about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Jacques G  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jacques G to your Buddy List
Nikon 105mm f/2D AF DC-Nikkor

1932NAS_180
Review Date: Jan 19, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Optically flawless - creamy bokeh and great skin rendition. The overall construction of this lens is old school, but in the good sense : metal and heft.
Cons:
No AFS and slightly long minimum focusing distance.



 
Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

Fuji_FinePix_S2_Pro
Review Date: Jan 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Almost 2 1/4 mage quality. Excellent menu system. Lightweight body. Silent shutter (for my show pictures). Great TTL flash control (Metz).
Cons:
Poor viewfinder. No vertical shutter release. Insufficient WB options. Capricious CF usage.

Just bought my second body (1000$ CAN cheaper than the one bought 12 months ago...). Sold all my Olympus 35mm equipment, one of my 2 Mamiya 645s and my E-10. These Fujis accomplish all that I expect from them. Not even sure I'll look at the S3.

Highly recommended.


 
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

1931NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very very sharp. Color rendition like the rest of my Nikon lenses.
Cons:
Screw-in lens shade.

I use this lens for portraits on Fuji S2s. Very satisfied.

 
Nikon 60mm f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor

1987NCP_180
Review Date: Sep 5, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness beyond every other lens I own (mostly zooms : 17-35, 35-70 80-200 Nikons) or have owned ( Olympus, Tamron, Vivitar, Sigma, etc). Nice finish - a pro lens in every respect. Good manual focus function.
Cons:
?

A great buy, 90 mm equivalent (35mm terms) on a S2 or D100. Could be used as portrait lens (some gaussian blur needed!).
Used it to photograph alimentary products and obtained crisp and detailed files.
Probably not a good choice for someone who photographs dragonflies or other invertebrates, because lens is too close to subject.
At that price, considering Photodo rating, it's a bargain!


 
Nikon 17-35mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF-S

1960NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 24, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,625.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, distortion free, constant 2.8, solid, possibility to use 77mm filters. I have tried the Tamron 20-40 (very good, but flares easily) and the Sigma 15-30 (very disappointing, possibly due to a bad sample), and decided to go for the Nikon.
Cons:
Heavy, power drain because of AFS.

A marvel.
Costs less than all the fixed lenses that it replaces.
I will buy other digital bodies after the S2, but this lens will remain.
Glad I chose a lens that covers 24 X 36, if I ever get a full frame body, be it Nikon, Fuji or Kodak.


 
Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF

1963NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 18, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is my main lens in the studio. Sharpness unthinkable in a zoom lens. Even macro is very acceptable.
Cons:
Slower to focus than AFS.

This lens is a real bargain.

 
Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

15_30f35_45_1_
Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Incredible range. Low price. Low distortion. Close focus. Sharp at 15mm and F11.
Cons:
Difficult to focus because of max aperture. Manual focus sliding barrel a pain. Soft at 20-30mm (my sample).

No such great need for a zoom in this range. A step or two will give me the same range with the 17-35mm Nikon I traded it in for.
Plus I'll get a constant 2.8, same color rendition as my other Nikons, greater resale value.