about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: John Daniel  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Daniel to your Buddy List
Canon EF 16-35mm f/4 L IS USM

Screen_Shot_2014-07-21_at_8_05_15_PM_copy
Review Date: Aug 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness center to corner, image quality, color, Stabilization, great for landscape shooting trip.
Cons:
None so far

I have had the 17-40mm, the 16-35mm, 16-35mm f/2.8 II and then this one. When I saw the MTF charts, I made a leap of faith and sold my 16-35mm f/2.8 II. AND i do not regret it.

The new 16-35mm f/4L IS is sharper in the corner and even when used on the 36 mpixels A7R, it produces sharp images. It has IS which is great when, for example, you are on a trip to Europe, in an old town with narrow streets requiring a very wide lens and you do not want to use a tripod, or in other places where you are not allowed to use a tripod like some churches or museums.

I would say this one is as sharp in the center (or almost as sharp at some focales) as the 16-35mm f/2.8L II. But in the corners, it's the new king.

Matched to the new 24-70mm f/4L IS and the 70-200mm f/4L IS, you've got a new light Trilogy for the landscape travellers.


 
Nikon 300mm f/2.8D ED-IF II AF-S

2125NAS_180
Review Date: Mar 7, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus speed, sharpness, focal, built, tripod ring, rapid focus return
Cons:
None, oh maybe the weight a little...

I used the Canon 300mm f/2.8L IS As well as the 500mm, 600mm and 400mm DO.

At that time, the 300mm was to me the best and one of the 2 fastest lens in the Canon range...

Well, the Nikon 300mm f/2.8 VR II is that good. If you miss a shot, it will be your darn fault.


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Jun 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: xtra-SHARP all the way, Usable on my 5D III, will be usable on my D800e,
Cons:
weights a ton, but it's worth it, it's huge but it's worth it, not easy to find filters (I got the LEE SW150 and I feel like I am shooting large format) but it's worth it and expensive but.... :-)



 
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L IS USM

70-300mm
Review Date: Sep 25, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, fast, IQ, compact, weather/dust proof, light
Cons:
No tripod collar...c'mon Canon ...

This lens is surprising. I consider it the replacement for the 100-400; but the relationship stops right there. I first tried this lens in store on a 7D and I was stunt by the focus speed.

The lens is sharp wide open. I have done shots of birds wide open at 300mm and I was very surprise of the results with the sharpness of the lens; even on very much cropped shots.

My regrets goes to the absence of collar; not even accessible on the market yet and the fact that Canon played it safe by designing the lens without the possibility of adding an extender. Although I have purchased a kenko pro to use with it and the results are very good.

All in all, an excellent lens for traveling light.


 
Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

24tse
Review Date: Feb 13, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, IQ, IQ. Solide, versatile, moderne. Perfect. Best lens for landscapes.
Cons:
Price.

Having worked with the 24-70 2.8L and the 24-105 4L, I really had the chance to compare the TS-E 24 to the 24mm f1.4L II for a good period of time. While the 24 1.4 is an excellent lens for landscapes and low light photography, the TS-E 24mm 3.5L II Is simply outstanding for landscapes.

If you do not shift but use the tilt to get the best of the IQ at the sweet spot f/, this lens becomes extremely sharp across the frame. Shift is offering landscapes wihout distortion and loss at a very good sharpness across the frame.

To my experience, this is the best of all 24mm, for landscape photography.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark IV

canon1dmarkiv
Review Date: Nov 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Focus, speed, IQ, adaptable, reliable, choises. The best camera i have used in 35 years
Cons:
Still some problem with focussing on moving white subjects, but that's a Canon problem; don't know about other brand.



 
Markins Q-Ball M10

1817
Review Date: Oct 8, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Light, very strong, well made A1
Cons:
sometimes the pano lock, but I won't change it for anything.

I have been using this ballhead for over 3 years now. with and without a Wimberley sidekick to use on the 500 f/4L IS and now the 600 f/4L IS.

it does the job no sweat.

JD


 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: May 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, sharpness, 3D effect, great lens for landscape as well (what I am using it for)
Cons:
Pricey a bit



 
Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS USM

ef400_4dois_1_
Review Date: Mar 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, bright, very fast focus, sharp, relatively small, lens usable with 1.4X on APS-C and the 2X on 1 serie. Hand holdable (really hand holdable without big muscles)
Cons:
Sometimes needs a tad of contrast to be added in PS.

I have been using the 500 f/4L IS and also the 300 f/2.8L IS. But for weight reasons, I have sold them to buy the 400 DO. Before doing so, I have done quite some test with all tree to make my decision and I do not regret it at all.

This is a heck of a great lens, sharp, light, fast...all you need.


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Dec 24, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: $7,500.00

 
Pros: I will be brief.: Tha IQ, the speed for the resolution, the resolution in details, the robustness, accuracy of focus and it could go on and on...
Cons:
Maybe the low res LCD

I have been using various EOS modles, from the EOS 3, 5, Rebel, 20D, 30D, 5D, 1D MK II and MK IIN.

The 1 DS mk III is simply perfect; it's a war machine to get most of what you could get from the field. And I use it for landscape as for wildlife.


 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III

1dsmk3
Review Date: Jun 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Magic! unbeatable image quality. For a 21 Mpix at 14bits, this camera is quite fast. You could finally get quality matching medium format. I love the 3D image effect.
Cons:
none



 
Canon EOS 1D Mark III

1DmkIII
Review Date: Sep 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed speed speed, image quality, the colors, large LCD, speed (did I mentioned it?), the focus (I have shot I could not match with my 5D and my 1D2)
Cons:
Very complicated setup for custom functions that make the focus system hard to setup.

I am just impressed with the quality and acuracy of the war machine.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Dec 2, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: $4,000.00

 
Pros: Precise, sharp at the max, sharp with 1.4X & 2X (I have proofs), fast, contrast, superbe.
Cons:
Weight, that is the only one. (nothing's perfect)

This is a follow up to my first post. After working with this lens for 4 months, I still think this is the best lens Canon has made. The speed, precision, crisp images produced, sharp, contrast; in a word: perfect.

I use it all the time with a Canon 2X II on it with my 5D & 1DMkII and I get sharp shots you would not beleive. But my back & shoulderares complaining. I tried the 400 DO and it does not come near what I get with this lens.

I sell framed 12X18 prints which are sometimes from a cropped shot, and people are checking it so close, they are almost putting their nose on it to see if it is clean and sharp and I always get the sames response: Wow.

JD


 
Markins Q-Ball M10

1817
Review Date: Aug 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $389.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth, solide, fine engineering.
Cons:
None

Compared to competition, this ballhead is top notch and a lot cheaper. Used with wimberley sidekick on a Benro C-227 carbon, this ballhead is really responding to what i expected from a quality product.

 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Aug 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Precision, focus speed, clear, luminous, details, IQ, super clean with 1.4X, great results with 2X, the perfect lens for a full frame, the bird lens for an PS-C(1.6 crop factor)
Cons:
It's a little heavy, but it's not for kids.

This is the fastest L lens that Canon has made. This is the best Canon lens I had the chance to use(135f2, 70-200IS, 24-70, 24-105, 100-400).

I have been and I am still blown away by the results with the precision, level of details, bokeh, speed, etc. The dream lens for whoever put photography details, IQ and precision as the most important selection characteristics

JD


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Jun 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Accuracy, speed, precision.
Cons:
None

I will be concise: This is a jewel rock.


John


 

Page:  1 · 2  next