about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Hans im Glueck  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hans im Glueck to your Buddy List
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Mar 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, nice colors, rich details
Cons:
A lot: no IS, not a Zoom,not 80mm, not 1:1.2, not small as my thumb. Come on: You knew that, when You bought it.

Its a very nice lens. A bargain for an Canon L. Pictures are sharp from wide open. Not agressive sharp but very rich of details even in the shadows. Colours are neutral with little tendency to warmth. bokeh is nice but not dreamy ( like 85L ).
The look of pictures is very balanced.
I can really recommend it.
Mark


 
Tamron 90MM F/2.8 Di Macro 1:1 SP AF

lens_1_
Review Date: May 30, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent picture quality,very sharp low price
Cons:
Built quality could be better ( looks, feels and sounds like plastic ). Bokeh is mediocre.

Excellent macro-lens for the money. I recommend it

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: May 7, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, great colours, bokeh
Cons:
e x p e n s i v e

First I bought the EF 35/2 but I soon gave it back because of bad image quality. Now I own the 35/1.4L and I'm happy with it. Sharpness is very good at 1.4 and excellent at 2.0. Colours are strong and vivid. The Bokeh is very nice. AF works fast and precise at my 5D. It is an expensive lens, but you get what you pay for.

 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Dec 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp ,almost no distortion,even @12mm at full frame. Exellent build quality
Cons:
Corners a little soft wide open.There is some Vignetting. Issues with qualitycontrol:Test your copy before You buy it !

If You`re looking for a ultra wide angle at full frame, this is the right choice. Its impressing, how the lens masters that angle with almost no distortion even at 12 mm. Sharpness is very good in the center, and, if stopped down, also in the corners.
Beware of bad centered copies . Try it before You buy it.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: Dec 8, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: cheap, lightweight, quite solid build
Cons:
soft wide open, medium sharp stopped down

First of all, it is not too expensive. But if you pick up a bad copy like I did, it is probably not worth the money. My 24-105 L is much sharper @f4 than that prime , especially the corners at my 5D. If you really want a 35mm, wait till You can afford a 35/1.4 L ,that is a really nice lens.

 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Dec 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Impressing quality fore a zoom lens. perfect walkaround lens on a 5D. IS very usefull in low light.
Cons:
None

This is my most used lense while travelling. Its sharp, versatile and solid built. With the zoomrange 24-105 it covers most of my needs while travelling. Especially with the 5D it is a perfect tool.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM

ef85mmf_12_1_
Review Date: Dec 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Uncredible sharpness and bokeh
Cons:
heavey, expensive, slow AF

The 85/1,2 can not be compared to any other lens. the bokeh at 1.2 is not from this world. Its like floating in a dream.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Dec 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, light ,bright, AF fast
Cons:
non if you got a good copy

If you are looking for a small affordable high quality lens in that range, try this one. Look for a good cpoy. Mine is perfect at 1.4 That of a friend needs to be stopped down at 2.0 to be that sharp.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM

ef70-200lisusm
Review Date: Dec 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even wide open at the corners at fullframe (!),almost on par with a prime, IS works great, a perfect travel-lens.
Cons:
visible vignetting @200mm,f4 ; IS is loud ; EXPENSIVE especially in Europe

"OK ,this lens is too expensive, the IS starts its work with a nasty scratching noise , the build quality is not as outstanding as the non IS version ( only the front part and the bajonett seems to be metal. In the middle the tube looks and feels like plastic ). You better send it back to your dealer."
Thats what I thought first when i got it, but then I saw the first pictures on my monitor from the lens with my 5D:
"Wow, pictures are tack sharp at all apertures, even wide open in the corners at my 5D, IS gives you brillant pics with 1/15 at 200mm without tripot, so its worth the money".
Only remark: there is a little vignetting on the long end at f4,
but not a serious problem.