about | support
home
 


  Reviews by: DEvianT  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add DEvianT to your Buddy List
Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

exef14_1_
Review Date: Jul 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality, Build Quality, Weather proofing
Cons:
None

Has a superb build quality with weather proof gaskets when used with L lenses. Comes in soft pouch with front and rear caps to seal it. I have been using mine with the 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS with great results doesn't seem to show any of the softness i've found with some cheaper teleconvertors and IS, exposure and autofocus work with no issues. Recommend without reservation.

 
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

ef70-200_28lisu_1_
Review Date: Jul 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extreme Sharpness, Great Colour, Fast Focus, Image Stabalization, Silent, Great Handling.
Cons:
Weight, Price (Just for something to put...)

A superb lens. As sharp as my 50mm f/1.4 prime. Fast, quiet great handling (which compensates for the weight) and superlative results. Am using with a x1.4 Tele II convertor also. Gives great images with this also.

Have also managed to shoot sharp images handheld at 1/30th of a second with IS engaged. A ludicrously slow speed for a 200mm lens.

I'd recomend this wihout hesitation.


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM

ef_24-70_28u_1_
Review Date: Mar 7, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Built like a tank. Beautiful sharp images. Fast silent focus. Sealed against the British weather.
Cons:
Price. Weight maybe...

This lens is fast silent and lightning quick to focus and does not hunt when doing so. The images are sharp with excellent contrast that really pops of the page.

Weight is very heavy but not badly so. On a heavy body such as 1Dmk2 it actually helps it balance resulting in steady shots. Also the 1.3 crop seems to really hit the sweet spot. The focal length is just wide enough at 24mm and has enough reach at 70mm.

Now my main lens on the 1Dmk2.


 
Canon EOS 1D Mark II

1D2
Review Date: Feb 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth noise free images, Speed, solid build, weather proofing, handling and balance, total control over camera function, every function you could ever want.
Cons:
Errrm heavy and I am only saying that for something to write in this box

The first DSLR I have used that does it all. It matches any film camera and then gives you all the benefits of film in addition.
The images are of a smooth noise free quality as good as any slide film. The handling is the best of any SLR camera I have used it feels like an old friend already.
The build is solid and robust with every feature you could ever need.

I can totaly recommend this camera. I traded up from a 10D which is a great piece of kit but sometimes lets you down with things like poor low light focus or lockout when buffer fills just at the wrong moment. The 1Dmk2 simply does not do any of this.

Focus is fast and almost fool proof. The 1.3x crop seems to hit the sweet spot on all my lenses especially the 17-40mm L and 24-70mm f/2.8. The buffer is huge and clears quickly (Am using Sandisk Extreme III CF and SD cards). Images need almost no post process. I will keep this camera for a long time. It is in my opinion a classic and does all I want and much more besides.


 
Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

05_03_1_
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tank like build. Price!!! F/2.8 aperture thoughout. 77mm filter size like L lens. Full time manual focus.
Cons:
In low light it can hunt with AF sometimes

Really is a superb lens. For the price you just cannot fault it. If it had IS it would be perfect for the job.

 
Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 EX Aspherical DG DF

24_70EX_med_1_
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Solid build Constant f/2.8 throughout Nice sharp image
Cons:
Huge filter size Slow hunting AF Noisy AF

I really do like this lens however the one big let down for me is the hunting on the quite slow AF.

The build is excellent. It's like a tank. The images from the lens are very sharp with only minor distortion at the wide end. Much like the 24-70 Canon suffers. It's excellent value for money and certainly one of the better lenses Sigma have made.


 
Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

CA550EXU_1_
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice powerful flash Easy to use Usually accurate in it's exposure Good build quality
Cons:
Sometimes overexposes with digital Battery cover not the greatest Very big Recycle time could be better

Wouldn't really fault this flash it does exactly what is says on the box. Just wish it was slightly faster on the recycle times. (580EX is...)

 
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Beautiful colour and contrast Build Quality Fast focus
Cons:
Hood is ludicrous size

Can't fault this lens. The image quality is superb. The field of view is ideal on a cropped DSLR like a 20D and it's fast quiet and built to last. Has weather seal and full time manual focus. Cannot recommend this lens enough.

 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Feb 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp and great contrast Fast focus Compact Fast wide open
Cons:
No lens hood included Not weather sealed Not designed for digital so can give chromatic aberration sometimes

This lens is superb for reportage and portraits on a crop DSLR like a 10D. It's fast and silent. Small enough to be descrete. The image quality is superb, sharp with good colour and contrast.

I think this lens is one of Canon's little gems. Could well be an L lens but the price is very good. I think it's a must have in your camera bag.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Jan 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, silent, fast f/1.4 lens, very sharp. USM and full time manual focus, contrast nice. colour good, takes 58mm filters
Cons:
Not weather proofed like and L series lens other than that nothing!

This lens is fantastic. It's focus is fast and silent. It's able to take pictures in near darkness when handheld. The resulting images are comparable to those taken with an L series prime and it's a fraction of the price. The colour contrast and bokeh of the images from this lens are also fantastic. Possibly my favourite lens for street photography.

The only slight gripe is the lack of weather proofing which would have been nice to have...

My advice is go buy one now. You will not regret buting this lens!