about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: IraGraham  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add IraGraham to your Buddy List
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: May 12, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,899.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Build quality. Reasonable fast autofocus speed (though not accurate). L glass. As solid as a lens can be made.
Cons:
Very inconsistant autofocus. Price I paid $1899.00 is a rediculous price.

I bought mine for a great price at Cord Camera in Columbus Ohio. At $1899, I still feel the lens is overpriced. My biggest issue with the lens was inconsistant autofucus on the 5D. 2 or 3 out of 5 images were not critically in focus. I compared it to my 85 1.8 at the same 1.8 aperture and the 85mm 1.8 was dead on sharp 5 of 5 times compared to 2 of 5 times with the 85L. I thought it was me until 3 other experience photographers had the same results. Two of them had the first version of the 85 1.2. I ended up repurchasing the 85 1.8 and returning this beast. In short, for me it was not worth the money considering it's problems. I will just use the 85 1.8 instead.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Feb 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Noticeably Sharper then the 17-40 4.0L. And the 17-40 is a great lens. The autofocus is the fastest and most accurate of all of my "L" series lenses. Build quality is excellent. It has no zoom creep. This lens is even better then I had anticipated. It is truly a must have lens. It should be everyones first "L" series lens.
Cons:
The cost is a little high. But now days with everyone thinking they are a photographer, I would almost prefer for it to be high so I don't have to worry about a wedding guest pulling it out. It does have a little light fall off at 4.0 and 24mm. It clears up by 5.6 however. In general it is not a big deal. It is easily fixed in CS2.

This is trulely a great lens. If you have to have one lens, this is it. You can build from here. If you buy this lens and the 70-200 2.8 L IS you will be set for 90% of your needs. Make sure you buy one that it is one that is one made after they corrected the flair problem. This is the perfect lens to have on your camera most of the time. It delivers very sharp images of the highest quality. Buy this lens today, you will not regret it.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Great build, Solid feel, great focusing, pro feel compared to the 50mm 1.8, Good Price.
Cons:
None, I don't know what people are talking about when they complain of build quality????? The build quality of this lens is "L" quality in my opinion. This lens feels solid!

I bought this lens after haveing the 50mm 1.8 for many years. I feel this lens is a huge improvement in terms of build. In terms of image quality, I feel the 50mm 1.8 is pretty close to the 50mm 1.4. Both lenses really give you awesomely sharp photos. i just got tired of seeing the 50mm 1.4 in Canon advertisements on new camera's like the 5D and the 1DS Mark II, I just had to have it! Well it just feels like quality and produces such awesomely sharp photos. Is the 50mm 1.8 as sharp?.............................absolutely. Maybe it's a mental thing, I like my equipment to be the very best. The 50 1.4 is the best, if only by a little in what really counts.........image quality.

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Oct 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great image quality! Almost identical in sharpness to the 1DsMark II, for less then half the price. Solid camera that feels great in your hands. Large LCD. Quieter shutter than the 20D. If you know the 20D you will be able to use this camera without any new learning curve.
Cons:
The LCD is very hard to see in sunlight. Autofocus, though better then the 10D does not seem as fast as the 20D. However I am betting it is more accurate than the 20D, being fast is not usefull if it isn't accurate, that is what I hated about the 20D. This camera has another flimsy door on it like like the 20D.

I purchased this camera because of the added megapixels. The image quality is outstanding so I am very happy with the camera. For my purposes, weddings & portraits, it is the perfect camera for the price. I don't expect that I will need any more megapixels for my purposes. The images that this camera pruduces are incredibly sharp with great dynamic range. This is the first digital camera I have purchased that I feel can compete with medium format. I also like the $3300 price. Because of the price I know that every "Tom, Dick and Harry" won't be pulling this camera out at every wedding I do.

 
Sigma 24-70mm f3.5-5.6 Aspherical HF

24_70HF_med_1_
Review Date: Aug 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $135.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast focusing on 20D, Price, a better lens range than the 17-70 Canon L for everyday use.
Cons:
None for the price.

I have many Canon L lenses but didn't want to pay the money for the Canon 24-70L at this time. I realize now how usefull the 24-70 range is. I would go as far to say that this lens is as sharp as the Canon 24-70L. I can live with not having the speed of the Canon for now. This lens really fits with my needs and budget. I have no complaints. This is coming from someone with the folowing "L" lenses: 135 2.0, 200mm 2.8, 70-200 2.8 IS, and 17-40 4.0. These are all top lenses and the Sigma competes with the best of them. I encourage anyone that demands top performance to purchase this lens. You will not be dissappointed!

