about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: GOVA  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GOVA to your Buddy List
Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD SP AF

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_35_11_AM
Review Date: Dec 14, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Incredible VC especially at 300mm. Sharp, light, great price
Cons:
Meh for the price NONE

I did use this lens with my D7000.

I was able to get great results on that body. I even tried 1.4x TC and it provided very fine results but the focus did not always work properly.

For the price, this is an extraordinary lens and its VC works miracles. The picture just freezes which is very well appreciated at 300 (450) mm.

I am thinking of purchasing it again...



 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Dec 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, subject isolation, color reproduction.
Cons:
None.

Superb built quality, great focus ring and its action. Excellent bokeh.

Sharpens and subject isolation at F/2.0 are excellent. Replaced Sigma 30mm f/1.4 with this. No comparison, those are different animals.

It actually feels great going back to MF. It reminds me of built quality of older lenses such as Pentacon 135mm. Solid metal feel, great focus ring and action.



 
Tamron 28-75MM F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF)

2875mm
Review Date: Nov 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, light and super sharp.
Cons:
None.

I sold my Canon 24-70L and kept the Tamron which I got used here.

It was very sharp at f/2.8 - super light and tiny compared to L Canon.

My copy was just extraordinary. Many complain about the build quality, but my lens went through a lot and always performed well.

Since then, I switched to a cropped body and tried Tamron 17-50VC. I was hoping to cover same range. Well, the 17-50VC was not usable at f/2.8 - it was just terrible. Besides, it was much heavier and larger.

The Tamron 28-75 is just that good.


 
Canon EOS 1D

1D
Review Date: Jul 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb image quality Build quality Very good autofocus system. 8fps. 4MP 1.3 FOV. Good focusing screens for manual.
Cons:
Short battery life in comparison to modern DSLRs.

I actually re-purchased the 1D after selling the first one. When I did realize that it was not possible to match 1D's image quality with any other camera, I had to buy it back.

There is something extraordinary about the sensor of 1D. When properly exposed the image looks just fantastic. Its high ISO performance isn't that bad either given its age.

I do have several 20"x30" prints from good shots. When I tell people that those are from 4MP sensor, they think I am nuts.

In any case, current used prices make this body one of the best deals around.

1.3 fov sensor is kind of a sweet spot for me. It helps with telephotos, and does not kill wide angle very much (unlike 1.6x)

And yes, it does expose the photographer's technical skills.


 
Sigma 150mm f2.8 APO Macro DG EX HSM

Sigma_150_macro
Review Date: Jun 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, built quality, focus ring, hood, size and weight, max f, and range.
Cons:
none

This is the first lens (I've tried many) on my 5D that makes pictures look similar to those from 1D. 1D (CCD low AA) had so wonderful look to its pictures that isn't really possible to reproduce with 5D (CMOS)

Sigma is so sharp that pictures look simply amazing. It is very well built and light. For a true macro lens, its focusing speed is very good. I sold 70-200 f/2.8 IS for this and have never looked back. I used to have two copies of 70-200 f/2.8 IS. Even though it is an very sharp lens, Sigma 150 macro beats its easily.


 
Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

l3a_copy
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Built quality/materials used - exceptional 12mm wide is well corrected and very usable
Cons:
None for what it is.

I use this lens with 5D. I use it @ 12mm most of the time, that is why I'd purchased it in the first place.

This lens is something else... Images at 12mm are very good.
Do not expect its corner performance to be similar with 24-70L or something alike. This is a super ultra wide zoom, and for its purpose it performs very good.

I like its built quality and materials used very much. It feels very solid in all respects. F/4.5-5.6 might be a limiting factor for some, especially for indoor shooting. I just shoot at ISO 1600-3200.

I love using it outdoors since usually I can stop it down a little and not worry about available light.




 
Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 XR Di Zoom AF

28-75mm
Review Date: Apr 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Size and weight. It is sharp and works well for its great size.
Cons:
None

I use this on 5D. I did sell 24-70L that I had used for 1.5 years. The Tamron is very small and light compared to L.
It performs superbly on 5D in terms of its sharpness, color reproduction and focus accuracy.
For the price, it is a gem. Period.


 
Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 193

af193
Review Date: Mar 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $129.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent Built. Compact size. Very light.
Cons:
None (for its price)

After using all L class glass I wanted, I decided to pick Tokina 19-35 up and give it a try. Well, for the price that it is available new it is just a gem. It performs well on FF body! It'll be even better with cropped sensors. Overall, for the price, it is an excellent buy.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Nov 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Excellent built quality.
Cons:
Heavy for a prime.

I really wanted to like this lens, but finally sold it for 50 1.4.
It is heavy for a wide prime. Most importantly, its performance at 1.4 was just okay. Its bokeh-wow factor is also much lower than 85L and 200 1.8
For over 1K, I think, there are other options.


 
Metz mecablitz 70 MZ-5

70-MZ-5
Review Date: Aug 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very powerful and well built. Works wery well in auto mode.
Cons:
Its rechargeable battery last only 40-60 shoots. For better performance P50 pack has to be used.

I cannot imagine shooting a wedding with different flash.
It is very well built and powerful. Auto mode works perfectly well, as it has been for 20 years.

P50 power pack is a must. The supplied rechargeable battery lasts for around 40-60 shoots.
It tilts and swivels, also it has a secondary flash to be used as a fill when main flash is bounced.
As most Metz units it accepts several modules to match almost every camera body on the market.