about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: GrizzlyMike  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GrizzlyMike to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 10D

10D
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Auto Focus Much improved over D30/60. Nice color rendition. Better control set.
Cons:

I can't say much here thats not already said by others. I had some trouble with the auto focus at first but Canon service brought it back to factory specs. So far it looks to be a worthwhile upgrade from the D60 and I have nothing really negative to say.

I plan on keeping the D60 as a second body dedicated to landscape/wide angle work and the 10D for telephoto/wildlife. Saves the hassle of having to change lenses in the field.


 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

ef75_300_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Cost
Cons:
Soft

This was my first IS lens way back when IS first came out years ago. It was an interesting lens because of the IS feature but its optical quality is not the best. Very soft images. Compared to some of the IS zooms available today I would rate this lens as 'junk'. I ended up giving it away to my Uncle a few months after purchase. The 28-135 IS would be a much better choice if you need image stablization and dont have the cash for one of the more expensive IS L zooms.

 
Sigma 17-35mm f2.8-4 EX Aspherical

17_35f2_8_4EX_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $725.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Compact and light weight
Cons:
Cheap feel, soft and not the best color rendition

I purchased this lens over a year and a half ago from Adorama. My first sample was very soft and the images murky. I returned the lens and received another copy which was just as bad. I finally went through the hassle of returning the lens and went with the Canon 17-35 instead.

The main problem was with the detail and color this lens produced. The colors were runny and murky and the sharpness was more in line with what one would expect from a cheap $125 consumer zoom. I was very dissapointed. Perhaps I just got 2 bad samples and this is the exception rather than the rule but it left a bad taste in my mouth for Sigma lenses. Never again.


 
Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

ef_28-135_35_1_
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $385.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good general purpose lens
Cons:
Dust gets in lens housing

It is what it is - a great cary around lens for travel and general shooting. With the IS feature this lens is a good deal for the price. It is not the sharpest lens on the market but certainly not the worse either. Great for trips and hikes where space is limited. Fits easily in your coat pocket. Wih the IS this lens can be hand-held in relatvely low light.

 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Higly versatile IS zoom
Cons:
A little slow, has dust issues, push-pull zoom

I have had a lot of mixed feelings about this lens. I originally purchased this lens with the Canon D30 a couple of years ago. It is capable of producing nice looking and detailed images. Very sharp up to roughly 300mm then the quality and detail falls off slightly. It is a great lens to have on a trip when you need telephoto and are limited in space. The results with the Canon 1.4x extender were mostly acceptable but with the 2X extender focusing was difficult manually and the results were quite lacking(perhaps this has more to do with my manual focusing ability.)

That being said it is also a bit too slow for a lot of wildlife work in less than optimal lighting. The push-pull zoom is annoying and allows dust to enter the lens.

I recently have sold this lens and purchased the older 300 F4.0 and then subseuqently the 300 F2.8 IS. The 300 F4 with a 1.4x adapter is significantly sharper than the 100-400 @400mm and has better color and contrast IMO.

It would be nice to see Canon come out with a faster zoom in this range - perhaps a 200-400 F4 IS version of this lens?


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpest zoom to date?
Cons:
None

I recently purchased this lens along with the 70-200 2.8. After reviewing the images produced from this lens and the D60 I had to do a double take-I couldnt believe I was using a zoom. Great sharpness from edge to edge at all apertures. Color and contrast are very natural looking. Very minor barrel distortion @24mm. Compared to the 70-200 2.8 I would give the edge to the 24-70 in the sharpness department.

I was a little concerned at first with putting down $1,400 on another zoom but I am completely satisfied and this lens has exceeded my expectations.

On a scale of 1 to 5 I would give this lens a 6/5 !


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $785.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp. Great value.
Cons:
None

Extremely sharp, even wide open. Very good value for the price. To my eyes this lens is as sharp as(if not sharper)than my recently purchased 70-200 2.8 @200mm. Very minor image quality dropoff with the use of the 1.4x extender.

The only disadvantage for me personally was the fact that this lens was not used much due to the fact that I found I rarely needed this focal length for the shooting I do. Having the utility of the 70-200 zoom is much more of an advantage in the field and there is no sacrifice in quality. Potential buyers might want to consider this if they are looking for a prime at this focal length.


 
Canon EF 24mm f/2.8

ef24mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sharp and detailed images. Nice contrast
Cons:
Inconsistant exposure?

Quite sharp and good value for your money. Sharper than the Canon 17-35 at this focal length. Nice contrast.

A few problems with overexpsure when this lens was used with the Canon D60. Metering was inconsistant and often produced overexposed images. Best shot on manual.


 
Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef300mmf_28_1_
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpnesss, Beautiful color rendition and contrast
Cons:
None

The sharpest lens in Canons lineup?(or the 200 1.8 perhaps?). Very very sharp. With a digital camera that has a 1.4x FOV and combined with the use of the 1.4x and 2x extenders this lens is all you will really need for wildlife work(accept for birders perhaps).

The contrast and color rendition is superb and wide open this lens produces very smooth and finely textured backrgound blur(bokeh I guess its called).It is expensive but worth every penny.