about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: Digital Gold  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Digital Gold to your Buddy List
Nikon 85mm f/1.4D IF AF Nikkor

1933NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: mega sharpness, great contrast, build quality, amazing bokeh.
Cons:
a bit soft wide open, expensive for an 85mm prime lens.

For weddings and portraits one of our photographers ALWAYS equipped with this bad boy. It's one of the sharpest lenses I own and it never disappoints. I've also used this lens for low light conditions like night time concert photography. It's our go to lens for shooting people.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharpness, build quality, Nikon Prime Image Quality
Cons:
a bit slower than I expected

It's been said a million times but I'll say it again, The Nikon prime collection is some of the sharpest lenses out for Nikon cameras. The build quality is real nice as compared to the older 1.4 option and the cheaper 1.8 counterpart. The lens is a bit soft wide open but at f2.0 to f/3.5 it's MEGA sharp. I prefer my 85mm 1.4 to the 50mm 1.4 for some reason but that's just my personal preference. Great portrait lens for the money.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 14mm f/2.8D ED AF Nikkor

1925NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, Ultra Wide (on FF), Fast Motor, Drop in rear filters.
Cons:
a bit soft at wide open.

So I purchased this lens for a lot of my hotel photography shot before I bought the 14-24mm zoom version of this lens. To be perfectly honest, I dont notice much of a difference in sharpness and image quality between the 14-24mm and this 14mm prime. For that reason I would recommend spending the money on the zoom version of this lens. Also, 14mm on a full frame sensor is mega wide and may be too wide for most.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

2139NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, sharpness, focus speed.
Cons:
Weight, price, minimum focus distance.

This is one of my most commonly used lenses for photography portraits (when I'm not using the prime lenses). I also use this lens for automotive photography when I'm shooting on location and have lots of room to photograph the car. My only complaint is that the minimum focus distance. Sometimes I wish I could get in closer with this lens.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

224-70
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, build quality, fast focus, amazing contrast, consistent.
Cons:
Price and weight (but you get what you pay for)

This is my go to lens for the Nikon D3. I use this lens around 35-40% of the time. It's so sharp and it never dissapoints. Focus is always fast and always on point. I did use the AF fine tuning function with my D3 at -4 and that seems to work best with the combination of this lens and my camera. I highly recommend this lens over any other for any full frame Nikon camera.

To see some examples of photos taken with this lens please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8G AF-S DX

DX-17-55_L
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp EVERY time, nice build quality, fast motor, pro line image quality.
Cons:
Price, a little bit of distortion at 17-20mm

So to sum up this review I should start by saying all of our photographers refer to this lens as the "gem piece" because of it's reliability in the field. The lens produces mega sharp images every time and is one of the best DX all around lenses. If you've got a DX sensor and you're looking to buy 1 nice lens, this is definitely it!

To see some examples please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 12-24mm f/4G ED-IF AF-S DX

2144NAS_180
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Size, Build Quality, ultra wide, mega sharpness.
Cons:
a bit of distorting at 12-14mm.

When using my D2X or other DX sensor cameras my favorite ultra wide lens is always the 12-24mm. I love the sharpness and overall image quality. I usually use this lens when I'm doing rolling shots for automotive shoots. It lets me get super close to the cars for maximum details.

To see some examples please visit my website and photography blog: http://digitalgoldphotography.com

Feel free to reach out to me with any specific questions.


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Apr 17, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,989.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ultra wide angle, full frame, sharpness, limited distortion.
Cons:
Price, expensive filter holder adapters, built in lens hood

I do a lot of portrait shooting and wedding photography here in the Miami Florida area. This is one of my favorite lenses to use period. If you like shooting wide and are looking for a mega sharp lens with limited distortion this is the one for you.

Here are some examples of 14-24mm lens photos taken with my D3:

<a href="http://digitalgoldphotography.com">14-24mm Portrait Photo examples</a>