about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: EOS20  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List
Canon EOS 50D

50D_1_
Review Date: Oct 27, 2008 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good Build quality, Nice viewfinder, Improved and useful new LCD.
Cons:
Error 99 problems, In the end I returned the camera.

I had A 50D for a few days, And had encountered the dreaded Error 99 Syndrome Which has been widely discussed and I decided to return the camera. Totally unexceptionable to be spending this much money on a camera, Only for Canon to use sub standard parts to save some money.

Once Canon does get it's act together and fixes the problem with future production runs, This camera would be great, But I can't recommend anyone buy one at the moment. I say wait a few months for Canon to get their act together before parting with your hard earned.





 
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM

24-105lisusm
Review Date: Aug 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build quality, Good Image quality, And IS.
Cons:
None really, Other then some barrel distortion at the wide end.

I bought this lens to replace my old 28-105 f/3.5-5.6 USM which I have been using for a few years on my film cameras and I plan on using this lens when I go fullframe.
I like the build quality of this lens, Very similar to my 17-40. IS is very useful, And the colours and sharpness of this lens is really good too.
I chose this lens over the 24-70 because it's smaller and lighter, And I find IS to be more useful then having f/2.8 for the type of photography that I do.

The lens does have some barrel distortion at 24mm, But that is easily corrected in photoshop.

A good lens, And I can highly recommend it!



 
Fuji FinePix S2 Pro

Fuji_FinePix_S2_Pro
Review Date: Apr 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Velvia like images, Decent build quality, Nikon mount.
Cons:
Dual battery system (I just use AA's), A little slow.

I got my S2 as a free give away and I thought I would use it to give me the opportunity to try out the Nikon system, And a few lenses before investing into a more expensive body.

Sure this camera is old now, But I like the images it puts out, With the famous Fuji Super CCD sensor, And it does resemble the classic Velvia look so many people have commented on over the years.

It is a little slow, But then again we are talking about a camera that was first released back in 2002. The dual battery system is a pain, But it seems to work without the use of the expensive CR123A batteries, And functions well with just the AA's (But you can't use the built in flash, But who really uses that anyway?).

Overall its a good camera, And I am sure I will put it to good use and make time to shoot with this classic.



 
Canon EOS 40D

40d
Review Date: Sep 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Improved viewfinder, Fast and accurate Autofocus, Live view and large LCD.
Cons:
Screen still hard to read in bright light.

I bought the 40D to replace my 20D and so far its been a worthwhile upgrade. The new viewfinder is a nice improvement, the AF is faster and more accurate and the new mirror is allot quieter then the 20D's.

I have a written a mini review here:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/eos20/journal/178794-my-40d-mini-review

Overall a nice upgrade from anything bellow the 30D.



 
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM

ef100_400l_1_
Review Date: Aug 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build quality, IS, Great zoom range
Cons:
Only 2 stop IS, Push/pull (But getting use to it), It is a bit of a dust pump

After thinking long and hard between getting this lens and the 400 f/5.6 prime I finally decided to get the zoom for its versatility.
After hearing stories of soft and bad copies I was a little reluctant to get the zoom, But I find my copy to be nice and sharp even wide open at 400mm I still get great results! Maybe not prime quality, but near enough.

Glad I bought this lens over the prime in the end. Highly recommended!





 
Canon EOS Rebel (300D)

300D-2
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap.
Cons:
Plastic body, lack of features, no Sync socket.

I got this camera about 8 months after it was released and It was a awsome camera!

It started the revolution of affordable d/slr's and is still a good value camera.

The lack of some custom features can be overcome by the firmware hack available for download.

The picture quality is also quite good.
This camera is a good step into serious digital photography and makes a good buy now it has been replaced by the 350D.

If your on a budget this makes a good value step into the world of digital SLR photography!


 
Canon EOS 20D

20d
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built tough!, Light weight, Good high ISO picture quality.
Cons:
Small viewfinder.

I have had this camera since it was released and have been very impressed with it!

It is well built, has a quick autofocus and the picture quality is excelent, expecally when using higher ISO's!

I find it to be a bit small without the optional battery grip expecally when using longer lenses but some ppl prefer the smaller size of the camera so either way it can suit everyones tastes.

The alloy body can take some real punishment compared to the plastic 300/350D models.

Overall this is a excellent camera to own! If you are thinking of getting one then Yes definitly! much better than the current 350D model!


 
Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

ef_50_25c_1_
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, Sharp, Small.
Cons:
Lack of USM, Only 1:2x Life without convertor.

A good compact general purpous lens.

Very sharp and contrasty, Works well for both macro and as a general purpous normal lens.

Canon should re-release it with a USM insted of the current DC motor which can be a bit slow.

Still it is highly recomended!


 
Canon EF 28-105 F/3.5-4.5 II USM

ef_28-105_35
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, Good focal range for walkabout
Cons:
No lens hood, Front extends when zooming, Not a fixed aperture.

A good lens to use for general walk about on a film camera,

On digital the wide end just isen't wide enough.

It is built well for a consumer lens but not up to the quality of the "L" series.

A constent aperture would be great too.

Overall a nice general purpous lens to own at a decent price.


 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

ef70_200_4_1_
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smaller than F2.8 Versions, Sharp, Built to last.
Cons:
No Tripod collar.

What can I say, This has to be the best value Canon L Zoom!

Its nice and sharp, and contrasty, Built to take a beating, and is alot cheaper and smaller than the F2.8 Versions.

A excelent lens to own!


 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Mar 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good Price, Sharp
Cons:
Lens hood

I have been using this lens since I got my 20D and Have found it to be excellent!

Nice and sharp, Contrasty, and built to last.

Works well as a standard lens on my 20D but put onto my Elan 7e
opens up so many new shooting oppotunities!

If you don't need the extra stop of the 16-35mm then this is the lens for you, Highly recomended!!


 

Page:  1 · 2