about | support

  Reviews by: Jacques G  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jacques G to your Buddy List
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC-Nikkor

Review Date: Jan 19, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Optically flawless - creamy bokeh and great skin rendition. The overall construction of this lens is old school, but in the good sense : metal and heft.
No AFS and slightly long minimum focusing distance.

Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

Review Date: Jan 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Almost 2 1/4 mage quality. Excellent menu system. Lightweight body. Silent shutter (for my show pictures). Great TTL flash control (Metz).
Poor viewfinder. No vertical shutter release. Insufficient WB options. Capricious CF usage.

Just bought my second body (1000$ CAN cheaper than the one bought 12 months ago...). Sold all my Olympus 35mm equipment, one of my 2 Mamiya 645s and my E-10. These Fujis accomplish all that I expect from them. Not even sure I'll look at the S3.

Highly recommended.

Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

Review Date: Dec 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very very sharp. Color rendition like the rest of my Nikon lenses.
Screw-in lens shade.

I use this lens for portraits on Fuji S2s. Very satisfied.

Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

Review Date: Sep 5, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness beyond every other lens I own (mostly zooms : 17-35, 35-70 80-200 Nikons) or have owned ( Olympus, Tamron, Vivitar, Sigma, etc). Nice finish - a pro lens in every respect. Good manual focus function.

A great buy, 90 mm equivalent (35mm terms) on a S2 or D100. Could be used as portrait lens (some gaussian blur needed!).
Used it to photograph alimentary products and obtained crisp and detailed files.
Probably not a good choice for someone who photographs dragonflies or other invertebrates, because lens is too close to subject.
At that price, considering Photodo rating, it's a bargain!

Nikon 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF-S

Review Date: Jul 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,625.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, distortion free, constant 2.8, solid, possibility to use 77mm filters. I have tried the Tamron 20-40 (very good, but flares easily) and the Sigma 15-30 (very disappointing, possibly due to a bad sample), and decided to go for the Nikon.
Heavy, power drain because of AFS.

A marvel.
Costs less than all the fixed lenses that it replaces.
I will buy other digital bodies after the S2, but this lens will remain.
Glad I chose a lens that covers 24 X 36, if I ever get a full frame body, be it Nikon, Fuji or Kodak.

Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF

Review Date: Jun 18, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: This is my main lens in the studio. Sharpness unthinkable in a zoom lens. Even macro is very acceptable.
Slower to focus than AFS.

This lens is a real bargain.

Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Incredible range. Low price. Low distortion. Close focus. Sharp at 15mm and F11.
Difficult to focus because of max aperture. Manual focus sliding barrel a pain. Soft at 20-30mm (my sample).

No such great need for a zoom in this range. A step or two will give me the same range with the 17-35mm Nikon I traded it in for.
Plus I'll get a constant 2.8, same color rendition as my other Nikons, greater resale value.