about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Gorham  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gorham to your Buddy List
Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

50_500EX_mdl_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $939.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent range; good imaging. Versatile.
Cons:
Heavy. "Backward" zoom ring; also zoom ring and focusing ring are placed opposite of what I've gotten used to.

This is my outdoor workhorse lens for sports. I use it virtually all the time in good weather. Because I'm disabled, I use a monopod with just about everything and this is no exception.

I have several Manfroto mounts and keep on attached to every pod mount I have. Works well and it's much easier to just thread the whole assembly onto the monopod than do it in pieces.

It takes getting used to the backwards zoom and placement of the zoom ring. But once I *am* used to is, the lens works well. Construction is good and the images produced are quite good. I was pleasantly surprised. In good weather, the output rivals that of my EOS 70-200/2.8L ISM with a 1.4x TC II.

I'm going to expand my photography universe and hope to so some nature and wildlife stuff. I expect this lens to be right there with me. Smile

Yup. I recommend this one.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

3029ef_50_18_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Metal mount; good construction; fast focus; clear, neutral images.
Cons:
Small filter size.

I bought this used having stupidly sold my original one. Very dumb move. But I sought and was lucky enough (two years ago now) to find a Mark I and won't part with it again.

I like this lens for its speed and excellent focusing. The results are good, especially in low light situations wide open.

This is one of those lenses (along with the 85/1.8) that would send Canon to the lens hall of fame for quality vs. price.


Really a great little lens which I'd heartily recommend in the Mark I version. I've seen the Mark II and have read that they're optically the same. Maybe but it didn't feel right and I felt like I was using a toy lens. I would strongly recommend holding out for a used Mark I but they're getting harder and harder to come by.


 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp images, neutral color, fast focusing, quiet USM motor, good weight balance.
Cons:
None

This is one of the most wonderful lenses I've ever seen! Sorry to wax poetic but when I first got it (and ever since), when I look into the lens from the "business" end, I am awed by the clear, deep stillness of the elements. This is a beautifully crafted imaging instrument and one of only two I can say that about in all my stable of glass.

With each DSLR multiplier, this lens has what seems to be a slightly different use. I like it for sports from above - balcony or catwalk if it's not too high (in which case you'll not find me there anyway!).

I'm not sure I could justify it based on use but I do like owing it and when the setting is right, it produces truly excellent results.

I think I'm glad Canon hasn't made all their primes like this one. I'd be bankrupt!


 
Canon EF 100mm f/2 USM

ef100mmf_2usm_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fast, produces good images. Focuses well with quiet USM motor.
Cons:
Wish it were f/1.8!

This lens rather replaced my beloved 85/1.8 when I went to 1.3x multiplier cameras. This was a specific shooting distance and I needed to keep that.

I don't like this lens as well and in fact will probably not be keeping it. Not by choice. I like it pretty well but it was part of a grant project I was involved in and the grant PTB are likely to take it back.

I'd recommend the lens for medium tele work, especially with 1.3x (and similar) DSLRs.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best images of any lens I have. Clear, sharp, neutral color. Good mount. Nice weight. Good, solid workhorse. USM is quiet and fast.
Cons:
None. I tried, really but couldn't come up with any cons.

I wish every lens I have were this pleasing. I consider it one of my pro lenses and thank Canon oh so much for not pricing it that way. This one along with the 50/1.8 (I) are my main primes with any camera and I try to fit them in my kit whenever I'm not sure what circumstances will befall me on a shoot.

Guess you might say this is one of the lenses I'd choose if I were stranded on an island with my camera and only one or two lenses. Smile


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great construction, smooth USM motor, excellent metal mount.
Cons:
Image color is trifle 'warm'. Slow AF in low light. Small filter size.

I've seen user reviews across the board in this lens and think it may be on the the infamous Canon variables where you either have a honey of a lens or a bit of a dud.

For indoors with no flash, I'm just not wild about it. But I do like the 'feel' of the lens and have no problem with it with flash or outdoors.

But, I'm actually happier with my 50/1.8 in the kit, truth to tell.


 
Canon EF 35mm f/2

ef35mmf2_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Fast, lightweight; metal mount. Has become my 'normal' lens with my 1D and its 1.3x multiplier. Images are good.
Cons:
AF is a tad slow but one gets used to it. Small filter size. Wish it were USM and 1.8. :)

This lens has become my 'normal' lens with 1.3x multiplier DSLRs. I like what it does and it's plenty light weight. Good in low light situations but I'd rather it were f/1.8 and had USM. At the same pricepoint of course! :>

 
Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM

ef28mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $380.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I used this lens as my 'normal' lens with my 10D and was pleased with it in that role. USM focus was fast; quality and color were good. Decent construction; good metal mount.
Cons:
Manual focus is a tad noisy. Small filter size.

This lens is small and fairly light weight; a good addition to the bag when longer and/or slower zooms constitute the rest of the kit. I used it as my 'normal' lens with my 10D and it worked well in that capacity. Worked well for group shots and low light situations.

I bought mine new and have been pleased with this particular lens.

I'm hoping to work with it in different ways with my 1D as my scope of photography changes this spring.