about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Grognard  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Grognard to your Buddy List
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR AF-S

70-300vr
Review Date: Dec 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light, fast focusing, sharp
Cons:
Variable aperture

This has become my "Go To" lens for shooting my daughter's soccer games. It has been married to my D700 for the season, and has not disappointed. I have really enjoyed the lens, and am so glad that my wife allowed me to get one, and finally return the SIL's copy of this lens.

 
Nikon 16mm f/2.8D AF Fisheye-Nikkor

1910NAS_180
Review Date: Jul 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP! Very Sharp. An extraordinarly sharp lens.
Cons:
None, really

I do not regret in any way the purchase of this lens. I love my 10.5mm, and this lens is just as good, and just as fun to use on my D700. While I do not use it a great deal, sometimes, it is just THE lens to have with you.

 
Nikon D700

D700
Review Date: Dec 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, light, excellent response time, great viewfinder, stunning High ISO capabilties, Great flash handling
Cons:
Terrible Auto White Balance

This is a great camera, and a worthy offering from Nikon. The High ASA/ISO capabilities are staggeringly great. I cannot but help endorse this camera as among the best of the best. Handles flash better than my D2X.

 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: May 4, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Better balanced than the "Beast", just as sharp, seems to focus slightly faster with less hunting on my D2X.
Cons:
Price

This is a wonderful lens, albeit one that I purchased for the extra 4mm over my 28-70mm. Both, to my poor eyes, seem equally sharp, but the 24-70mm handles flare better, and seems to focus a little better, with less hunting in low light better on my D2X. I just about had second thoughts at the price though. I paid more for this lens than my 70-200mm.

 
Nikon 85mm f/1.8D AF Nikkor

1931NCP_180
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, sharp, and lightweight
Cons:
None so far

So far, I am very pleased with this nice little lens. The metal lens hood was a very nice suprise.

 
Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

1996NAS_180
Review Date: Sep 12, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Good range of zoom
Cons:
Heavy, awkward, not as sharp as the 70-200mm, slow focusing

If I had to do it again, I would NOT have spent the money on this lens. I am exceptionally disappointed in it, both with focus speed, and image quality. Nikon needs to drop this lens, and either come out with an AF-S version, or somehow improve this lens. I would rate it a 5 at best now.

 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 25, 2006 Recommend? | Price paid: $1,450.00

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons:
Heavy

I cannot see my other review. Big, heavy, sharp lens, but I think my 24-120mm is just about as good, with a more usable focal range for me.

 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,450.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast f/2.8
Cons:
Heavy, expensive for what you get

I am disappointed in this lens. I had expected much, much more from it. However, my 24-120mm seems to be just as good, and more commensurate with my meager talents. Cost too much, and returns too little for the price.

 
Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX

2144NAS_180
Review Date: Jun 2, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, fast, quick focusing
Cons:
I would have preferred it be a 12-35 or 12-50mm lens.

A nice lens, definately gives you that "Shock and Awe" wide angle back to digital. I would have liked it to have a better range of zoom, but....

 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: May 19, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Its sharp, and well made.
Cons:
Heavy, expensive

Just got it today, and I took some photographs with it that are nice and sharp. Focus is blazingly fast. Too bloody expensive though!

 
Nikon D2Xs

d2x
Review Date: Apr 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Heavy, well made, and full of features
Cons:
Heavy, steep learning curve

Wow! What a change from my D70 to this beast. Its heavy, and has a steep learning curve, but I am exceptionally satisfied, even though I might end up getting a divorce due to the money I spent on this camera. :D Well worth every penny I spent.

 
Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

1996NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A good zoom range, the VR works, and works well.
Cons:
A little heavy, and the tripod foot stinks- I removed mine.



 
Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR

2145NCP_180
Review Date: Apr 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: A nice light walk about lens.
Cons:
None so far



 
Nikon 18-70 f/3.5-4.5G AFS DX

DX-18-70_L
Review Date: Aug 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, easy to use, reasonably wide
Cons:
Filter size, Nikon needs to standardize their sizes

I have been really pleased with this lens, so much it is my standard "walk-about" lens. I just wish it had a 72mm or 77mm filter size. Focus is very nice, and its reasonably priced, not cheap budget glass.

 
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF

2143NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 16, 2005 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: A nice light walk about lens
Cons:
Filter size, STANDARDIZE PLEASE!

I really like this lens as a complement to my 18-70mm, and it did not break my budget. Reasonablely sharp and contrasty, I have enjoyed it a lot. I just wish Nikon would standardize on a filter size.



 
Nikon 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF

2143NCP_180
Review Date: Aug 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: An excellent starter zoom for my D70. I have been exceptionally well pleased with this lens, and it is nicely sharp for my purposes. I have no regrets at all, and if on a budget (as I am) it gives you a 200mm length lens. Very light, makes a nice "walk about" lens.
Cons:
Filter element, I wish Nikon would standardize its element sizes. A little slow, so dim lighted shots need flash or a higher ISO.