about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: JRKO  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JRKO to your Buddy List
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Mar 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Super sharp - great for portraits
Cons:
Slight hunting issue but its a macro lens so this is bound to happen

Super sharp with high frame rates possible because of wide f2.8 ap. which is ideal when chasing bugs (see bumble bee image)

Inspires me to look for the special things within the ordinary

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/he129e0a#he129e0a
http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h597d9b3#h597d9b3
http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h3313069f#h3313069f
http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h1021c383#h1021c383


 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Aug 17, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Great for low light non flash photography - lightweight
Cons:
more expensive now than when I bought it!

I've had more experience with this lens now and realize that my initial complaint of focusing issues was all my fault!

When you've got f1.4 at your disposal your gonna use it. Just make sure you are not too close to your so that you DOF is more than a knats wing deep!!

Here are some better examples I think

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p353921713/h39c4c1ee#h39c4c1ee
http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p353921713/h39c4c1ee#h26ef5d5c



 
Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

efs60_28macro_usm
Review Date: Aug 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very small - becomes a 96mm f2.8 on a crop frame - fast - great bokeh - super sharp
Cons:
not for FF bodies

I really miss mine - I had it with a 350D and used it for portraits as well as standard macro work. Now I'm FF I had to choose another macro lens....

The fast aperture allows for great selective focus by way of depth of field and the amount of detail it can retrieve is stunning. A great way into the world of macro photography....

The flower was taken from a tripod and shows how shallow the DOF is. The extremities of the petals are out of focus but the centre of the flower is sharp!

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h1c082c24#h1c082c24

This fly was taken at 1/1600 handheld using a quick burst to try to get the shot before if buzzed off!

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h1c082c24#h15c104c1

Buy it - enjoy it - keep it






 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Aug 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Standard zoom that sets the standard!
Cons:
people complaining about what it can't do......

24-105 on a full frame camera with IS and a constant F4

Who cares if it has some distortion or is not an f2.8 - once you know how to get the best out of it you don't care.

My first L lens and still the one I leave on my camera when packing it away - ready for the next time

Here are a couple of shots:

St Paul's at 1/13th, F4, ISO 1250 at 58mm hand held on a 5D at 02:49am!!

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p763044313/h51a1f6d#h51a1f6d

Pole Pole stage on the last night of the Ghent Jazz Festival at 1/13th, F8, ISO 1250 at 24mm taken hand held on a 5D

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p256811306/h23176412#h23176412



 
Epson R800

R800
Review Date: Apr 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Seriously good prints - a cheap entry into quality printing
Cons:
Ridiculous cost of ink 1 per millilitre make petrol in the UK look reasonable! - Love the prints but want bigger so am saving for an Epson A2+ printer like the 3880

Great printer if you don't need to go larger than A4 but once I saw the prints I thought 'Aww I wish I had a larger printer'.

I can't recommend the R800 enough but I want the larger printer....



 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Apr 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: The slide zoom makes tracking really easy. Let the camera do the focusing and you can track pretty much anything moving whilst changing you zoom length - image stabilizer - If some posts are to be believed I got a tack sharp one - and no it does not suck in loads of dust
Cons:
heavy - obvious

tack sharp and great for candid shots (if they don't spot the jumbo white canon pointing at them!)

Seriously easy to track and zoom with. Way easier than a twist zoom. I tracked this seagull flying all over the place whilst on a cliff in Spain. Finally got him away from the bright sky and brought up the colour of the sea a bit.

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h9c090bd#h37f9d15

Also fab for detail shots as can be seen here. Yes I have sharpened it up a bit but its also a crop of the original.

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p922298177/h9c090bd#h9c090bd


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Apr 2, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: as below
Cons:
as below
 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Very sharp - lightweight - price for an f1.8
Cons:
A bit too long for my liking making framing harder

Great value lens but found it just a little too long even of a FF body. Loved the sharpness and limited DOF.

The Bokeh if very soft but I can't get around the distance I have to work at for a full length portrait shot. This made controlling the subject position/pose a bit harder than I am comfortable with. I can do head shots at 200mm but prefer to be closer.

Not bad for low light work though. Have Sigma 50mm f1.4 now so will be selling this.

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p777028168/h14f24def#h14f24def


 
Canon EOS 30D

Canon_30D
Review Date: Mar 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: great feel to the controls - lightweight 2nd camera - 8.2MP is plenty
Cons:
none really when considering the cameras age

Bought mine second hand as a second body to back up and use in conjunction with my 5D (classic?)

Nice to have the 1.6 crop factor and the faster frame rate per second over the 5D.


 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Mar 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great bokeh - super sharp - nice weight - looks serious!
Cons:
some focusing issues

Great lens for walking around with fixed focal length. Still trying to get used to the very limited DOF.

http://jrko.zenfolio.com/p777028168/h1dd6fc15#h1dd6fc15