. I wish it was at least 18mm for this reason.

 
Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye

ef15mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $720.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp as a tack
Cons:
none that I can think of

sharper than the 14mm with little to no CA. Not your everyday lens, but a nice departure when used sparingly!

 
Canon EF 14mm f/2.8L USM

ef14mmf_28l_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,050.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: angle of view
Cons:
CA, soft edges, flares easy

If you need the W I D E view, this is Canon's best effort to date. Otherwise I'd suggest the 16-35. The price has dropped since I got mine 3 years ago.