about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: JORDI350D  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JORDI350D to your Buddy List
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Oct 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, macro mode, IS, size, AF.
Cons:
None.

This is the perfect lens when you need something ligth and you need or want also the best quality as posible. With the Canon 6d is a very good combo capable of delivering great images in a comptact equipment.

With Canon 1d4 results are great in macro and AF and it delivers also great results.

Macro function is very interesting but you need to invest some time in order to get the best results.



 
Canon EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM

ef28-300_35-56lisu
Review Date: Mar 8, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Sharp taking consideration of the range. Stabilizer. Range. Full frame.
Cons:
A little bit intrusive for traveling.

Hi:

This lens suprised me after some bad comments about it.
I bought it because there is unique option of all terrain in FF cameras with some quality.
I cannot be happier with it. Maybe I am very lucky with the unit that I have, but comparing with other great lenses as 70-300L and others, it is very dificult to diference one picture made in both lense, even the 28-300 was shaper than the 70-300 at 7 mts of distance target; I repeat several times the shoots because I could not believe it after seeing PZ test or others. This lens only fault a little bit in a shorter distances that 1.5 mts, where it is not very sharp. I do not know why, but my first test comparing with the 300F4IS that were at these distances make me cry about why I bought it. After doing same tets at longer distances I was very happy to buy it. After a travel by Asia, I think that it is with a diference the best travel lense. Even the stabilizer works very good at 300 with lower speeds of 1/30; just INCREDIBLE.

BR

Jordi


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Sep 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It works very well in FF and also in APS-C. Incredible for landscape and also for portraits in 1.6. Close up capacities. Great if not the best "50" mm for APS-C.
Cons:
Not for the moment.

Nothing to say about this lens. Just in line with 21 mm.
The lens is very compact, and their close up capacities with f2 aperture makes a very nice normal lens in 1.6 and spectacular wide angle in FF (very sharp arround the frame). It compares positively well with my sold Canon 35 1.4.
It is very dificult for me to appreciate the field curvature that some people comment.


 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Jul 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best wide angle lens for Canon bodies. Incredible difinition even at 2.8.
Cons:
Lens cap. Litle vigneting and distorsion if your use is architecture or similars; not my case.

As many lens users know, nothing to comment about this lens, just excellent.
Best wide angle for Canon body so far.

B/R,

Jordi


 
Zeiss 50mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

50macro
Review Date: Jun 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All.
Cons:
Front cap. Dificult to focus bteween 5/10 mts to inf, but not worse that others.

Best 50 mm that I have ever tested.
I have tested 50 1.4 / 50L 1.2 / Sig. 50 Macr. 2.8 and others.



 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Jul 17, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low light posibilities, sharp at 1.2 and super sharp from f2, beatiful boken.
Cons:
AF.

Perfect partner for a Canon 5d. Very sharp after Canon calibration.
I think that it is a lens with a high creative posibilities.
The contrast and flare control is much better than the Canon 50 1.4 from 1.4 to 2.2 or so.
After Canon revison, the lens is very loved by me.




 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Jul 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $219.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ligth, very sharp, cheap= fantastic.
Cons:
Not FTM.

This is my favourite lens.
It is very sharp.
The minimal focus distance is only 0.23 and works fantastic for a flowers works and close up pics.
In resume a excellent lens for the price.
Very good standar lens for a 1.6 bodies.



 
Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

EF10-22
Review Date: Jan 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, wide angle Extreme, creative possibilities, NO flares, light. Highly recomendable!
Cons:
EFS

After buy this lens, I am thinking about what to do with my 17-40 F4L. But full frame is coming......maybe.... better do not sell it.

It is a very sharp lens and very confortable to use.



 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Dec 19, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp. Very fast AF. Quality product. Incredible IS. Not heavy as other Canon lenses.
Cons:
Distorsion at 24 mm.

This is the lense that I use more in my 350d.
It has the most useful focal ranges that everybody use in the 70% of the time. The quality and feeling of this lense is incredibly and it rembember you that you are using an L lense.
For me the only negative aspect is the great distorsion at 24 mm but I think that the people that buy this lens do not use for architecture motives; for these subjects I think that there are better lenses as 17-40 or 10-22 or 16-35.....
I think that it is perfect for nature walks where I think that distorsions are not important if not the PT lens correct very well them.

I think that it is a very sharp lens, and you can use it also as a portrait lense at 105mm F4 with a very nice boken.

As a macro lens you can put a 20 mm tube extension and you have a 1/0.66 ampliation factor with a IS macro lense. I am surprised about the performance in this area. I have better lenses for macro but you can resolve very well some subjects if you put an small extension tube in your pocket.
All in all, I think that is a all terrain lense with a high performance in all the situations, but you must think that it is not a fix L lense in all the focal ranges that it not exist for the moment.


 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

ef_180_35_1_
Review Date: Dec 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp. Doble use (macro and telephoto 180mm F3.5 and 252mm F5 with 1.4 extender).
Cons:
Price. Poor performance after F22.

This is an special lense for me. I am very surprised of the telephoto qualities of this lens. If you move the switch to the 1.5-inf. position you will have a lense with a very fast AF and more or less fast lense (f.3.5 it is good for me because his performance at 3.5 is very well). With the Canon extenders you will have a 1.4/1 and 2/1 macro lense. It is incredible all that you can do with a 2/1 macro lense.


Only the price is negative in this lense.

Jordi


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Dec 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It is very sharp at all diaphragms (even f4). It is not heavy. Very good quality and the ring zoom is very confortable to use.
Cons:
Lens hood. I prefer that was 17-50. You need other lenses in order to complement the focal range.

I think that it is a very good canon lense. Perfect in all the focal range in 1.6 factor. I know that in full frame has more problems with vignetting.
The lens hood is ridiculous for 1.6 factor. I bougth the EW-83DII lens from other Canon L lense that goes very well.
The lens has (IMHO) only one problem that you must complement with other lenses for up and down.

Jordi