about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Dpedraza  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dpedraza to your Buddy List
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Aug 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARP!, Color rendition, contrast, AF, BOKEH
Cons:

I bought this lens because of all the hype I've heard about it. I must say that this lens is ridiculous. Very sharp wide open the results sooc are great. The bokeh is very nice. This lens does live up to the hype that surrounds it.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Jul 31, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, bokeh, color rendition, contrasty,
Cons:
hood

I bought this lens for a lot less than other used versions because of a small scrape on the bottom of the filter ring. The lens is very nice the size balances well on the camera. It's sharp and resolves well on the full frame sensor. My only real complaint is the hood.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

85II
Review Date: Jul 31, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: aperture, Bokeh, Contrast, color rendition,
Cons:
Af speed thats about it, Rear element can easily be scratched.

The lens is a MONSTER. It's short fat and heavy. The AF speed and the rear element are really the only downfalls I see about the lens. If you have static subjects you'll love this lens. The lens can make any background vanish.

 
Zeiss 35mm f/2 Distagon T*

35mm
Review Date: Dec 11, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, well built,
Cons:

I bought it used from an FM user. It is a great lens my copy was super sharp. I love the build quality of Zeiss. This lens isn't overl big or heavy either. It works great on the D800/D600

 
Nikon D600

Screen_Shot_2013-11-27_at_1_09_40_PM_copy
Review Date: Nov 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Dynamic range, resolution,
Cons:
QC issues for some

As an entry level full frame camera you get a lot of your money. The IQ of this camera is just insane. It doesn't have all the detail of the D800 but it's damn close. The dynamic range of this camera is incredible and would be a great camera for any landscape shooter. I don't shoot moving subjects too much so I can't really comment on the AF too much also I use mf lenses alot.

This is the best deal on full frame cameras out there considering what you get for the money.

** some people had oil/dust issues mine had no such issues.


 
Canon EOS 6D

canon6D
Review Date: Nov 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High ISO performance
Cons:
Dynamic range

I bought the 6d just for fun basically. I have a D600 and D800 and I just wanted to play around with Canon's offerings. The camera has excellent high iso noise performance and I would be comfortable using it even above 12800.. but the camera lacks(actually all Canon's suck in this field) dynamic range. My nikons blow the this camera out of the water in this aspect. I shoot a lot of landscapes and I don't like to bracket if I don't have to. Other than dynamic range this is one of the better Canon's I've used.

 
Nikon D200

NikonD200
Review Date: Nov 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

This was my first semi pro DSLR after I outgrew my D60. I loved this camera a lot. The camera was very easy to use and navigate through the menus. the Build quality was a big step up from my d60. With good glass this camera is still a valid option even today with all the different options out there

 
Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_33_56_PM
Review Date: Nov 25, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $280.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, price, MF, light weight
Cons:
distortion

I had my Samyang 14mm for a short while couple months at best. I used it the canon 6d I had. I must say the lens def shocked me. for the price point there isn't an ultrawide that can touch this lens. It's very sharp and light weight. I bought into this following the hype over here on the forums about how well it performs. I must say I was shocked at how well the lens did for how cheap it is. The only real downside is the distortion.

 
Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II

1dsmarkii
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, dual cards, large size, great af, full frame, build
Cons:
LCD

IQ, build quality, and af are all excellent on this camera. it was once the workhorse of the pros. For the time I had mine the images that came out of the camera were excellent full of detail and pretty decent dynamic range.

 
Canon EOS 5D

5d_586x225_2_
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, build, ergonomics, full frame,
Cons:

This was my first Full frame camera that I bought. It took some adjusting to my wide angles, but it was def one of my top favorite cameras. Even at max Iso 3200 the iq isn't terrible at all. I loved this camera and for the price it's definitely still a good way into full frame and I would HIGHLY recommend the 5d

 
Nikon D800

d800s
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 36mp, excellent detail, nice af, great ergonomics, the best dynamic range,
Cons:

An excellent camera. I've owned both nikon and canon both are excellent. the IQ from this camera is superb. the dynamic range of this camera is just ridiculous. the detail you get from these files rivals some medium format.

 
Nikon 16-35mm f/4G ED VR AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_20_10_PM
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, size, VR, constant f4, filters, fast af
Cons:
kinda wish is was 2.8

the lens is an excellent lens on my D800. the fast quiet AF is excellent and spot on. the lens is very sharp and the VR is an excellent feature on a wide angle zoom.

 
Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

1961NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, great color and contrast, build quality, bokeh
Cons:

excellent lens on my D800. It looked great on my D600 as well. It's excellent wide open and has a great focal range. People complain about the size of the lens but I personally like the size of the lens. The lens feels great in hand and the build quality is top notch.

 
Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

50mm
Review Date: Feb 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bokeh price build quality optics
Cons:
like all zeiss lenses the cap

I bought this as my second Zeiss lens even though it didn't get the best ratings. The bokeh is pretty decent but I usually use this lens stopped down. Stopped down it's insanely nice. This lens was actually on my camera 97% of the time the other 3% of the time it was my Zeiss 21mm.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Feb 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality optics very sharp
Cons:

This was my first zeiss lens I bought and what a lens to buy. I bought it because I like to shoot landscapes and architecture a lot so I needed something fairly wide. this lens is insanely sharp and works exceptionally well on the Nikon D800. I bought it because of all the "hype" that surrounded it. I must say that it's an excellent performer. I know there are two things that put people off of this lens. 1. Price point and 2. Manual focus neither of which had a negative effect of my decision