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Apr 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build quality, fast auto focus, sharp optics even at F4, works great with 1.6x sensor factor on the 10 & 20D.
Cons:
None

I use this lens for ceremony shots as well as reception shots when I don't have my 70-200 2.8 IS on the camera. These are the only two lenses you need for weddings. The 17-40 is fast enough, I really don't see any need for 2.8 aperture with my 10D or 20D. I can just dial in 1600 iso when needed and shoot away. This is a great lens for the price that you will find stuck on your camera all of the time because of its useful focal range.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great lens on a 10D or 20D. Sharp as hell, fast,quite auto focus. Great for portraits. Awesome background blur. This lens is "L" quality for sure.
Cons:
None.

This lens is almost as sharp as the Canon 135mm 2.0. You just can't beat this lens for portraits on a 1.6x chip. You can really seperate your subject from your background. Just a wonderful lens you cannot ask for more!!! Buy it today!

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

ef50mmf_18_1_
Review Date: Apr 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great price, Sharp A+++ optics, light on camera, fast focus even without it being ultrasonic.
Cons:
I guess to a small extent bokeh though it really is hardly an issue. I really don't see much difference between it and it's faster brother. Only another photographer would care.

Great lens, you are a fool not to own one.

 
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

05_105mmEX_1_
Review Date: Apr 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice build, small compact size, nice finish, sharp A+++ optics.
Cons:
A little slower focusing then some lenses, especially Canon Ultrasonic lenses.

This is a great lens. It is actually as sharp as the famed Canon 135mm f 2.0. and it focuses much closer because of it being a macro lens. That says volumes about the quality of the optics. It is also a great value for the dollar. It is the one Sigma lens you must have. It is a great portrait lens as well.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Apr 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This lens is solidly built. Lens quality is very good though not as sharp as a prime such as the Canon 135 2.0. Autofocus is fast. Focus accuracy is good though you need to be carefull when using it at 2.8.
Cons:
You will have to get used to the weight. Usually the camera contols the movement of the lens, with this lens the lens controls movement of the camera. It gives you an idea of how it feels to carry a heavy lens like you see on the sidelines at pro football games. I can't imagine what a 600mm lens feels like. That being said, I am a big strong man that doesn't have any problems dealing with a lens of this weight. This lens will also draw attention. People will assume you are a proffesional and will bombard you with silly questions and compliments on your nice equipment. This personally gets on my nerves when I am trying to be low key.

This lens is a great addition to my lens collection. It enables me to change lenses less as well as keep the image quality excellent. I try not to think about the cost. I realize many will not be able to justify $1600 for any lens. I really like to feel I have the best equipment when I am working, so this fits my needs as well as my customers.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Mar 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $830.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Excellent Color, Wonderful bokeh, fast focus, great contrast
Cons:
None, worth the price. To see the images quality will make you a believer in this lens. A must have lens for the serious portrait photographer.

Buy this lens, you will finally see what the big deal is about "L" lenses. This is the sharpest lens I have ever had with the best colors and contrast.

 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Feb 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Fast focus, sharp as a razor, awesome background blur. Made well with nice black finish.
Cons:
No IS (Image Stablization)

Since I bought this lens, I am now turned on to sharp Canon L series fixed focal length lenses. I can't wait to buy the Canon 135mm 2.0L. I hear it is even sharper then the 200mm 2.8L.

 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Dec 16, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: More accurate flash exposure, 5fps, B& W setting, longer battery life.
Cons:
Unreliable focus accuracy with fast lenses in particular such as 85mm 1.8, or Sigma 20mm 1.8. Lound shutter.

I wish they would have kept everything about the 10D and just added the better flash system, 5fps and B&W mode. I prefer a heavier camera like the 10D. I also prefer a more professional sounding shutter. I also have found the 20D to be inconsistant focusing when I am using my old reliable Canon 85mm 1.8 lens that I love so much. I just can't trust the focus on the 20D when shooting at 1.8 - 2.8 with this lens. I never had this problem with the 10D. And I know how to focus....................thank you very much! Yes the auto focus is faster on the 20D, but is it accurate..........I don't think so.